We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money and stay at the Holiday Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Milwaukee West

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Milwaukee West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Milwaukee West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11777 W Silver Spring Dr, Milwaukee, WI 53225 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 15% off
Ranked #33 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
New York City
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Save your money and stay at the Holiday Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We checked in on a Thursday for three nights. We were in from New York to see our Mets at Miller Park. On Friday we went out for the day, returned to our room to find that our keys did not work. Front desk stated that they were de-activated - just what we needed when we were rushing to get to the game, Saturday evening before we left for dinner, we took a dip in the pool. A woman came in and left five children, approximate ages six to ten, in the pool. They became roudy, rough, diving, etc. to the point that we had to leave the pool. I felt like I was at the Holiday Inn, not a four star hote chain. When went to the front desk to find that there was no manager in the hotel. The front desk person called the manager and then told us that the children were going to be thrown out of the pool. House keeping staff was surprised that we were leaving on Sunday stating they were told we check out on Monday. We were quoted a higher nightly rate at discharge than we had reserved, so be sure you get a written confirmation of your rate quote. Then we were handed a bill for the two nights that we had stayed on Hyatt points. Again we were delayed while trying to catch a flight. I guess breakfast is only hot if you are there at 6 AM because each day at 8:30 it was cold. The bathroom is right across from the bed and if the light is on so is the noise of the fan. Coffee was not replaced in our room either. Room service that is 24 hours is a nice touch, but does not out weigh the scariness that there is no manager on premises at times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    13
    14
    6
See reviews for
28
23
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Last time we stayed here, we didn't feel safe. This time was so much better. It appears that they've worked out some of their staff issues. We've always enjoyed this place for the most part other than the safety problem last time. The rooms are clean, well-furnished and modern. The breakfast is pretty good....about what you would expect from the typical chain hotel that offers complimentary breakfasts, but it might be a step above that. I like that you can order some light food items and that there is a place where you can enjoy a cocktail/coffee.
Staff is good. Seemed eager to please and I feel that is an improvement. The area around here isn't that great but there are several restaurants/shopping within just a mile or so. Hotel is located right off major freeway but the noise really isn't an issue. We stayed on the 3rd floor this time and I slept very well. I don't always sleep great in hotels but the cleaniness and the improvement overall this time aided in my sleeping sound this time.
Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Higher floor seems quieter. We had the king suite that had a nice long sofa sleeper. Our friends had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

For a chain hotel, this was the best. The usual rectangular room had a most interesting layout. It made the most of the space with a desk area, a walk-in closet area and a huge sitting area with a "separate" feel to the bed area. The breakfast was very extensive. I would definitely seek out this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed a few nights to coincide with the Milwaukee Rally. Always impressed with the friendly and courteous staff and the selection for the morning breakfast. Also is great to have a small bar with sandwiches available pretty much anytime you wish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I didn't expect much from this property, but, boy, did it ever impress me! Exceptional service, friendly, helpful and gracious staff. Spacious, well-appointed room. Nicely designed lobby. Excellent breakfast buffet. Amazing value for the dollar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This our 3rd stay and would definately come back again. Nice spacious rooms. I love the sitting area which was great for our family of 3. After a long day of "togetherness" it was nice to be able to spread out a little bit. Clean, comfortable -- very nice. The breakfast is a notch above most "includes breakfast" hotel experiences with a very nice selection of both hot and cold items. It's nice to get something a little more substantial then just cereal and danish. I also think serving breakfast on real dishes is a nice touch as opposed to styrofoam plates. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

What can I say...got to love these renovated Hyatt Places. I stayed at this location for 6 weeks in July and August of 2011 and am currently working on my 4th week in August of this year. The staff are exceptionally friendly, the rooms are clean and fresh every day and the daily free breakfast is always a treat. Plus, there is a bar. The free high-speed internet connection (wireless or hard-wired) has been sufficient to work on as I have been out-of-town for work and occasionally need to work from the room. The televisions are great quality (50" LGs). As far as the channel line-up...not sure cause I only watch ESPN but I know HBO is included. My only complaint (I guess you can call it that) is the fitness area...just a couple of treadmills and an elliptical. But, there is an affordable gym about two miles away. As far as the area, there is a decent selection of (fast) food and a handful of resteraunts. Plus there is a Target nearby if you need to shop for something you forgot. My only recommendation on the area is don't venture too far west...North Milwaukee is rough to say the least. But, there is nothing to be concerned about in the surrounding area. That said, I love this hotel and value and look forward to
staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Milwaukee West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Milwaukee West

Address: 11777 W Silver Spring Dr, Milwaukee, WI 53225 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Milwaukee West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Milwaukee West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Milwaukee West Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Milwaukee West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.