We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for just one night and there were good things and not so good things.
The staff: Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and all seemed as if they enjoyed what they did.
The room: Overall the room was good. I went for the larger room with the king, but the top of the desk looked like it had seen better days as the veneer was all scratched up.
Noise: I can't fault the hotel for this but I knew at 6PM that I was going to have issues with my neighbors and needless at 3AM I was awoken by loud voices in the hall, especially one woman's who had that kind of voice that could peel paint. I called down to the front desk and someone did come up but needless to say I was up and it took awhile for me to go back to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    198
    96
    29
    22
See reviews for
95
255
36
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary with an overnight stay and breakfast the next day. From the moment we arrived, the staff went out of their way to make our special occasion memorable. The hotel is very clean and beautifully decorated. The lobby bar and restaurant were very inviting and fun. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the heart of Milwaukee's theater district. I would highly recommend the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I checked in and we were upgraded straight away! Our parking ticket was also changed to allow us to come and go as we pleased and only having to pay at the end.

We were then told about the attractions and restaurants that we should go to during our stay. We were recommended a gastropub that was walking distance from the hotel. The restaurant was very good!

The next day we went to Kil@wat, the hotel's restaurant. We had food that was very affordable and of a high standard.

On our last night we were also offered a complimentary
breakfast and more information about local attractions.

All of this was made possible by the front office supervisor, Paul. He organized the upgrade, the parking ticket and the complimentary breakfast. He made us feel more than welcome and is an asset to the hotel. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First impressions are critical and our first impression was wonderful. The setting for the hotel is perfect. It is central to everything in central Milwaukee and its location is in a clean, safe part of town. Those are important considerations for most people and my wife most especially. The staff are what really makes the hotel worth the 5 stars. We stayed for two nights and everyone we met was kind, solicitous and exceedingly helpful. None of the staff appeared to be hungry for tips. If anything they appeared surprised and grateful when tips were tendered. We ate breakfast and one dinner in the hotel and the meals were excellent...and the prices were less than we expected to have to pay. The room was spacious, clean, well maintained and quiet. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel has it all. Great location, in the center of down Town, walking distance to Restaurant and River. The hotel is very clean and has very comfortable beds. The only thing I did not like is: everything is a extra charge like WI FI $19.80,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked a large number of rooms for a family wedding. At home printed out confirmations, everything was correct. At arrival, not correct. King rooms and doubles assigned to wrong night. Adjoining rooms not adjoining. But worked things out satisfactorily. Hotel is beautiful, pricey, but good overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Each time I visit the city of Milwaukee, I look forward to my stay at the Intercontinental because I know there will be no surprises. Sometimes surprises are good, but not when you are weary from travel and just want a good night's sleep. The Intercontinental always delivers on this and is never anything less than efficient. This is no small thing and I appreciate it. Just wanted to take note.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: Lower floor, close to elevator is my personal favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.