We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations a problem, but everything else nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Reservations a problem, but everything else nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked a large number of rooms for a family wedding. At home printed out confirmations, everything was correct. At arrival, not correct. King rooms and doubles assigned to wrong night. Adjoining rooms not adjoining. But worked things out satisfactorily. Hotel is beautiful, pricey, but good overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    160
    77
    23
    14
See reviews for
81
225
32
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Each time I visit the city of Milwaukee, I look forward to my stay at the Intercontinental because I know there will be no surprises. Sometimes surprises are good, but not when you are weary from travel and just want a good night's sleep. The Intercontinental always delivers on this and is never anything less than efficient. This is no small thing and I appreciate it. Just wanted to take note.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: Lower floor, close to elevator is my personal favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was in Milwaukee for a wedding and some college friends shared a room at the Intercon. The room was fabulous and the service was impeccable. The location is great for exploring downtown Milwaukee, the third ward, and Old World Third Street

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The last InterCon we visited was the InterCon Hong Kong, so tough comparison, but... The Milwaukee hotel is nice - great service, attractive lobby and public spaces and guestroom furnishings were contemporary and in good shape. Guestroom bathrooms are small and dated. There were no bathrobes in the room, but strangely there were slippers. No turndown in the evening. There were noticeable signs of wear, i.e., chipped paint on the doorways, bathtub glazing was worn. The room service menu was ragged as were the menus in the dining room. Would probably look at alternative hotels on another visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear drbsfm,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is nice to hear that you liked our hotel facilities and guest services. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the conditions of your room and menu choices. Please accept our sincere apologies for any for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken to improve our guest satisfaction. I hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from Milwaukee after attending a friend's wedding. The guest stayed at several different hotels, but I chose to stay at the Intercontinental along with 2 other couples. I made a good choice. The Hotel was within walking distance to many attractions and very good restaurants. The staff at this hotel were very nice & were very accomodating to my needs. I am especially grateful & thankful to Ms. Theresa Robinson,at Guest Services, who was so helpful & professional. I traveled alone on this 1st visit to Milwaukee. She was very instrumental with guiding me during my 3 night stay. I would definitely return to this hotel and feel very safe in doing so. Loved Milwaukee, and had a lovely time at my friend's wedding @ The Lakefront Brewery.
Nilsa NYC

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 710 King Deluxe. Great view @ night. Perfect room for solo traveler/couple. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have just completed a 1 night stay for the first time at this hotel. I am forever travelling and often stay with InterContinental, mainly because they are so consistent. But not this time......
I rated this hotel as a 3. This was based on a 5 for the service and food, and 1 for the room (9th floor). First the good news - as with previous posts the staff are great! Friendly receptionists, really helpful concierge and fantastic staff in the restaurant. I did not have dinner, but the breakfast was top quality, even if I will now need to diet for a week or so!
However...........all this great work was undone by the room. Clearly it had seen better days! The curtains and furniture were damaged, the lights did not work properly and the bathroom was, well, just not nice (see previous posts). This is such a shame and I was really quite shocked to see this in an InterContinental. Come on management, sort it out - you are really letting your staff and customers down by offering such below par rooms.
Of course I mentioned this to the reception staff who apologised, admitted that the rooms were poor and gave me some compensation for my inconvenience. Whist this was not what I wanted as I would prefer a hassle free stay, it was at least a nice gesture.
My advice for anyone considering this hotel is to ask for a refurbished room. Oh and don't eat for 3 days before you have the fabulous breakfast!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate the kind words about our staff being great and helpful. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience the overall condition of your room may have caused. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am relieved to know that the property compensated you for the inconvenience you have experienced. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

While I understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Staff at this hotel is AMAZING! The valet/Bellmen are some of the most genuinely nice group of people I’ve met on a business trip before. One night we asked the valet for their opinion about the restaurant we were going to, they gave rave reviews. Then the following night the same valet remembered us and asked how was dinner! 5 star interaction!! The lobby and bar are clean and beautiful. Complimentary WIFI a big bonus.

Now for the sad news. After seeing this beautiful lobby, it was extremely disappointing to see the condition of the room I was in on the 8th floor. The threshold where the carpet and tile met, there was 2 inches of carpet missing, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls, there was left over sugar mess on the desk where is wasn't clean from the previous person, and the shower was extremely dark. I'm not sure if they haven't reached the 8th floor for renovations yet but it really wasn't up to par with everything else the hotel had to offer.

With that, I would say due to the location, the bar, and most importantly the staff. I might stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service you have received from our staff and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.