We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel in the Heart of Milwaukee's Entertainment Districts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Racine, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel in the Heart of Milwaukee's Entertainment Districts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I recently spent the weekend celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary in Milwaukee and chose the Intercontinental Milwaukee for our Friday/Saturday night stays. When we made the reservation, we indicated to them that it was our anniversary and made a specific room type request. They were able to meet that request and beyond. We had a high floor, corner suite that overlooked Water Street. It was a comfortable, clean amenity filled room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom toiletries were of high quality and we thoroughly enjoyed ther room. Further, on Saturday night we were treated with an Anniversary card that accompanied a nice bottle of wine and a gift card for a cocktail or equivalent for each of us in the bar. Ryan, Rebecca and Reesheda were at our service all weekend and managed our minimal requests when needed including restaurant recommendations and detail.

The hotel is located on Water St and Kilbourn in the heart of the downtown entertainment district. It is one block off of the Riverwalk that spans those districts and therefore walking and short cab rides are a priceless feature. The entertainment districts are: Water Street, Old World Third, The Third and Fifth Ward, The Riverwalk and the Marcus Center for Performing Arts. In addition, it is close to the convention center complex and Bradley Center.

Can I say more.... the staff is wonderful...great workout room...We'll be back.

Room Tip: Try to request a corner room facing east or west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    194
    94
    28
    21
See reviews for
94
252
35
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Setauket NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have to say without a doubt I have never been more pleased with the staff at a hotel The bell staff were so friendly and offered so many good suggestions as to where to go and where to find the best meals. The desk staff were also went above and beyond. The were kind, courteous and very helpful. The rooms were clean, cool and very comfortable . I have no complaints and will recommend Intercontinenial to all my family an friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Completed another stay at Intercon for a wedding. Multiple stays and always a terrific experience. Doesn't have the brand name of Pfister but rooms and space are modern; cleaner. Service is outstanding. Doormen and valets really go out of their way. They take a lot of pride in the hotel but it's not over the top or fake. Handle large groups realy well. The onsite restaurants are good. Easy walk down to the river and good restaurants on both Water St and Old Third World St. Def recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Can only say what has been repeated….Great Staff, Great Staff, Great Staff.
Yes the hotel could use an update, but I would put it more on the edge of just needing one.
However the level of the service from the staff made any shortcoming of the décor easily overlookable.
Lobby was well appointed and very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel when staying in Milwaukee

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived later than we had hoped and received great service from a bellman named Matt. He helped us to order tickets online for the Music festival and gave us great tips on how to enjoy the venue! The rate could not be beat and we had some of the best sleep away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kewaunee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

rooms are nothing special, we did not spend much time there so no big deal, clean and comfy beds. mini bar?, inventory way off. staff was very helpfull. not a very clean city, the milwaukee river is full of garbage and has a awfull smell to it. will not return, there is so much more out there for the high prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry you didn't experience any of the charm that is usually associated with Milwaukee. Thank you for the compliments about my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Hotel has a great location and great common areas. The valet and bell staff folks are excellent. The problem with this hotel is the rooms. Dirty, worn, rooms in dis-repair are the norm. This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. Torn carpet, mold ridden – dirty baths, filthy dirty drapes are to be expected.

Inter-continental should be ashamed of these rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Every guest's opinion is taken into account as we look to the future in meeting the many needs of a busy hotel. I do appreciate the kind words about the staff and common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#19 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.