We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, service, service....but Intercontinental?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Service, service, service....but Intercontinental?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There was not one person working here that you could fault. Everyone was attentive and eager to please. Whether business or pleasure this certainly ranks tops for service. A complimentary basket of crackers/cheese/sausage awaited us.

There is no turndown service which one could expect at a hotel of this quality. Some furniture was chipped and a bathtub had rusting. Soundproofing is a problem. Walls were very thin and neighbors could be easily heard. Unfortunately, we had VERY noisy neighbors. Although security was quick to act, their continued conversation still permeated the walls. Desk staff got us into another room for our next night and we were settled by 10AM along with a complimentary breakfast; nicely done! If you are interested in a view don't accept a back room. It does have full sun but is right above a gravel roof. Rooms on the 5th floor are right at roof level which can be disconcerting.

Self-parking at $25/night is a good option but might be too pricey for some. Good location: .5 mile walk to the Third Ward and just under a mile to the Milwaukee Art Museum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the many kudos on the staff's performance and mentioning the convenience of our location. We are aware, of course, of the need of updating and unfortunately the progress is never as fast as we would like it to be. I am delighted to know your needs we met with quick responses and hope we have the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    160
    77
    23
    14
See reviews for
81
225
32
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

While we have always loved staying at the InterContinental Hotel in Milwaukee for its decor, comfort and great location, it is the truly the quality of the staff that makes this hotel so outstanding. Last Friday night, we were headed to a concert and realized that we forgot our tickets. Without printed tickets, we could not get in. We showed up at the InterContinental (not even being guests, mind you) with little time to spare. Dave G. from the Bell Staff greeted us at the door, immediately figured out what we needed, and made sure we could print our tickets from his computer in record time. It was phenomenal. He treated us not only like guests, but like the most special guests at that. This is one of many examples of the service quality at the best hotel in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
What a wonderful story to share with us and the public. I often hear very nice stories, but for you to take the time to write it on this review is truly appreciated. I will be sure to share with Dave and the staff. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapid
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spent 3 nights at intercontinental. Staff was excellent. Rooms were very nice. Restaurant was
very good. Overall had a great stay and would definitely go back. Within walking distance to many attractions including fine restaurants, Pabst theatre next door, also many places to just grab a cocktail & sandwich. Miller park short drive for Brewers game- Bell hop (Matt) told us a helpful shortcut. Adam and Alicia were great bartenders and Becky and Josum were great at Kiliwat restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. As it happens we do not own the parking garage and have no jurisdiction over it. One of our most frequent compliments is our location and service. So happy you enjoyed the convenience. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Upon having flights cancelled we arrived two days early for our booking...they were accommodating, however, stuffed all of our subsequent bookings up!! We were disappointed in the Chocolate Bar..service was terrible. Breakfast was great - service attentive and speedy, however, room cleaning was very hit and miss - I had to call for bins to be emptied and towels and toilet paper to be restocked. This place has the makings of a great destination....how about some info for tourists?? On checking out, the billing caused more headaches and we were charged the top rates despite being Priorty Club members. We loved Milwaukee and the hotel was in a great location - be prepared to do lots of walking and good shopping is out of the area. Concierge was helpful when I required information... the fire alarm in the middle of the night was an added bonus!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Angela L,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Prior to my arrival I had received an email from the Front Office Supervisor, Paul, asking if I needed directions, recommendations for dinner, etc...great touch! I had casually emailed back that I might need a local's tip for a place to enjoy a late-night beverage as I was also celebrating a birthday.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was greeted by a great bellstaff, valet, and doorman crew...Matt and Ryan out in front of the hotel welcomed my wife and I like they new the minute we were expected to arrive. Being a little early in the day, we were expecting to have to change for the wedding in a lobby restroom, but the front desk staff (a very cheerful duo...Tim and Ashley?) said they had our room ready for us and we could check in immediately (things are going really well now!).
Our room was a spacious, clean, modern, King Executive which featured a comfortable sitting area, two large flat-panel t.v.'s and a HUUUGE window looking out over the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
So delighted you had a great time during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking time to write about your experience and hope you will come see us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm harbor, fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked a room because we were attending a show across the street at the Marcus Auditorium. Room rate was average for that area. Booked online. It was also the wife's birthday so I called the hotel the day before to see about roses. Talked to Catharina and she went way out of her way to ensure the roses were there along with a couple more amenities that I didn't even ask for. Arrival was smooth. Room was prepared as agreed. Now the particulars:

Every single person we dealt with was pleasant and professional. Catharina, Wendy, Matt, the lounge staff, the valets, waitresses were great. For that reason alone I would go there again.

The rooms are dated. Loose t-paper holder, slightly broken chair, folded paper under a desk leg to keep it level.....But....the room was clean, had a great view, and the bedding was wonderful so it just didn't matter much. Could they use some upgrading? Probably but they are not bad. I would not hesitate to return. BTW, the location is perfect....

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
What wonderful words, "I would not hesitate to return." Thank you for the recognition of our staff. They work hard and take pride in providing guests a great experience; so, it is always rewarding to have someone affirm their success! As time and capitol outlay permit, we hope to take care of the "dated" issue in the rooms left. I love our location too...so fun to be in the heart of the action of the city. We look forward to the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very nice location---we did a lot of walking, and beautiful view from our room---especially at night. Only negative is no pool-but that was not that big a deal. We would stay there again. As priority club members it would have been nice if they waived the $25 overnight parking fee, but I think they said they do not own the parking ramp so they could not drop the charge.

Room Tip: View to the north is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.