We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been a 5 star but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Wilton Manors, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Would have been a 5 star but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really nice hotel. Great location and central to most everything downtown. Staff is top notch. So why not 5 stars? The music. Yup, loud elevator lobby music on every floor, all night, all day. My room was around the corner from the elevators which is generally no big deal. But with the gap between the door and floor, all night long my room was flooded with Marvin Gaye, KC and the Sunshine Band, etc. Really? Can't there be a few hours after midnight until maybe 6am without a need to blast the tunes? I would have expected more.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    160
    77
    23
    14
See reviews for
81
225
32
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were happy with our stay. The lobby is spectacular. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and courteous. The view from our room overlooked City Hall and was very lovely. One drawback is the hotel parking costs $25. There aren't really any other options but to pay it. There is no pool at the InterContinental, but you may swim as a guest at the Pfister, a few blocks away. We did that and had fun at the Pfister. We were in town for a kids soccer tournament, and would have appreciated on-site laundry, but this hotel doesn't have it.
But overall, we were very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room overlooking City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here on the first weekend in May, while seeing an event at the Milwaukee Rep. Hotel is on Kilbourn Avenue next to the River Walk. It has access from its lobby to the Pabst Theater and Milwaukee Rep as well as City Center; and the River Walk is on its western boundary. We stayed in a King Bed room and we found it clean, sufficiently large enough and quiet. Hotel has valet and self-service parking. The entire staff was professional and very helpful with information, things-to-do, and city information. There is also a bar and restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: Tell the hotel staff your a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, a number of them are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We there at this hotel for a week because of a conference. I had the opportunity to view the sights in Milwaukee. The bell hops were extremely helpful in directing us to places to see and activities to do. Our room was well taken care of by house keeping. .This hotel is in a great location to see the sights of Milwaukee!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel has a modern contemporary vibe with smooth, clean architecture in relaxing hughes. The staff from doorman to waiter are incredibly attentive and courteous. I was there during the week but the lobby indoor/outdoor bar with bocce looked like a fun place to hang out. A coworker told me the rooms were tiny but mine was HUGE with a beautiful view of the performing arts center accross the street.

My trip was for business. I checked in at the end of a 16 hour workday. Tired and hungry my energy level matched my hope for a good dining experience. Needing to work after dinner just couldn't explore to find a local place (which are usually better and more afordable than the hotel). The restaurant was AMAZING. Warm rolls, special butter, perfectly fresh salad with dressing, impecable entree...it was EXACTLY what I needed. The next morning I had a 7 a.m. conference call. Up at 5:30 a.m. I ordered oatmeal brulee and coffee to wake up. If someone here offers you oatmeal brulee-you say yes PLEASE!

The chair in the room and the bathroom tub are a little dated but the overall room was clean and safe feeling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend during an outing for work. The valet parking was a nice touch to start our stay. Brad, our valet, was very friendly and efficient. We then had drinks at the bar which is a very comfortable place to hang out. The Guiness was great.

The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep in a quiet room. All in all, a great place for a special outing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel in connection with a conference. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, with a nice welcome at check-in. I stayed in an executive room; it was large and divided into a bedroom and sitting section - more like a mini-suite. The hotel was very quiet and comfortable, and well located. There is a Starbucks located diagonally across from the hotel - good for a quick breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.