We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
North Carolina
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Quirky but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel itself is nice. The staff are superb. The bellman, the desk clerks - all excellent.

The rooms are a little goofy - a small sitting area with a narrow corridor leading back to the bed. The bedroom was small - just enough room to walk around the bed. However it was quiet and comfortable. Just a poor use of space (unless you want a separate sitting area).

The hotel restaurant food was excellent. The Pfister may be slightly better but this is a solid second choice and usually a better value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    186
    89
    25
    15
See reviews for
92
244
34
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunter, TX
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Big rooms with nice views of the river or downtown. Lots of cool things within walking distance during nice weather, and a good bar for when the weather is bad. Room service was good and the staff is real good. Nice parking garage which makes things real easy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Intercontinental turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. The hotel was lovely — a great room with a view and decadent chocolate bar and live music on Friday night. But I REALLY liked the location. It was within walking distance to so much of what Milwaukee has to offer. We walked to the Riverwalk, Art Museum, Third Ward, Old World and Brady Street. Plus it has a top notch restaurant right on the premises, Kil@wat. The very best oatmeal ever and dinner was truly gourmet. Plus, the hotel staff could not have been nicer. The server in the lounge even hunted down horseradish to honor my request to have the bartender make me a bloody mary just the way I like it. Just right. This is the place for me when visiting Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have been coming to Milwaukee for years and my last 10 stays have been at this hotel. The rooms are excellent, the location to restaurants and business connections is great and the staff from the bell/valet, front desk, wait staff and management makes things happen. I have a certain way and location that I desire my room to be located and my profile is considered each time by the staff to provide me with the bet possible room block to meet expectations. Even if there is a miscue, they fix it in minutes with great attitudes. Highly recommended! From someone who travels 150 nights per year on business.

Room Tip: Inside room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed in practically every main hotel in downtown Milwaukee, the Intercontinental is certainly the best. Well run good hotel with helpful staff, good resturant, decent bar, spacious rooms with full size desk space to get some work done. Fee WiFi (why do some hotels still charge for this?) with a decent connection speed. Fair room rate for this quality of hotel. If you are in Milwaukee on business, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice location. Staff was knowledgeable of the area and informative as to where to go for breakfast & dinner. Room was nice but disappointing. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator, and microwave. Did not have to go outside to gain access to the Pabst theater for a show. The Miami Heat basketball team was staying there while playing the Milwaukee Buck's. Many fans gathered outside while players were boarding the team bus. Probably would look for somewhere else to stay on another visit to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I was really excited about staying here. When i first walked into the hotel (after paying $25 for the parking garage per day) I thought, "how sexy!"...then I got to the room. It was small, and many of the things you would expect for a hotel of this caliber was missing. The beds were UNCOMFORTABLE. When I sat on them (two full size beds in room), you could feel the springs in the mattress and they made a strange noise when changing position. There was a very basic bathroom that you would likely find in a Holiday Inn, or Motel 6. The ceiling over the shower had a loose vent/cover and the ceiling was also moldy. The restaurant on site Kil@wat was outstanding.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Soleil1973,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.