We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice location. Staff was knowledgeable of the area and informative as to where to go for breakfast & dinner. Room was nice but disappointing. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator, and microwave. Did not have to go outside to gain access to the Pabst theater for a show. The Miami Heat basketball team was staying there while playing the Milwaukee Buck's. Many fans gathered outside while players were boarding the team bus. Probably would look for somewhere else to stay on another visit to Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    207
    98
    30
    22
See reviews for
96
263
36
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I was really excited about staying here. When i first walked into the hotel (after paying $25 for the parking garage per day) I thought, "how sexy!"...then I got to the room. It was small, and many of the things you would expect for a hotel of this caliber was missing. The beds were UNCOMFORTABLE. When I sat on them (two full size beds in room), you could feel the springs in the mattress and they made a strange noise when changing position. There was a very basic bathroom that you would likely find in a Holiday Inn, or Motel 6. The ceiling over the shower had a loose vent/cover and the ceiling was also moldy. The restaurant on site Kil@wat was outstanding.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Soleil1973,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I normally avoid hotels owned by this group (stayed in a bad Crowne Plaza and have status with 2 other hotel chains) but this was my only option for a recent business trip.

It was phenomenal. Beautiful facilities and absolutely top-notch service. Felt like I was treated like a VIP even though I've never been there before. If you're going to downtown Milwaukee, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I went to Milwaukee for a comedy show at the pabst theater. The hotel is connected to the theater which was really convenient. It was in the heart of the city and close to the lake. Entering the hotel the decor is modern and tranquil. The room we rented was a suite with a king bed and a separate sitting area. 2 flat screen tvs and free wifi Made for a nice evening. There is even a ping pong table in the lobby! And yet still remains modern style. The have a nice restaurant called kilowatt, and 24 hour room service. we ordered the double chocolate cake which was excellent. This was a relaxing stay in Milwaukee and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

You are in same building as theaters, a block away from Milwaukee's faous Water Street, and the downtown of Milwaukee is safe, clean and fun. You can take a walk on the Riverwalk, go to Summerfest or whatever festival is going on downtown or at festival park. You can stay in as this hotel has excellent food and a nightclub you may enjoy. It has a great atmosphere and to many things to do in one trip just outside your door.

To look at the connecting Theaters I provided a link or address to check out thier website. It has a planning your trp link.

http://www.milwaukeerep.com/season/pabst.php

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I used this hotel for a multi-day business meeting and extended my stay through the weekend. Couldn't have been more pleased that it lived up to its acclaim! Running a meeting can be stressful and unexpected things always arise, but they quickly and graciously accommodated my every request, making my customers think I was a genius. Beautiful meeting space, responsive staff, and a clean, comfortable room. My event and I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are committed to serving our guest and work hard at fulfilling needs. It is wonderful to know we managed to accomplish this with you and your group. Thank you for taking the time to write this and more importantly thank you for making us your future hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Intercontinental Hotel in Milwaukee was showing a colliection of paintings that my wife painted , and to make the night all sweeter it happen to be on the evening of her birthday. The staff went all out for her showing. A big beautiful open gallery. Sparkling wine! Lots of food ! And it was all free. About 40 of our friends and family attended, as well some walk ins from the hotels bar and lobby . They treated us like kings and queens. The staff was great. But we decided to spend the night, and celebrate with a suite. That's when the evening turned kind-of Sour. First of all, it turns out that even though they sell you a suite it's really what others call a junior suite. It was one big room with a king sized bed. When I brought this up to the desk they confessed that this was their version of a suite.
Suites are susposto be big fun, glamorous and usually made to impress. The suite at the Intercontinental in Milwaukee struck out in every inning . There was no dazzle when we opened the door . The room was a dull beige color. With two older looking swivel chairs made of a dirty looking fake suide material. And the carpet looked like a patchwork of remnants . It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. The drapes didn't have any ends on and were falling off the drape rod . And the big metal panel that housed the heater fell down while we were drinking wine . The pole lamp didn't stand straight up , it leaned and the split in it's mid point was obvious. Lastly, in some points in the room the that ugly brown wall paper was peeling . So that was the big room. The bath room was worse. I was going to take a shower and the supply line valve came off in my hand. I could see a big spot on the floor of the shower where someone tried to repair the tiles . They did a crappy job and some of the tiles were sitting onto of other tiles in the shower(.I handed the tiles and the shower knob to the guy at the desk and this got meva free breakfast). And there was more stuff, petty stuff wrong with the room , like the price lable on the supply line to the toilet. And no shampoo or soap or conditioner. They're just little things , but this was a suite at the Intercontinental . And why only one bath robe? We're two people. We paid about three hundred bucks for this room. For that kind of money in Milwaukee a suite should be mouthwatering.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you buy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tom B,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am very pleased that we had the chance to host you and your wife for a special occasion in your lives. It is also hugely motivating that you have recognized the service of our staff. However, please accept my sincerest apology that the room you were given did not live up to your standards. Please be assured that your feedback is noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider for enhancements needed at our facility.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.