We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Suites are kind of sour” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some Suites are kind of sour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Intercontinental Hotel in Milwaukee was showing a colliection of paintings that my wife painted , and to make the night all sweeter it happen to be on the evening of her birthday. The staff went all out for her showing. A big beautiful open gallery. Sparkling wine! Lots of food ! And it was all free. About 40 of our friends and family attended, as well some walk ins from the hotels bar and lobby . They treated us like kings and queens. The staff was great. But we decided to spend the night, and celebrate with a suite. That's when the evening turned kind-of Sour. First of all, it turns out that even though they sell you a suite it's really what others call a junior suite. It was one big room with a king sized bed. When I brought this up to the desk they confessed that this was their version of a suite.
Suites are susposto be big fun, glamorous and usually made to impress. The suite at the Intercontinental in Milwaukee struck out in every inning . There was no dazzle when we opened the door . The room was a dull beige color. With two older looking swivel chairs made of a dirty looking fake suide material. And the carpet looked like a patchwork of remnants . It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. The drapes didn't have any ends on and were falling off the drape rod . And the big metal panel that housed the heater fell down while we were drinking wine . The pole lamp didn't stand straight up , it leaned and the split in it's mid point was obvious. Lastly, in some points in the room the that ugly brown wall paper was peeling . So that was the big room. The bath room was worse. I was going to take a shower and the supply line valve came off in my hand. I could see a big spot on the floor of the shower where someone tried to repair the tiles . They did a crappy job and some of the tiles were sitting onto of other tiles in the shower(.I handed the tiles and the shower knob to the guy at the desk and this got meva free breakfast). And there was more stuff, petty stuff wrong with the room , like the price lable on the supply line to the toilet. And no shampoo or soap or conditioner. They're just little things , but this was a suite at the Intercontinental . And why only one bath robe? We're two people. We paid about three hundred bucks for this room. For that kind of money in Milwaukee a suite should be mouthwatering.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you buy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tom B,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am very pleased that we had the chance to host you and your wife for a special occasion in your lives. It is also hugely motivating that you have recognized the service of our staff. However, please accept my sincerest apology that the room you were given did not live up to your standards. Please be assured that your feedback is noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider for enhancements needed at our facility.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    207
    97
    30
    22
See reviews for
96
263
36
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Intercontinental Hotel Milwaukee is a wonderful hotel with a great location in downtown Milwaukee! Friendly, helpful staff! We had a very nice room with a view on the 9th floor!
We were in town for a weekend getaway. We also attended a concert at The Riverside Theater which is close walking distance from the hotel.
We found the hotel to be clean with easy parking in the ramp next door.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a nice brunch one afternoon at their restaurant, Kilowatt. It was a delicious meal! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your special "weekend getaway." I appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing review. We hope we will have the pleasure of your company again when you have another chance to getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, the bell hops went above and beyond - Dave and Dom (?) were excellent, helpful, friendly.
I wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed more of the things offered at the hotel. The work out room was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It is always great to hear we were chosen to be a part of a special family trip. I am delighted you found our hotel to your expectations and that you had a great weekend. We hope we shall have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Special THANKS to Dave, Lucas, Josh and Daniel. You were all so very helpful and accommodating during our stay. I would recommend this place to everyone. Beautiful view from our room on the fourth floor and easy access to downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This past weekend, myself and my 7 sisters stayed at the InterContinental in Milwaukee for our annual "Sister Weekend". I would like to compliment the service we received from the Bell Staff the entire time we were there. By name..... Josh, Dave, Daniel, and Lucas....they were amazingly friendly and accommodating! They made our stay very enjoyable. Also, the hotel was beautiful and the location was great! Would definitely stay here on our next visit to downtown Milwaukee!
Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
How fabulous that seven sisters shared an annual sister weekend. We are honored you chose us to have a part in your memories. Thank you for taking time to write this review. It is gratifying to hear we helped make the weekend a success, and additionally gratifying to know you will choose us again. We shall look forward to serving you again and please know it was our pleasure to be a part of something so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I took my husband for a getaway and we had a wonderful time. The hotel was beautiful and we enjoyed the downtown. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk to different things to see. The bar in the hotel was relaxing and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided to have a get-away at the Intercontinental Milwaukee. We used our coupon for becoming an Ambassador member: this was a stay one night and get one night free. Our room was $189 and then we got an upgrade. This put us on the 8th floor. What a view! We could see the city, the lights at night, and Marcus Center with it's walls lit up and changing color.

As Ambassador members we received a basket of fruit and 2 small bottles of water. The room was comfy. We were given terry cloth bathrobes and slippers to use. There was an envelope with coupons for free brunches and drinks.

The concierge, Catharina, was VERY helpful. We learned that the Marcus Center had a Milwaukee Symphony pops concert highlighting the 60's. As seniors, that brought back memories. Catharina found us good seats and arranged our tickets. All we had to do was to walk across the street. How handy! It was our 5th visit, and as a treat Catharina sent up a bottle of wine on ice and some chocolates.

The next day we went to the Art Center to see the exhibit of color - as seen through photography. We also fit in A Raisin in the Sun at the rep in the same building. It was powerful.
Afterwards we joined friends to discuss the play over Thai food.

All of the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. They remembered us from our previous visits and called us by name and welcomed us back. I'd rank the weekend as a 10.

Room Tip: Become an Ambassador member. You can get an upgrade when you check in. We had a room on the 8th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.