We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Clear"-ly poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Clear"-ly poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Prior to attending a show at the Pabst, my wife and I decided to stop by the IC's lounge Clear for appetizers and drinks. The lounge was not at all crowded and there were three waitresses working. We sat for ten minutes before a waitress made her way over, and actually watched two other tables go to the bar to serve themselves. Drink orders were taken, and we asked for appetizer menus. Again, a VERY long wait for the drinks to be served by a second waitress with only one of the two waters we requested. Waitress #2 did not take our appetizer order. We waited, finished our drinks (still no waitress). OK, we give up. Watched another table go to the bar to get their own check, and figured I'd do the same. Waitress showed up, and was shocked we were leaving. She left the check, never came back to get it. I ended up paying at the bar. The very helpful waitress at our next stop was probably pleasantly surprised at the size of her tip. She got the tip that the Clear staff didn't. Steer "Clear" of the Intercontinental lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Let me first apologize for the untimeliness of service in CLEAR Lounge. Our Food & Beverage leadership team is constantly working to improve our procedures to make the overall experience prompt and pleasant for each of our guests. The difficulties you experienced are certainly not the ideal standard we work towards.
I hope that you will give us another chance to recover your trust, and receive the attentive service we strive to provide to each guest that we serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    160
    77
    23
    14
See reviews for
81
225
32
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a week at the Intercontinental Milwaukee in July 2012. I was very pleased with the extremely friendly hotel staff, the fantastic workout facility, the ping pong table in the lobby (played for hours...it's in a great spot, near the bar and the nightclub so you can enjoy the music while you're playing) the location is central to a lot of things downtown (public market, the waterfront...Summerfest was walking distance!) and there are several restaurants nearby and a block to Starbucks...) The hotel is beautifully decorated, modern, very clean...our room was spacious and we had a great view from the 9th floor. The king size bed was very comfortable...We had maps printed by the extremely helpful concierge desk, the bartenders were down to earth, good conversationalists and mixed some mean cocktails...fun...Parking was free in a secure underground garage connected to the hotel. The front staff was also very friendly...Our favorite front desk employee, Paul was fantastic...He was professional, gave us a complimentary breakfast coupon that we used on our last morning...A breakfast to die for in the hotel restaurant, which is 5 star...Excellent...I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Milwaukee and I would definitely return to this hotel. Thank you to all those folks responsible for making sure that the most minute details are attended to...we appreciated that!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor on the corner...not sure of compass orientation, but we were across from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for all the generous compliments...I would love to shout them from a mountain top! Seriously, all reviews are used as learning tools. The great reviews are fun to use as they reinforce all that we hope occurs each visit a guest is with us. We hope we will have the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a night for a show in an adjacent theater. Check in was very friendly and quick. They had my loyalty card on file and credited. Location is perfect for the numerous adjacent theaters. Room was spacious and upscale, with good desk for business. Regular wi-fi is a bit slow but faster service is available for an upcharge if really needed. Lobby bar was busy and fun after the show. Really enjoyed visiting with friends in the happy atmosphere. The InterContinental has been and remains my hotel of choice when I need to stay "downtown".

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
...Love "hotel of choice" ...it is what we in the industry hope for with all our guests. I am delighted you found our lobby bar a happy atmosphere and that you shared it with friends. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope we have the pleasure of your company again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was very happy with my stay. The service is very friendly, I felt that everyone at the hotel tries very hard to make my stay enjoyable. The room was large and perfect. Got cupon for free breakfast, which was delicious (mango smoothie and eggs). My only wish is that this hotel group injects this energy and focus on customer to other hotels with the same brand - the hotel in Prague, Abu Dhabi, Moscow as not as friendly at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
It is so thrilling to hear we have set the bar for InterContinental Hotels, because we truly strive to create a memorable experience for each of our guests! Thank you for such an ideal review, we hope to have you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was extremely surprised and delighted by my experience at this hotel. It was beautifully and festively decorated for the Holiday Season, the rooms were updated, clean and cozy, and the location was great. But what stood out by far, was the extremely friendly, professional and helpful staff. In particular, Daniel, with the Bell Staff deserves high praise. He went over and above his call of duty to walk us to the entrance of our dinner spot, the Safe House, and make sure we had anything else we needed. He was a delight and the hotel should be very proud to have him on staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I actually used Priceline and received at $60 fee reduction from the standard rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic feedback and recommendation! It is so exciting to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share such positive words about our Bellman, Daniel. He is truly a great asset to our team, and I will make sure to share your kind words with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed here in the past and really enjoyed our stay. The lobby was beautiful. We went to our room and the first thing we notice was it was not cleaned very well. There were feathers in the corners and crumbs on the floor. When we turned on the water in the sink, the cold water handle on the faucet fell off and we couldn't get it back on. The toilet didn't seem to be secured to the floor as it moved when you sat on it. The towels were very thin and they beds didn't have fitted sheets and the sheets kept coming off of the bed during the night. We called the desk and explained our problems and all the gentlemen said was, yea that has been reported before. We were not impressed at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
The most disheartening comment is the unresponsiveness of the front desk. I can assure you we are committed to bringing the best possible service experience to all of our guests. Thank you for choosing us and giving us the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Good location, parking expensive. Rooms not made up till late in the day. Service managers friendly and helpful. Good hotel for business travelers rather than families. No pool or laundry facilities. Breakfast menu limited and expensive, but many good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Clean, modern and good service are wonderful compliments. Just so you know in the future you can always request a time for your room to be cleaned. Happy you found our location to your liking. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#11 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.