We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you would expect for an InterContinental hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Milwaukee to your Saves list
InterContinental Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect for an InterContinental hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here 1 night and that was enough for me. The rooms are exhausted looking with holes in the walls where the new wall hangings don't cover the old hanging's marks. The room service food is overpriced and nothing great if not yuck. There were spiders in the room (at least 3) which totally grossed me out. And they overcharged me over $400 to which they could never explain why. The over charge got corrected after a whole week and multiple calls to a sometimes helpful sometimes extremely rude front house manager and mostly rude receptionists.
The pro's good location and a pretty lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    208
    98
    30
    22
See reviews for
96
263
36
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

(I originally wrote this on my phone and somehow had to make a new account. So, this is my review.)

We are actually at the hotel right now and regretting our choice. As soon as we get showered, we're going to the front desk to see if we can switch rooms. The problem is that we have a room with a connecting door. That door is so thin, it sounds like our neighbors are in our room. I've been listening (not by choice) to their conversation about soap, where to have breakfast, their friends, a sweater someone really loves, perfume vs. body spray, etc. Did I mention this can all be heard over the tv (turned on to drown out the neighbors).

So, tip one: make sure your room doesn't have a connecting door.

Tip two: don't expect to get any late night menu items from the 24 hour kitchen. We called and they had a half a sandwich (?) and two salads available. Not two kinds of salad, two total salads. That was it. No thanks.

We will not be staying here again. We expect a level of comfort that this price range implies. The Intercontinental did not deliver.

PS: We thought the bed was super comfortable and would love to purchase one of the featherbeds! Who makes it?

Room Tip: Ask for a room without an adjoing/connecting door. Also, don't plan to eat after midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the overall issues you had during your stay. I would like to speak to you regarding your experience. I can be reached at 414-299-3173. I look forward to hearing from you soon. -Jenny Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had excellent service from the valet staff, front desk, restaurant and room service. All were very friendly. Several of our family members stayed at the Intercontinental at the same time & all agreed that the beds are among the most comfortable of any hotel! Although the decor in the common areas was a bit modern for my taste, the property was clean and well kept up. Some of the younger folks in our group enjoyed being able to play table tennis off the lobby. Great feature!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. This is the first on line mention of our table tennis and it is nice to know it was a hit with your party. The best news is the "excellent service" comment. We are committed to making our patrons stay a warm, comfortable one, and it begins with service in all areas. It was our pleasure to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We chose to stay the evening of 9/21 as we were going to a show in the area. Allegedly we received an upgrade to King Executive Suite. Let's just say the rooms were dated and they were in need of deep cleaning. The living area furniture was ornamental and not functional. Amenities "basket" included very over priced snacks and a "Intimacy Kit..." The presence of the "kit" and the location of the establishment, could lead one to believe that this is a place for "nooners." The ironing board had stains on it. The bathroom corners were very dirty. On the up side the bed was very comfortable. It appeared to us all the upgrades were done in the lobby.. color changing lights, comfy seating, etc. There was a Chocolate bar available for an exceptional fee...
We have stayed in Holiday Inn's and hotels with our Priority club , however, this time the Intercontinental did not raise to the level of what we typically expect from the Intercontinental chains...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are committed to offering the finest service to our guest. Each review is given close scrutiny as we deem all input important to improving and maintaining a standard which our guests expect. Thank you for specifying your problematic areas. We are going through each area searching to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I arrived the evening before a day conference at this hotel. Overall my stay was good. The rooms are quiet, spacious and updated, but not super modern. For example, the TV didn't have HDMI inputs and I like to plug in my iPad to watch videos. The bathroom tub just seemed a bit dated. Not like 1980s Avocado green, just not as up to date as I have at home or see at other hotels.

Room service was very quick, and they even threw in a couple cookies and small glass of milk. Nice touch and very memorable.

The lobby bar was nice. I was able to get 2 for 1 drinks with a Foursquare check-in, plus it was happy hour when I checked in so they had complimentary Fried Mushrooms and Fried Cheese.

I ate breakfast at the restaurant on the second floor. It was only okay, despite the rave reviews I had read on a few sites. Pretty simple Eggs Benedict. Not much else to add.

The service was good in the hotel, room service, bar, and restaurant. Nobody stood out, but all were fairly personable and seemed genuinely interested in helping me.

If I find myself back in Milwaukee, I'd definitely consider the Intercontinental again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I am delighted to hear we remain on your list of places to stay in MKE. We are very excited about a new renovation project specifically targeting the bath areas that should be coming soon. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed on Sept. 20th. There was a doorman or perhaps the bellboy? upon entering who greated us with a big smile and welcomed us in. Check in was smooth and the desk clerks were polite and professional. Our room was very nice, we had an executive king suite I believe. The room was very quiet and you couldn't hear the rooms next to you or above. The restaurant at the hotel is called the Kilowat. The food was excellent and the wait staff again were fabulous. We talked with the bartenders at the hotel bar called "Clear" I believe. They were great and we discussed how strigent and thorough they are when they hire at the Intercontinental. The locatation was great for the show we went to. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for pointing out the attributes of our staff. They work hard and often go overlooked in reviews. It will give me pleasure to share this with them. It was wonderful to hear you used many of our facilities and liked them all. So happy you enjoyed your stay and; the next time you are in Milwaukee, we hope to have the pleasure of your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The lobby decor is very nice and impressive, as well as the fun mirror design in the elevators and even the hallway decor to the room. I guess those must have increased my expectations for the room though and as a result I was a little disappointed in the room decor because it was just so bland with tan everywhere. I wasn't at the hotel long and spent most of my time in the room when I was. So I was not pleased when I was laying in the bed and was then poked multiple times by what I believe were feathers from the bed which was otherwise very soft and comfortable. Trying to avoid being poked changed it's level of comfort for me though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear M V,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry the room decor and the bed conditions did not live up to your expectations . Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#14 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Milwaukee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.