We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, perfect, cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
East Troy, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, perfect, cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

My sisters and I took a get away weekend and had a wonderful experience at the Iron Horse. The "cool" factor is high of course, but the staff made all feel very welcome. the staff was OUTSTANDING and accomodating to all of our needs, from wine glasses to the room, last minute reservation changes. Atmosphere, fun , masculine, industrial cool. Bartender more than accomodating wait staff, etc, we didnt want to leave. Juve, Ellie, Robert , Leo and the rest. You made our stay memorable and extremely fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    159
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
108
536
55
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel was AMAZING. Much cooler than even the places I have stayed at in Chicago. The friendliest staff ever encountered from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the bartender. Valets were really quick about getting the car. The bed was crazy comfy and the shower was the huge. I couldn’t ask for me. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We picked this hotel based on location and the pictures on the website. It was a break from the normal hotel. We were celebrating our anniversary and were taking a “staycation” in Milwaukee. From the time we entered it was beautiful! They offered us a tasty beverage upon check in and then we went to see the room. The room was AMAZING!! Beautiful exposed brick, amazing bathroom with exposed frosted glass shower. It was perfect. They even left us a treat based on our preferences in the room. We are going back again next month to celebrate our anniversary and are staying 2 nights this year. It may be a yearly occurence!! Highly recommend to anyone & everyone

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I was visiting Milwaukee for business and was recommended to stay at the Iron Horse. My room was so great that I eventually moved one of my meetings back to my room so I could spend more time there and enjoy the amenities. I would highly recommend upgrading to one of the corner loft style rooms. Mine felt like a cool apartment with a sofa, wet bar, table and chairs, large flat screen TV. The decor is really cool and I loved the exposed brick walls and large murals. The bed was so comfortable and the linens were very fine and soft. The breakfast at the "Library" in the morning was beyond yummy. I had these huge and fluffy pecan pancakes with vanilla butter! We also enjoyed dinner at the Iron Horse and the food was first rate and super reasonable for quality we received. If you are lucky enough to find yourself visiting Milwaukee, do yourself a HUGE favor and book a room at the Iron Horse!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My hubby and I live in the Milwaukee burbs, but wanted to do get out of the house for our anniversary night. Iron Horse was top on our list! It definitely meet and exceeded our expectations. It is on the pricier side (for Milwaukee), but worth every penny. We had excellent service, from the moment we called to reserve a room, through our stay. The hotel room was deluxe! Comfortable bed, great shower. Loved the decor. Its a hotel room unlike any other. The lobby and bar is always buzzing with activity, but never feels overwhelmed. Great service the entire time! Regretfully, we didn't get to try their restaurant, Smyth (we had reservations elsewhere). Luckily, since we live in town, I know we'll be back to try it another time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed at the Iron Horse over Columbus Day weekend due in part to the large number of positive reviews. Also, I was able to partake in the Beatles Rock Band promotion which gave you a great rate and the game.

We approached the hotel from the south and driving through the Walker's Point neigborhood on the way to the hotel, which made us wonder if you were going to right way because many of the buildings were run down and with signs in Spanish. However, the hotel sits on the edge of an area of town that is currently undergoing regentrification. The hotel is definately a positive thing in this area!!!

Like many have stated before, we were greated at the hotel by the friendly valet which is $25/night. However, I would NOT want to risk my car with in this neighborhood unattended (however, I didnt' feel unsafe outside at night). Throughout the stay we came and went many times and the valet staff was always friendly and quick. This definatley made me feel like I was getting value for the cost!

Check-in and out was a breeze. The staff was friendly both coming and going. The front desk is small and blend very easily into the main lobby and Branded bar. The staff was friendly and quick. They even offered a very nice welcome beverage during check-in

I was a little upset when I checked into the room because when making my reservation, I specifically asked for a room away from the tracks because of previous comments on this site. However, after speaking to one of the managers, they informed me that it created a little rumble, but the trains did not blow their horn. Having stayed there, I can concur with this statement...and neither my wife or I barley noticed the trains going by (the noise from the hallways was more noticeable). However, we were staying on the top floor which also helped.

For an upgraded loft room, I found it to be the size of many other hotel rooms I have stayed in (kind of disappointed paying an upgrade fee and and not getting much more room). I would have hated to stay in anything smaller. It was just the right size for the two of us.

The room had many nice ammenities and the mini bar was well stocked. However, I found the mini bar prices to be a little high ($3 + Room Tax for a 12oz can of Diet Coke), but not terribly outrageous. My only other complaint about the room is the wall without the mural seemed to have some weird stains on it when the light shown in (but not visible without natural daylight and from a head on view). Some of the wall had been touched up, but the whole wall should have been repainted.

The bed was really comfortaable. Two feather and two foam pillows were given in the bed. The Bed also had nice liens and and good duvet cover. We slept well for our first two nights away without kids for a really long time.

Many have commented about the bathroom before. I didn't have horrible complaints about the rain shower. Yes, pressure could have been better. The rain head also had some calcium build-up on it that needs to be cleaned . My biggest complaint about the shower is that it took so long for it to warm up. It was about 5 minutes before the water got hot. And, when it did, the bathroom started to steam up as there was no vent to clear the room of steam. The H20 ammenities were a nice touch though!

We had drinks at Branded one night while enjoying a game of pool. It was nice because the weather was so good that they had opened part of the front of the building for more fresh air. The bar was good and had a great selection of local brews. We also tried Smyth for lunch. The food was good, but after having eaten at the Lake Park Bistro and Maxie's the food was good but didn't seem at the level of those estabilishments. I was really disappointed in the beer cheese soup!. The BBQ chicken and cheese sandwich made up for it. The atmosphere of Smyth is really good, even down to the bathrooms. No wonder it one of the top 30 in Milwaukee.

One thing that doesn't get mentioned that much about this hotel is that its neighbor to the west on the roundabout is the Greatl Lakes Distillery. It is definately worth a visit to head over there to try flights of their spirits. They have a great staff to and take great pride in their products.

I know I have mentioned some negative items on here, but this really is a great hotel!!! I have stayed at many of the other Milwaukee hotels, including the Residence Inn, and this is by far the best stay you are going to get in the city of Milwaukee. The service is top notch, the rooms of are of high quality, and location is not bad. It would be a 4.75 on a 5 point scale for me!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

The other reviews say it all. This truly IS a great place to stay - comfort, style, and very friendly staff! Sharde a nice, big room with a friend and never bumped into each other. Appreciated free WiFi. We each had a massage at the Spa and had good massage therapists. Enjoyed a nice drink at the bar (again with very friendly waiter) and a delicious dinner at Smythe, where I recommend the spareribs - especially on a chilly evening!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.