We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Loft in Milwaukee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
madison, wi
1 review
“A Beautiful Loft in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Stayed at the Iron Horse for my wife's birthday and had a great time. We had a slightly larger corner room, which was quite large. Lots of seating areas and a cool converted warehouse feeling. The bathroom was interesting with a walk-in shower and modern amenities. Got some food and later drinks at the bar and both were fairly good. The staff was exceptionally welcoming throughout our stay.
While it wasn't a problem for us, the hotel is a bit out of the way of downtown. The hotel also has some train tracks outside and one evening a train passed by. The tracks don't seems to get lots of traffic, but the train was fairly loud. Overall, a great stay and the best hotel I've stayed at in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    159
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
108
536
55
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel. It's near an attractive, gentrified section of downtown Milwaukee. The Iron Horse is a combo of luxury and edginess - it's casual yet elegant. Lovely high-ceiling rooms, "rain" showers in big bathrooms, a breakfast room you want to spend the day in - long iron common tables, fireplace, distressed leather sofas and wonderful coffee table books to peruse. The decor speaks of Harley's and railroad trains and sophistication all at once!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We're two average sized, 190lb guys looking for a masculine, comfortable (which to us, means 'room to move around') stay in a non-chain-named hotel. This is it! First, they allowed for early check in...and since we were at our home airport before dawn leaving for Milwaukee, we were grateful we didn't have to wait around til 3:00pm.
The location of the hotel reminded me of Tribeca or Soho in New York City for Blue Collar workers. Old Factory restored brick, tall ceilings, large oversized windows, exposed ducts, beams and columns in the room made me want to light up a cigar and order brandy in the room; but the hotel is non-smoking (nice!) and I don't smoke anyway, but if I did...

The room #413 was right off the elevator. The view was perfect. Facing south, overlooking the huge temperature - time clock tower and the rest of the Walkers Point District - which was where we did most of our carousing. You might want to ask for a City view, but we liked the southern sun exposure warming the room and the unobstructed view. Without being an exhibitionist, you didn't need to draw the drapes at all. Windows were adequately tinted and paned to proved decent insulation.

Our room was huge. Enough room for two to stretch out on the floor, in the sleeping area, without banging into either queen sized platform bed. Beds were delicious with huge oversized leather headboards, multiple sized pillows, and large animal hide sitting benches at the foot of each bed. Large (larger that most boutique hotels) flat screen TV...and the kicker. a huge, tinted, faded oversized, photographic floor to ceiling mural of a contemporary angelic woman protecting you and your room. (Think : modern day Botticelli's Venus). Wonderfully soothing...

The continued masculine flair wasn't interrupted by a huge splash room area, with an oversized wooden bench so you can take off your boots and or riding gear and not have to walk across the carpet to hang them up. Bathroom was super! Oversized counter with 2 large sinks that make you think. Large, modern, open glass shower that could easily fit 4 humans with 'rain' and hand held shower heads.

All the lights, even in the bathroom, had dimmers on them to set any mood.

Room service was great. Food in the restaurant was very good and hearty (man sized) though the selection would not be too fitting for a couple of gals staying the week. But since this trip was a Man-cation, meat and drink were part of every manly meal. (And contrary to my description and tastes, there were two wedding receptions/parties occurring over the weekend we stayed; so there was enough charm even for the ladies.)

Staff, bartenders, waiters, were friendly and gracious. Location was perfect and the was room oversized (just the way I like 'em). Free wireless. The cost was way less than any boutique hotel I've ever stayed in. So I guess I have to find something I didn't like?

Well...knit picking, I'd have to say that parking was the *only* thorn at $25/day. (How much for motorcycles, I wonder?) But if you're clever and willing to walk a block, you could save that charge. The valet service was efficient and courteous so we didn't mind.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE WI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

My husband and I celebrated a recent birthday of mine with Steely Dan tickets (Yea! That concert was awesome, too!) AND a stay at this hotel. From the moment you walk in until you leave, the staff is falling over each other to accomodate you and ensure your stay is the best. Get this-you walk up to the check in counter, and the staff member says, "We discourage and do not allow smoking, but we encourage getting the party started. Would you like a complimentary Lynchburg Lemonade?" (lemonade and bourbon, and NOT a watered down drink!) What a way to commence a stay! We loved the way this old mattress factory was gutted and rehabbed-lots of exposed wood and wrought iron in a very handsome and comfortable style. We had a king alcove room-sweet! We had pre-dinner drinks in the lobby area and watched the world come and go, and then had dinner at the restaurant on premises-Smythe. Gourmet level all the way! No complaints-nothing but raves for this location. We WILL return!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I travel to Milwaukee for business and pleasure at least ten times a year, and have stayed at all of the regular places (Hyatt, Hilton, Hampton Inn, Doubletree, etc.). A friend of mine recommended the Iron Horse, and after checking it out online, I decided to give it a try. BOY was I happy I did that!
As other reviewers have said, Yes, all of the amazing reviews are well deserved. From the architectural style of the outside of the hotel (an old warehouse), to the inside lobby and bar (tall ceilings with exposed beams, a great pool table, fresh fruit out for the taking, free coffee throughout the day made by the restaurant, complimentary internet, etc), it was extremely inviting. It felt like I had been transported to a loft in New York that had been fully furnished with a southwestern vibe of high end furniture. Big flat tv's, huge 2 sink bathrooms with a shower with a opaque wall, a giant desk, super comfy bed, etc. I really didn't want to leave this room once I got to it! Business or pleasure, it would be the perfect hideaway.
The service was top notch, and there was always someone asking me if I needed anything. At one point in my stay, I was sitting on a couch waiting for a friend in the lobby, when a staff member came up to me and brought me a tall glass of ice water. I asked him why he did that, and he said that just in case I was thirsty, they wanted to be sure I was taken care of. I LOVED IT! They were always trying to be one step ahead of me. Whether it be wanting a coffee, a drink, a tip for a restaurant, etc., they were on top of it. I truly believe that the staff of the Iron Horse was on par the Ritz Carlton or the Peninsula in Chicago.
All I can say to finish this is up, is just do it. Book the room. Get a high floor with a good view. And don't leave!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIlwaukee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I just want to give a shout out to the female bartender(sorry I can't remember your name) working the bar Friday night. You made a fun night even more enjoyable with your exceptional service.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Iron Horse, we could not have been more pleased. We were not sure about the all the reviews - thought maybe the place could not live up to the hype, but it is that good. The staff was always there, but not in the way. They also actually wanted to help you and with a smile too! The rooms were cool and industrial while managing to be warm and inviting at the same time.

I booked a 90 minute Signature Massage, and the whole experience could not have been better. From booking to the treatment rooms to the massage - it hit all the marks.

We had several drinks at Branded - this bar is fun, loud and cool with great signature cocktails. On Friday night we ate at Smyth, the onsite restaurant, and wow is all we could say. Great service and the food could not have been better - worth a try even if you are not staying at the hotel. Finally we also had breakfast in-room and in the library. Both experiences were great and so was the food.

Overall we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a fun, cool adult getaway in a town that has a lot of hidden gems to offer those willing to visit!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.