We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cool hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I loved staying at the Iron Horse Hotel. It has very cool "loft" rooms, great design and interesting artwork. The food at Smyth was wonderful, and time spent at the bar, Branded, was fun. Interesting note: I do not ride on two wheels and my best friend is not 4 legged, but I felt at home at the Iron Horse. The staff made me feel like a friend, not a patron- especially bartenders Joe and John.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Bruce C-

Thank you very much for your genuine review. I am very proud to see that the experience you received here at the IHH allowed you to feel comfortable. I will make sure to share you comments with Joe and John. We will all be hoping to see you again very soon.

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theiornhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    165
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
113
563
55
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to the Harley Davidson museum and not much else. It isn't in the greatest location and there is no taxi stand nearby although they respond pretty quickly to a call from the front desk.

The Hotel is cozy and what little food I ate here was very good. Rates were inflated at over $350 per night with a four night minimum stay required due to a large conference in town. This rate was higher than the hotel deserved.

My room was large and comfortable and at normal rates I would stay here again but two complaints: despite leaving a tip on the first day for housekeeping, we had the same dirty glass (tomato ketchup (?) on the inside) for all three days and the second glass was replaced after use without even rinsing it out - two days in a row. Sloppy housekeeping. The second issue is the bed base - the corners are black and protrude into the room and both my companion and I repeatedly banged them with our ankles. Not a good design.

Gym on the fourth floor is small but well equipped. There is a restaurant as well as both an indoor hotel bar and large, pleasant outdoor Yard area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Yelbid-

Thank you for taking the time to review the Iron Horse Hotel. I am proud to see that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. I apologize for the shortcoming that you experienced with housekeeping, I will address this issue with the team to ensure nothing like this happens again in the future. Please contact me directly to discuss the issue further, or if there is anything at all I can assist you with in the future.

Best Regards,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize, Belize
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Iron Horse is a very Hip Urban Boutique Hotel. I was very impressed. I was expecting "standard" boutique hotel, but we got so much more. Valet parking was a breeze. Check in was simple. The staff had a "hip vibe" to them and they even offered us a cocktail. We stayed in a corner view city suite. I wish a had a better word than "hip", but it was very cool with exposed cream city brick, wood beams, exposed spiral duct work. The bathroom was very classically hip (if I had to give a complaint, it would be that there was a rain showerhead and a hand spray, but not a normal showerhead). My wife got a kick out of the "mini-bar" selections like a canister of pure oxygen, "I have a headache" pills etc. I also set up the add on for four Milwaukee Beers and the cheese popcorn. Nicely presented. In the morning, my wife said "I LOVE this bed", she has not said that since being at the Wynn in LV. The furnishings in the room and a whole wall portrait art were really well presented.

We did not have a dog, but the place is dog friendly and my wife liked to say "hi" to the dogs in the incredible outdoor bar area. The outdoor bar area would be reason enough to go to the place, even if we did not love the rest of the hotel. The indoor bar was cool also. We walked to Great Lakes Distillery and enjoyed our time there. Cabs were easy to get for the rest. In past trips to Milwaukee, We have stayed at Hotel Metro (which is great), but there is something about the Iron Horse Hotel that tells me we will be back soon............

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Chad K-

Welcome to Milwaukee and I am glad that you were able to stay with us. I will make sure to share your comments with the team and let them know they were "hip" throughout your visit. I am proud to see that you and your wife were comfortable while you were here. We will be looking forward to your next visit with us and please let me know if there is anything at all I can do to help with that next reservation.

Cheers!

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Liked the first night so much, we stayed a second night. It's a five minute walk to the Harley Davidson Museum (the purpose of our visit to Milwaukee) and a 2 minute cab ride to either the casino or the Third Ward for shopping/restaurants.

For those of you on a motorcycle, they have "sheltered" parking in front of the hotel (no need to worry about your bike) and a bike wash station right there where your bike is parked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ralph A-

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is great that you were able to extend your stay at the hotel for an extra night. We do our best to make sure things are convenient for riders and I am glad that you found these amenities useful. We will be hoping to see you soon.

Safe Travels,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at the Iron Horse while in town for a family wedding and it is a huge cut above as far as hotels go. The building itself if historical and modern at the same time and full of great artifacts. The staff was great, too. We were greeted with a refreshing cocktail and used their courtesy car one night which is a great perk. The room was amazing, too. Large, very comfortable, spacious bathroom, wonderful views and all the high end amenities. It is within walking distance to a great coffee shop, The Third Ward, museums, the river, etc. Great location and fun boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ann C-

Thank you for visiting the Iron Horse and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I hope that everything went well with the family wedding. I am very proud to see that you had a positive experience with us, and I hope that you find some time to visit us again. Please let me know if there is anything at all I can assist with in the future.

Safe Travels,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I went to the Iron Horse for a quick weekend getaway for our first anniversary. I could not have asked for anything more. The staff is welcoming, friendly and helpful. They greet you with a signature cocktail that is delicious (who can complain about that) and the lobby is full of fun artifacts. Great place to hang out. The Corner suite was gorgeous and spotless! The bed was super comfortable. My Husband and I agree that this was by far the nicest hotel room in which we have stayed.

The whole hotel has a sheek historic boutique feel. We ate at the Yard, the hotel's outside bar/ restaurant and the food was fantastic.Wait staff was friendly and helpful in finding local attractions. The hotel is close to restaurants, bars, parks and downtown Milwaukee. Great location!

After our stay, I realized I had left my favorite dress behind in our room. I was devastated! I called the hotel and not only did they find it, they shipped it back to me via FedEx!

We absolutely loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Nikki W-

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend it with us at the Iron Horse Hotel. I am proud that our team was able to make your experience a positive one. It is great news about finding the dress and being able to get it returned to you so quickly. Please let us know if there is anything else we can assist with and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manager
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highwood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I mean, what can you not say about this place? It is really the only place to stay in Milwaukee if you want a hip, vibrant, and upscale stay.

The rooms are spacious, well kept, and they have kept the architecture from the old warehouse that the building was renovated from originally. Exposed beams, brick walls....cool stuff.

The only drawback is that they know they have the best place in Milwaukee....and they price it as such.

Room Tip: Grab one of the corner suites....lots of room, lots of windows...great space to be leisurely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Daniel S-

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the Iron Horse Hotel. I am very proud to see that you had "another" great experience with us. We will be looking forward to your next visit, and please let me know if there is anything I can do to assist with that reservation.

Until Next Time,

Ben Risseeuw
Hotel Manger
brisseeuw@theironhorsehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.