We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Milwaukee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay in Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel. I stayed in it twice. Once with my husband for an anniversary trip, and once with my sister and mother for a girls weekend. It's a nice upscale hotel with friendly staff. Close to Harley Museum. Lots of wood/steel industrial feel that matches the city vibe and nearby Third Ward restaurants. Lots of custom art on the walls and a real cozy feel. Has on-site restaurant, bar, and outdoor patio which is great in the summer. The parking situation is a little bit of a put off. You can park on the street, but if you are there during the week, you need to call the police number (provided by check-in staff) to let them know where your car is so it isn't ticketed. They do have valet, but it's a little pricey at $25/night. But keeping in mind that this is an upscale hotel, so the price may not be so bad if you want to avoid a ticket. The rooms are interesting to look at, and the shower is semi-transparent in the single bed rooms, but that's no secret, they show that on their websites. The hotel is on the train tracks, and our room faced them directly, but we had no noise issues with that whatsoever. Which was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    828
    137
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
91
512
53
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

You are greeted at the door by Professional Valets. There is no parking as far as I know except with the valet. You enter a beautiful lobby with "industrial" scale items including a motorcycle, heavy wooden and steel supported beams, large sofas, chairs, lamps, etc. Nicely Done....there are 3 bars located on the site. One bar in the lobby. One in the in house restaurant and one outside bar. All three are different while remaining the same, they flow nicely from one to the other. The bar staff is knowledgable and friendly. I had a glass of Absinthe and it was properly poured and served with a ice cold Absinthe Fountain...the Harley Davidson Museum is next door and easily walkable, as is a local distillery which makes incredible bourbon....the hotel rooms are large, clean, with fantastic mattresses and pillows. WiFi is in all rooms and works well. The bath was clean, nice towels, and robes....

Room Tip: Go to the top floor, get the cathedral ceilings and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for writing this review! Glad to see you enjoyed so much of Walker's Point while staying with us. Next time consider our "Say Cheese!" package which includes a tour of the Clock Shadow Creamery (supplier of our fabulous cheese curds) or our "Brew City" add-on which includes a tour of Milwaukee Brewing Co. and a custom growler.

Shannon Bussone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel in Milwaukee, WI for the first time this weekend. We were very happy with our stay. The people were ALL excellent, from the valet to the maintenance guy to the breakfast waitress, and everyone in between. Stayed in the the corner master suite which was spacious, well appointed and extremely quiet.

We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Corner was definitely quiet but we saw one of the master suites and that was very nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for giving The Iron Horse a try and we're excited that you'll be back. Let us know when you're coming back in so we can secure one of those Junior Suites for you!

Shannon Bussone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

For the past few years, we've made an annual trip to Milwaukee. The first year that we did this, we chose the Iron Horse more or less randomly. We had an extraordinary experience, and have returned here since. Earlier this month, we spent another week at the Iron Horse. Mark (in Reservations) was very helpful, as he always is--and we had a great room. The Front Desk staff and the Restaurant staff were also uniformly helpful and friendly. Besides the Harley-Davidson Museum, there are many Milwaukee attractions nearby--and, if you're flying in, it's an easy trip to and from the airport. Now that we've been here, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Milwaukee!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Mark is one of our original associates here at The Iron Horse and he's fabulous at what he does. Give him a call before your next visit to make sure every detail is looked after!

Shannon Bussone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is an awesome place to spend time with friends and family! We had several family members stay at the Iron Horse while attending my son's wedding festivities. The place is uniquely beautiful and has a "homey" feeling as well! I had the corner king alcove room which had a good size seating area for guests, and between events, I enjoyed entertaining friends and family in our room. The staff was friendly and accomodating. We had children and grandchildren who had flown in from out of state and out of country, and due to the complexity of getting everyone situated with airport (and sick grandchildren) needed a late check out, and the staff accommodated us with that as well. I will definitely return and recommend this place to anyone! Linda Izquierdo

Room Tip: Rooms are insulated pretty well from outside noise. I was able to comfortably entertain guests with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel to host your guests for your son's wedding. Glad to know we helped enhance everyone's experience during such a memorable weekend!

Shannon Bussone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel for our 10 year anniversary. We were greeted by a friendly and efficient check in and pleased with our top floor room. We noticed some noise from our next door neighbor, but it was still early. As we headed out to eat dinner, we noticed that the room next to us had adorned their door in what looked like bachelorette party type decor, and this was where the noise was coming from. Wishing for a quiet night, we decided to speak to the front desk. The front desk staff right away, without us even asking, upgraded us to a beautiful corner room at no additional cost to us. Wonderful. Our first room was quite nice, but the corner room, wow.......stunning. Anyway, we had a tasty and romantic dinner at the Smyth. The waiter was absolutely outstanding and when he learned that it was our anniversary, he brought out a dessert not on the menu that the chef prepared just for us. That was so thoughtful and really was a great touch to an already superb dinner. We had nothing but great service from everyone at the Iron Horse and plan to visit again for our next anniversary, and this time we'll book a corner room.
Some people mention the train. We were literally right above it and it never bothered either of us a bit.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are lovely and offer the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I love our corner rooms as well; they're big & spacious and offer great views in two directions! Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us and we can't wait to see you next year for your 11th Anniversary!

Shannon Bussone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place as you can tell by a majority of the reviewers is a unique and fun place to stay. Front desk staff was personable and quite professional, and the room was flat out spectacular with a great view of the Harley museum and the skyline beyond. Comfy bed neat decor and at least on the top floor the train was not an issue in the least. Bathroom was huge with a walk in rain shower. We had drinks and apps at the bar and found it to be just awesome. The bartender, Dallas, and "Javier" were fun and conversational. We enjoyed them as much as we did the drinks!
Parking was expensive but better than taking a chance with on street parking. Regardless valet was still cheaper than a tow bill!!
Can not wait to return to Milwaukee and will without a doubt be back here again. Hope to try the restaurant next time. If it is as good as every other facet of the Iron Horse we will love it!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for making us your home away from home! Our specialty cocktails are fabulous and we have some great, new Fall inspired cocktails created by our fabulous F&B team. Hope you're planning a return trip soon to try them!

Shannon Bussone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Amex, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.