We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, very cool place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing stay, very cool place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel caters to motorcyclists - offering covered parking just for bikes, a bike wash station too! On check in, we were all offered drinks (Iced tea & vodka). The rooms were very clean and modern. A fully stocked wet bar with snacks and a variety of drinks! There is a bar in the lobby and it was a great atmosphere to hang out in. I will make it a point to stay here again when I return to the area!!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in seemed to be pretty well insulated - there was music playing outside and we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    180
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
124
603
57
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Absolutely loved everything about this hotel. How can you not love a hotel that offers you a drink at check in and allows dogs? The rooms are gorgeous, the beds are so amazing and don't even get me started on the shower. Definitely recommend this for a couples getaway and I live in Milwaukee!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

As a frequent business traveler to Milwaukee (planning my fall visit) I've stayed at many of the top business properties. A client suggested the Iron Horse several years ago and it's now my automatic choice. The room designs for this former industrial property give it a unique feel. However, it's the great service and multiple places to hang out that really set this hotel apart from all competitors in Milwaukee and most other cities.

The restaurant offers fine dining which merits at least one visit each stay, but it's the breakfast in the library and the casual bites at the bar that really set the Iron Horse apart. With a billiard table and big screens for the game, the dining choices at the bar give a guest a place to spend multiple hours away from the room. The outdoor bar is also nice during good weather days.

The library remains my favorite public room. Comfy seats for reading around the gigantic fireplace give a guest a place to relax outside of the bedroom. My clients particularly enjoyed the attractive library setting for wonderful morning meetings. The health club provides quality equipment.

The only items missing are a swimming pool and a shuttle van but few hotels want you to wander off-premises for alternative dining experiences. Interesting restaurants can be reached via a healthy stroll to the Warehouse District and the Milwaukee Public Market which are less than a mile away. The Harley Davidson Motorcycle Museum is only a quick stroll away and is a must-see.

Lastly, the people that work at the Iron Horse really make the experience special. Whether booking reservations with Mark, or having the doormen give you a head's up when your ride arrives, folks all seem willing to go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Skip the downtown view if the nearby train tracks might cause sleep challenges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerw Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel July 24- July 27. Hotel was the definition of luxury boutique. It was very comfortable, the staff was amazing, the rooms were spectacular. The hotel really not suited for young children. My kids are 18 & 16 so that was not really an issue. The Hotel is a hot night spot more for younger people and those into the motorcycles. Lots of motorcycles which were awesome. Parking was expensive but valet staff was great. Only complaint would be very dark, the lobby and the rooms. The front staff was so friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this one. They had us at check in when they offered a signature cocktail to my husband. The bed was the most comfortable and the linens super soft. The glass floor to ceiling shower was awesome. The exposed brick and funky decorations were great. The whole place looks brand new in modern decorations and cleanliness. The bar The Yard looked great but we didnt have time to stop. We would love to make this a birthday tradition. Perfect romantic get away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We live in nearby Chicago. We drove to Milwaukee to attend a Brewers-Mets game. We stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel for 1 night. I understand why the reviews are overwhelmingly positive. It's a very cool hotel and they make a great sangria! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I were blown away. The attention to details and serving up any guest's needs are just what these people do. From the time we checked in to the time we left we were bathed with great customer service. Breakfast was a delight. Eating in a sunroom of sorts with the natural light was great. Karen and Jason were on their game. We later that evening had cocktails and dinner in the restaurant and again everything was exceptional. He had remembered our names from breakfast and upon walking up to have dinner we were personally greeted and welcomed as we were "A-List" diners. Thanks for making this trip such an awesome experience and treating every guest this way shows just why your hotel is the best in Milwaukee and maybe in the country. We will be back very soon and will share our story with anyone who will listen

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
The staff is what truly makes the hotel wonderful and I appreciate your kind comments about them. Thank you so much and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 52 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.