We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“milwaukees coolest place to stay and play” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“milwaukees coolest place to stay and play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this one. They had us at check in when they offered a signature cocktail to my husband. The bed was the most comfortable and the linens super soft. The glass floor to ceiling shower was awesome. The exposed brick and funky decorations were great. The whole place looks brand new in modern decorations and cleanliness. The bar The Yard looked great but we didnt have time to stop. We would love to make this a birthday tradition. Perfect romantic get away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    158
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
108
536
55
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We live in nearby Chicago. We drove to Milwaukee to attend a Brewers-Mets game. We stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel for 1 night. I understand why the reviews are overwhelmingly positive. It's a very cool hotel and they make a great sangria! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I were blown away. The attention to details and serving up any guest's needs are just what these people do. From the time we checked in to the time we left we were bathed with great customer service. Breakfast was a delight. Eating in a sunroom of sorts with the natural light was great. Karen and Jason were on their game. We later that evening had cocktails and dinner in the restaurant and again everything was exceptional. He had remembered our names from breakfast and upon walking up to have dinner we were personally greeted and welcomed as we were "A-List" diners. Thanks for making this trip such an awesome experience and treating every guest this way shows just why your hotel is the best in Milwaukee and maybe in the country. We will be back very soon and will share our story with anyone who will listen

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
The staff is what truly makes the hotel wonderful and I appreciate your kind comments about them. Thank you so much and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great room, really cool decor. Great outdoor bar and lounge. Outstanding bed and linnens. I'll be back next time MKE calls. The room service is a smidge pricey. About a 10 minute walk or a $5 cab ride to town. the in room coffee maker offers single serve that was super weak. Next time I'll just bring my own coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We hope Milwaukee calls soon so you come and stay with us! Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I fell in love with this place! staff is friendly! you get a complimentary drink when you check in. they are pet friendly which is a plus. the rooms are so clean and spacious! there is a bar and restaurant in the building. All the bath products are from h2o which is a great! The bath room is modern and clean. It is pricey but if you can afford to stay there you definitely should!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I really like the H2O products too. They have such a great scent. Thank you for posting a review and come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I own a Harley motorcycle and had planned to spend part of our vacation going to the Harley Museum in Milwaukee. When I found out the Iron Horse Hotel catered to motorcycle riders, I checked into the price of a room. We found it pricey compared to other hotels, but decided to stay since it was so close to the museum. This hotel is so unique and beautiful! It is upscale, yet cozy. Even though we walked in sweaty from our ride and had tossed hair, we felt welcome. We were able to park the motorcycle right in front of the hotel, which was well lit at night. Our room was large with a king size bed. One wall had a large mural painted and another was exposed brick from the old building. Our only complaint was the shower. There was a rain-shower head and a handheld. I am not a fan of the rain shower and we both felt the handheld needed to be up higher on the wall. We only ate one meal there, which was in their bar. Our waiter was attentive and the food was great. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you decided to stay with us and that you had a great time. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is cozy and tucked away from other hotels. We arrived on a Sunday so we received a mid-week special rate. Also, because it was a Sunday, we were able to park on the street. The Valet workers gave us the phone number for the Milwaukee police to call and let them know we'd be parking on the street that night. We ate dinner out on the patio and it was lovely and the food was great. Our waiter was funny and took good care of us. We stopped in the bar for a drink before heading to our room. The bar was also nice and the bartender was very friendly. The room was very classy and the sheets were wonderfully soft. I would highly recommend this hotel for a great place to stay in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you had such a great time with us. We would very much like to have you back next time you are in Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.