We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeting at the Iron Horse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Pittsburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Meeting at the Iron Horse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I organized a two day meeting at the Iron Horse and everyone had a great time. The hotel is very unique.....and beautiful. The manager, Janine was extremely pleasant and helpful to deal with. My attendees have decided this was a great venue for meetings and plan to use the venue in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Janine has been with for several years and I know when I see her I should be ready to laugh. Thank you so much for mentioning her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    827
    137
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
91
511
53
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife, adult children and I used the past weekend to visit Milwaukee for the first time. The Iron Horse made our getaway a special weekend we will always remember. The staff seemed to always anticipate what we needed. From the wait staff in the restaurant to housekeeping, everyone seemed to have the same goal - make our visit exceptional. An incredible bonus we were stunned to find that the hotel went beyond pet friendly. The Iron Horse pushes the envelope toward pet welcoming. When you arrive your dog's name is on the welcome blackboard to the gift bag (treats, bowls and toys). Also, plenty of comfortable walking space around the hotel. The location is fantastic - easy access to so many attractions (Miller Park, casino, Harley Davidson and Great Lakes Distillery) and plenty of restaurants. We had a fabulous stay. If you have the opportunity, staying at the Iron Horse will elevate your trip to Milwaukee. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Turning this former mattress factory (1907) into a boutique luxury hotel was a great idea and a substantial investment. Wonderful attention to historic detail and creating a unique, biker/pet friendly hotel. One of the things we noticed immediately was the attentiveness of the staff. Always there to help and always helpful. We were there to see the HD museum but the clerk at check-in suggested we go see the Historic Third Ward the night before. Only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and a really nice gentrified part of historic Milwaukee.
One minor complaint: The bathroom did not have any water glasses nor were there any in the sleeping area. Pointed it out to the desk clerk who called housekeeping but no glasses were ever delivered.
This is a good place to splurge if you're normally on a $100 a night budget. (Our room was $300 incl tax)

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
The hotel is beautiful and we do have some outstanding amenities but what truly makes it special are the people that work here. The attentiveness that you experienced is a genuine attribute that we look for when we ask people to join our team. Thank you so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice hotel, it just was not a perfect stay. The location of the hotel is off the beaten path, you have to walk about a half mile through a not very nice area to get to the Public Market. They also require you valet your car, which we were not aware of when we booked the reservation. The room had a leaky toilet, which was fixed immediately when we alerted the front desk. The room was spacious and had lovely exposed brick and high ceilings. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you had anything less than an amazing stay with us and I am equally sorry that we did not point you in the direction of our amazing neighbors. The 5th Ward, where we are located, has 7 of the top 15 restaurants in the city, bars, nightclubs, a distillery and an urban creamery. Should you come back to Milwaukee we would love to show you all of these great places!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Coming to this hotel is like visiting a friend on an upscale ranch in the west. Relaxed and casual but offering a high level of hospitality and accomodations. The hotel is a former mattress factory and it doesn't try to hide that. They have incorporated their prior history into the current building. The hotel is also within a block of the Harley Davidson Museum and they are proud to embrace that heritage as well. Hence, the covered motorcycle parking and a nod to the motorcycle industry in the decor. The neighborhood is, basically, a warehouse district with not too much in the immediate area but, it appears, a safe walk to the Third Ward, downtown and the lake. The Great Lakes Distillery right in front of the hotel that has tastings until midnight. There is a lovely patio area, but it was too early in the season.
You can park on the surrounding streets and the hotel valet will tell you what you need to know about calling the city to advise them of your car location. You can also valet park which is $25 a day and you will see your car within the small parking area of the hotel. This is my only beef with this venue- $25 to valet, basically in the small parking lot right by your hotel in the middle of not too much. But, the pleasant valets that attend to you have to make a living also.
The lobby feels like a huge living room in someone's home- large seating areas, attentive bar staff, welcoming front desk and complimentary margaritas during certain times of the day. There is a lively bar scene with a pool table which appears to be frequented by locals as well as hotel guests. They are pet friendly and have a little chalkboard by the elevator listing their furry four legged guests by name, along with a water bowl and treat bowl. Very cute and welcoming touch.

The room was very spacious with a large bathroom and upscale fixtures. Fixtures include a rain head showerhead and shallow countertop Kohler sink. Totally impractical and would drive you crazy at home, but a little special treat here. Beds were super comfy. They offer a breakfast in the library off the main lobby which was delicious. Did not dine in the hotel restaurant but the menu looked promising. We stayed here twice in April/May and had similar, positive experiences both times. Definitely our go to place in Milwaukee!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a city view, some a river view, etc. If that matters to you, you might inquire whic...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for this amazing review. You have touched on so many things and we can not tell you enough how much we appreciate a review just like yours. Again thank you and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was greeted by super friendly staff! The hotel has a cool and funky vibe! Great inviting and sophisticated lobby in dark woods, leather and Harley on display. My room was large, had fab decor and was immaculate. Bathroom had ample space and ample counter space, lovely robe and superb shower and linens. Two thumbs way up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We do have a pretty unique vibe here at the hotel and we like it that way. We want people from all walks of life stay and play with us. Thank you for the review and please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Iron Horse a few nights recently for a work related event. The hotel is converted from an old factory, and looks fantastic. The lobby, bar, outside bar are all excellent. The rooms are roomy and modern, with great big showers. Service is excellent.

The location is just off the 6th St. viaduct, and across the bridge to the Harley Davidson museum. It is near Walker's Point, and a short trip to the Casino or Miller Park. It is not exactly downtown - which is an important thing to note for travelers who maybe want to walk out the front door and be downtown. It is a fairly short walk or a quick cab ride to get downtown or to the lakefront.

There are a set of train tracks that run close by, but I had absolutely not issues with noise whatsoever. They have done a good job with sound-proofing (plus its and old solid brick building that doesn't hurt, I'm sure).

The hotel was lively and seemed to have good life in the bars...the outside bar is really nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review. The hotel is in an area called the 5th Ward/Walker's Point which is currently undergoing a transformation. Restaurants, breweries, tiki bars, a distillery and even a creamery are all within walking distance of the hotel. Our area has a feel unique to Milwaukee which we are excited about as its only getting better. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Amex, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.