We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and Funky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hip and Funky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Very groovy look to it. Very cool lobby. Freindly and helpful staff. The rooms are off the hook. Lots of room, stocked bar, great shower. My lock didn't work on my room so they worked on it for about 30 minutes, then took care of me for the trouble. I will be back

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! We hope to have you back soon and please reach out if there is anything that we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    150
    28
    12
    9
See reviews for
101
529
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Some good friends had their small, intimate wedding in the Iron Horse's library room. They were able to secure a block rate for friends and family, so we decided to take advantage of the discount and make a romantic weekend out of it. Having adopted a new puppy, we took him along also. What a great experience! The rooms are phenomenal! It's a little trying with a dog, as it's such an urban location (no green potty space very close, but within walking distance). The puppy did acclimate to the elevators, hallways and people in the lobby, though! We had a corner room on the 6th floor. Very quiet, very clean. Room service responded very quickly! The hotel is rather pricy for Milwaukee, but for special occasions, it's well worth the splurge. Expect to pay for valet, tips, drinks (we also brought some snacks and a bottle of our own, but still used the "mini bar") in the room and at the bar, as well as a very expensive (but very, very good) brunch Sunday morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
This is such a wonderful list! You have commented on so many things that I personally feel make The Iron Horse special. Thank you so much and come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW suburb Chicago Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our first time at the Iron Horse Hotel in Milwaukee. It isn't in the downtown area but just a couple blocks from the Harley Davidson Museum. The Iron Horse Hotel is very hip and cool in its design and welcomes not only bikers and dogs but ordinary people like us too!

We were offered complimentary sangria upon check-in, what a nice touch! Next to the elevators is a board announcing guest names by a bowl of clean cool water and a dish of biscuits for the Iron Horse's four legged guests... cute touch.

The lobby invites you to linger and people watch or have a cocktail while visiting with friends or making new friends. The bar is adjacent to the lobby so very easy to grab a drink and get comfy or wander to the "Library" which is a spacious leather furnished room with books and games to entertain all ages.

We dined in the evening at the Smyth restaurant at the hotel. Great cocktails, generous and delicious dining.

The following Sunday we enjoyed the brunch... I mean REALLY enjoyed the brunch! It was a buffet with carved ham and prime roast, omelets, bacon, sausage etc...but what was outstanding was the menu included for guests to order from. Choices included unique and fantastic dishes like; fig biscuits & duck sausage gravy, flannel hash (short rib and corned beef hash with sweet potato, red & golden beets, parsnips & sweet peppers), cranberry & golden raisin bread pudding french toast and the list of selections goes on. I have to remark on the tiramisu pancakes... a stack of 4 mocha pancakes with espresso scented maple syrup and whipped marscapone... REALLY?! yummy, grown up pancakes! You can't go wrong with a Sunday brunch including mimosa's or bloody mary's!!

We totally enjoyed our visit to the Iron Horse and will return on future visits to the Milwaukee area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Iron Horse Hotel. Your extraordinarily kind review was so generous. I will make sure to let our entire staff know about your comments. They truly enjoy hearing from our guests. Hopefully we will see you again. If we do, please don’t hesitate to let me know if you need anything at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved everything about this property. The library, the reasonably priced drinks in the room, the beds, the AC, the location - everything was good.

We DID not like the parking situation which is basically do valet at $25 a day or keep parking the car on the side of the road and get ticketed/towed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were excited about our stay at the Iron Horse based on reviews, but it exceeded our expectations. Everything is meticulously maintained, service everywhere is excellent. We really enjoyed the restaurant and the bar both for food and excellent drinks.
Eric made a great Cosmo! Stayed in a king room and had plenty of space. Almost had one complaint about the lighting being poor in bathroom but discovered dimmer switch after first night. They are tiny, next to power switch.
Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we plan to return next time we visit Milwaukee.

Room Tip: If you stay on a higher floor won't hear train at all. 503 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your kind words and if there is anything that I may do for you on your next visit, do not hesitate to ask. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Iron Horse on May 4th to celebrate our anniversary. They were sold out of King standard rooms, so we booked a Creme City Studio. While the room was unique and very nice, it didn't seem any larger than a standard room. Upon arrival, there was a HUGE Derby party going on that took over the entire main floor of the hotel. I booked this room directly with the hotel just a few days before arrival. It would have been nice to know the scene would be a huge party. Not a good fit for a romantic anniversary trip. Our room only had 1 bath towel in it, and we had to call for more towels. The walls are not very sound proof either Our neighbors woke up early the next morning with another party in their room. We did visit the bar after 9pm. The service was sub-par for such a high-ranking hotel. glasses and beer bottles were left on tables and on bathroom shelves for hours. Both the mens and womens bathrooms were also out of towels all night too. We had turndown service, and they took our soap without leaving a new one. (??) Upon checkout, the clerk asked me how my stay was. I started to explain that we were disappointed, and she quickly changed the subject and disregarded my comments.
Overall, my advise would be to check the special events calendar before booking. Also beware- the service is no better than your average mid-line hotel. Overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Double check events calendar before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Constance Williams-Assistant Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not turn out to be as great of an experience. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continuously improve our service. I am extending an invitation for you to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your recent stay.

Constance Williams
Assistant Front Office Manager
414-831-4608
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A nice and fun hotel. Easy to get to the 3rd Ward for great dining and drink options. The room design is unique with wood beam ceilings and great lighting.
We were disappointed by two things:
•The room we booked was not available when we checked in, based on reviews we had asked for a corner room. Although we did get a $50 credit for taking another room, this was a disappointment to us
•The Yard was not open, it was finally a beautiful warmer day in April. The front desk just stated plainly that it doesn’t open until the end of May. I am guessing she was getting this question a lot that day. It is our fault for not checking when we booked, but we had assumed they would be open.
We did have a drink in the bar and the people watching was fantastic. The bar service was also outstanding. Overall it was a nice get away at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Constance Williams- Assistant Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We apologize that you were unable to stay in the room that you originally booked; as it is never our intentions to cause an inconvenience or disappoint our guests. Furthermore, we also apologize that you didn’t have the opportunity to experience The Yard. Although the weather was nice during your stay with us, we do not open The Yard before an established date to ensure that the service provided will be exceptional. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.