We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Industrial Revival!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Racine, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Industrial Revival!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! We booked the Pfister but at the last minute changed to the Iron Horse. Upon entry you get a great feeling of the history of the building, which melds well with the hip nature of the hotel. Our corner room was large, and overlooked the city. The black slate tile in the room contrasted well with the exposed brick & natural beams. Also, I loved the spa amenities, some of the best we have used.
We had breakfast in the restaurant in the morn. I had the Wisconsin Scramble, which was amazing, check the menu on their website. The Neuskis bacon was the cherry on top. We will definitely be back in the summer when the patio bar, called The Yard, opens.
If you are planning a trip to Milwaukee, and enjoy finer things, the Iron Horse is a best bet.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
The hotel space is a perfect blend of industrial, natural materials and and stylish furnishings. It is such a beautiful building that we are all proud to be a part of. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    842
    141
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
96
518
53
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is nice and refreshing. Ate at the bar early since I was on eastern time. By the time I finished the place was pretty crowded. My only complaint with the rooms would be that they are kind of dark. The lighting is not all that great, but fits with the theme of the hotel. The people at the front desk were polite efficient and pleasant in a very genuine way. Overall this was the nicest hotel I have stayed in during visits to Milwaukee.

They have a 24 hour exercise room. It doesn't have a lot of equipment, but that didn't end up being a problem.

I rarely give 5 stars. This place is close to being a 5 star in my opinion.

Room Tip: I asked to get a room away from the tracks. I could hear and feel the rumble of the trains passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Direct at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Our bar Branded and the Lobby have be come a place to be on the weekends. It is not uncommon for our guests to make friends in Milwaukee by just hanging out downstairs. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your time with us as well and thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I don't normally take the time to review, but I just had to do it for this one. The hotel was great. The rooms were spacious, very clean and upscale. I was there for work and we had conferences in the meeting rooms - the food was great and they were very attentive to our needs. We also held some parties in their rooms - really cool atmosphere. The staff was very helpful. This hotel was first class all the way and I highly recommend it if you are looking for a hip, clean, and inviting atmosphere to stay at - book here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Our bar Branded and the Lobby have be come a place to be on the weekends. It is not uncommon for our guests to make friends in Milwaukee by just hanging out downstairs. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your time with us as well and thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First time at Iron Horse, came up for the weekend from Chicago and found the staff to be warm and inviting. The ambience was trendy and very unique. Have stayed at great boutique hotels all over the country and this tops the list - the use of vintage material, the attention to details - loved every little detail. Will absolutely come back - heard there is another opening in Ohio and will be sure to visit. There was a gorgeous wedding proposal going on the evening we checked in. Irish dancers, bagpipes - I completely understand now why he chose to make this hotel part of his special night.

Room Tip: I am a heavy sleeper and never heard the train that runs right outside the hotel - my husband is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
The proposal that you saw in the Lobby was probably one of the top 5 we had here at the hotel. We are all so lucky to be a part of special moments in people's lives. Thank you for the review and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Drove up from Chicago, valet parking only and it was professional and friendly. Check in was an easy process and the bell staff was efficient with my luggage. The room was spacious, clean and modern with a lovely bathroom (see pictures). I had the corner loft alcove room. Good onsite restaurants and friendly guests, so very harley, loved it! Location was nice, close to downtown and there is a casino near by. Checkout was equally painless. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review. To hear that we left such a great impression on you. To hear that we are one of the best hotels you have experienced is amazing! Thank you so much and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, WI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Simply put ... one of the top hotels I have ever stayed in. When you visit Milwaukee, spend the extra money and treat yourself with a night or two at the Iron Horse Hotel.

Pros:
customer service is 5 star, friendly and helpful, willing to go the extra mile
bar is well stocked with fine "browns" for the sophisticated drinkers
in room dining is better than most sit down restaurants
rooms are unique, genuine warmth, cool decor
free wifi
dog friendly - treats awaiting
beds are just ... great!
cool rain shower feature in the shower, artsy sink
great location - great eateries within one mile (Cafe Benelux)
overall cool vibe

Cons:
I don't live in Milwaukee!

Room Tip: A mile away from Cafe Benelux and right next to the Harley Museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the comments on the amazing staff we have here at the hotel. I can promise you that all of the smiles here are genuine. We hope to have you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is absolutely AMAZING. From the moment you walk in the door you can’t help but forget about everything else! The staff is phenomenal and the service they provide is top notch! Even though we are only a couple hours away, my husband and I “vacation” to Milwaukee just to stay at the Iron Horse. By far my favorite place in all of Wisconsin!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
So many of our guests live very close to the hotel and are looking to have a special night or 2 away without having to go far. We do our best to make sure that they feel like they are on a vacation far from home. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.