We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Milwaukee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chagrin Falls
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife while we attended an event at the Pabst Theater. Even though it's not directly in downtown Milwaukee, it is an easy drive to all parts of the city. Valet parking is $25/night. Loved the smell of the hotel as you walk in the front door. Once you're checked in, you are offered a complimentary drink. We had something called a Jolly Rancher. It was the best drink I've ever had. The lobby and library are nice. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud. The bathrooms are large and the showers are worth the price of the room alone. His and her robes are provided. We ordered room service, which was quick and delicious. Try the pig LT and the Wisconsin beer cheese soup. You will not be disappointed. The staff we came in contact with were good, not great, which was a little disappointing. The hotel was nicer than I anticipated, the service was less than I expected. Overall, the hotel had a cool vibe to it and I would definitely stay there again. We paid $321 for an over night stay on a Saturday. This included a $27 room service bill as well as a $25 parking fee.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for commenting on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed so many different aspects of our hotel. I am sorry that you found the service to be good and not exceptional. Our goal is to be the best at what we do every day and I hope that you should you come back to Milwaukee and stay with us, you will have that experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    159
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
108
536
55
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Iron Horse several times and the service, friendliness of staff and amenities just get better with each trip. We are always in search of interesting, pet-friendly hotels when we travel and the Iron Horse is top-notch in all areas. When we checked in, the client service staffed made sure that we were familiar with the city, knew where to go, what to do and where to eat. We took a restaurant recommendation and were thrilled. Very comfortable, lobby, bar and restaurant. Seldom do we want to hang out in the hotel where we are staying. Milwaukee has wonderful things to see but it is very easy to check into the Iron Horse for the weekend and not leave the property! Floyd (our dog) was as important as we were. All pets I have seen there over several trips are very well behaved and clearly adored members of their families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
It was always the intention for the Iron Horse to be an Urban Resort, where are guests could have everything that they wanted without ever having to leave. I am happy to see that you feel the same way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highwood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Iron Horse is a wonderful property, stunning architecture, plush rooms, upscale bathrooms, and tremendous customer service. Branded bartenders are very attentive, even though it is a very popular spot.

Smyth is a exceptional dining experience. Probably a bit pricey for some tastes, but in comparison to like kind places in Chicago...there should be no sticker shock.

I doubt I will ever stay anywhere else in Milwaukee again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and your kind words about the hotel and our staff. We hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaskum, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I loved my experience at the Iron Horse! My hubby is a huge Harley fan and is a hard working man. I decided to surprise him and take him to the Iron Horse. And was he ever! From the moment we checked in to leaving 2 days later, the service was impeccable. The staff are all
young, attentive and very friendly. We stayed in the cream city room on the 6th floor and
were pleasantly surprised when we entered in. The room was gorgeous, the bed very comfy and the ammenities great. I loved the shower! But one of the best things about the Iron Horse is it's smell! The moment you walk in the front door, it assails you and sets a sexy tone.
GO THERE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
The scent that you smell when you walk into the hotel was specially designed for us. It is called Boutique Noir. Our scent is part of what makes the Iron Horse special along with the design and the outstanding service that our associates deliver every day. Thank you so much for the review and we hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Although my husband and I have been to the Iron Horse many times, this was the first time we rented a room. In the past, we have enjoyed drinks and appetizers on a summer night on their outdoor patio (couches and a "fire wall"). We have brought friends from all over the country to enjoy drinks and/or appetizers at the bar or one of the many lounge areas inside. The interior is so stylish yet comfortable. It is a perfect blend of old and new --so beautiful. As a birthday surprise, I rented a Premium Loft -King Room. The staff was so helpful from reservation to check-in to keeping the surprise. The room was just as stylish as the rest of the hotel. The wall mural was artistic and tasteful, the furnishings were not like your typical hotel room. The combination of cream city brick, leather, wood and metal made for a stunning atmosphere. The walk-in shower had a large shower head as well as one that could be hand held. There was nothing that I did not enjoy about our room. The Iron Horse has impressed us, once again!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly (not the 800#) to speak to someone on-site --they are much more informed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you decided to stay with us for your husband's birthday. We hope that our guests have a great time whether they are staying with us or having cocktails out in the Yard (we are counting down the days until its open). Thank you and we will see in a couple of months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is made for couples. It's one of the coolest hotels we've ever stayed in and we travel a LOT - domestically and abroad. The vodka/lemonade hit the spot at check-in and I ended up two fisted when my sober spouse realized it was not in his best interest to drink it. (My lucky day!) The chic biker-cowboy decor is fabulous with wood beams and floors, exposed brick, animal prints and iron throughout. Happy-hour in the lobby lounge buzzed with energy and the restaurant is among the best in town. Rooms are huge with ample seating, counter space and oh-so-hip walk in showers with a glass wall to the living area. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We all love to hear great reviews from our guests and to receive a review from such a well seasoned traveler is very much appreciated. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an absolutely phenomenal time at this hotel. The nightly rate is a bit high for Milwaukee, but you get exactly what you pay for. The hotel is gorgeous, and it's tucked away just south of the Third Ward. The building itself is an old factory and they renovated to keep every bit of charm. The rooms are spacious and sexy, and the frosted glass shower wall adds a unique touch. The service was outstanding through and through. I contacted the concierge beforehand to make reservations for dinner and let him know that it was a special occasion, and we were greeted at the front desk with a glass of champagne (I think all guests are) and a bottle of champagne in the room.

The bed was extremely comfortable, food at Smyth and Branded was great and well-priced for the quality, and we loved enjoying the afternoon sun on the huge patio (The Yard). We return to Smyth often and stay at the hotel whenever we can think up an excuse.

Sidenote: this hotel is beyond pet-friendly. The offer a special package for dogs that includes a bed, bowls, toys and treats. It's not unusual to see a dog hanging out in the lobby soaking up attention from staff and guests.

Room Tip: Contact the concierge if you're celebrating a special occasion, request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review. Your comments on our showers and our VIPooches were glowing and we appreciate that so much. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.