We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place To Stay! A Must See For Yourself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
port washingotn
1 review
“Best Place To Stay! A Must See For Yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed the night at the Iron Horse to see a concert that was in town. We were blown away with the excellent customer service upon arriving at the hotel. When we checked into our room we were greeted with friendly staff that went above the job spec's and also received a amazing complementary cocktail that we were able to bring to our room. We dined at their restaurant, the Symth, and was the best food I have eaten since I've moved to WI. I'm a very picky eater and from Cali so my husband is always nervous about taking me to restaurants because the food usually doesn't satisfy my pallet. We will defiantly be going back to stay again. My husband liked it so much that he wants to visited there monthly. I'm skeptical about other peoples reviews but I must say all 635 are all true.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor facing the Harley Museum and the view was amazing. You don't hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Smyth is really a wonderful restaurant and we appreciate your kind comments about it. The focus of our chef is on local food and midwest flavors. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    155
    28
    12
    9
See reviews for
102
532
54
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Upton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Do not hesitate to book the Iron Horse Hotel. In a homogenized hotel landscape -- rescue me, please, from the Marriott family of properties -- this creative space is quite the find. The staff is friendly, the food is top-notch, the beer (naturally) is superb, and the special touches abound. And this is before you get to the room.

I won't get into too much detail on the actual accommodations because you will want to spend time yourself enjoying each and every creative detail -- and they are numerous. I will tip off one thing -- I'm a sucker for a rainforest shower.

Was enjoying myself so much that I waited until the last moment to leave and rushed to catch my flight. In doing so, left one of my travel bags in the room. The next day, it arrived at my home via FedEx.

Way to go, Iron Horse. You are No. 1 in Milwaukee for a reason. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We welcome you to our Family and we're glad your made your flight. Thank you for writing such a kind review. Our oversized slate and glass shower rooms will be awaiting your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My daughter who resides in Milwaukee gifted us an overnight stay at the Iron Horse. This was not our first time being there, but it was a first for staying overnight. From the front desk check-in to checking-out the next day, the entire staff was very prompt, attentive, and everyone had pleasing attitudes. The atmosphere and decor is perfect! Relaxed, yet sexy and spohisticated. After our visit to the Harley Museum we went down to the bar for a cocktail and the drinks to the crowd was a great mix of everyone. We were pleasantly surprised at not only the convenient location but also how quiet the area was. Within walking distance to the Harley-Davidson Museum, 2 minute drive to the casino, and minutes from downtown, this is just overall a hotel you would love to go back to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I can not thank you enough for your wonderful comments on the staff here at The Iron Horse. They are the heart of the hotel and a huge part of our success. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our weekend at the Iron Horse exceeded our expectations in every way. Room was ample and stylish. Staff was incredible and attentive. Food and bar were great. It made for a phenomenal weekend in Milwaukee. Can't wait to get back for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments about our hotel! We would love to have you back anytime you are in Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and were so impressed with the decor, upscale biker friendly. We have never experienced a staff so friendly or helpful at any other hotel. The stays are pricey but you are rewarded with impeccable service and amenities. Great hotel restaurant and bar with a hip vibe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our hotel and the people who work hard everyday to create wonderful experiences for all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are originally from Milwaukee but now reside in Chicago. We still have family in the Milwaukee area so we visit often. Whenever possible we stay and book a room at the Iron Horse Hotel.
The hotel has a warm, cozy, inviting atmosphere. The lobby has a rustic/urban feel and we always try to dine our have a cocktail there. The bar is just as welcoming. The Smyth restaurant is delicious and the staff is always well versed with the menu and friendly. Food is excellent. If you have time on a Sunday the brunch is outstanding with a great variety of choices, I always save room for the Tiramisu pancakes.
The rooms are always impeccable and the staff is attentive with housekeeping, as well as valet and front desk.
The Iron Horse accepts pets and they are treated well with a bowl full of treats and personal welcome board with their name.
If you are in the Milwaukee area you must visit, you will not be disappointed. The Iron horse is located near many Milwaukee destination spots such as The Harley Museum, The Milwaukee Public Market as well as the Milwaukee Art Museum.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed all the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for staying with us when you come back to Milwaukee! The tiramisu pancakes on our Route 66 brunch menu are amazing and I am happy to hear you like them as well. We will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange Park, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The atmosphere is so relaxing. Whether it be in the lobby, bar, library or your room the Iron Horse gets the gold medal for comfort, cleanliness and oustanding customer service. From the valets, to the wait staff, to the front desk reps you become tired of seeing everyone smile the entire time of your stay. There is warmth in this hotel and also an old world vibrance. If in Milwaukee check it out. Your always made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I have to admit that I laughed when I read your comment about being tired of seeing everyone smile. Thank you so much for the review and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.