We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-rated boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top-rated boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We live in Milwaukee, but really enjoyed a weekend at the Iron Horse. We had a corner room with lots of windows on two sides of the room - worth the extra money. Quiet, romantic, spotless. The room was unique and very well-decorated - with great atmosphere. Loved the shower - we're very tall and enjoyed the rain shower and other shower features. Comfortable beds and we enjoyed room service. The public spaces in the hotel are really cool! Near the Harley-Davidson Museum. I recommend the Iron Horse to friends and business associates visiting Milwaukee. One of the top-rated boutique hotels in the U.S.

Room Tip: Highly recommend corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Iron Horse Hotel. We very much appreciate your kind posting. I will pass on to our entire staff your review. If you ever need anything in a future stay please don’t hesitate to ask. We can help with what ever you need. Thanks again and have a wonderful weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    848
    142
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
99
519
53
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel has been one of my favorites since it opened... From the start it was a fun place to stay... Decore is great... Rooms large with great baths./ See thru Showers?.. Bar and Resturant very cool.. Love the Patron on the counter in the room ........What else can you say

Room Tip: It is best not to face the city since there is a frain track next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us while you are in Milwaukee! We appreciate the time our guests take to share their experiences with others. Thank you and we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel and each time has been fantastic. Everything from the decor to the friendliness and very helpful staff (if you need other downtown arrangements) made the weekend fly by. Although I haven't had a chance to dine at the Smyth, the Branded was an awesome place to hang out and have a few drinks. Looking forward to my next stay Thanx Iron Horse !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us again and for taking the time to write this great review! I hope that next time you stay with us you will have the opportunity to check out Smyth. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved the hotel! Although I was there for a Harley function and appreciated all the motorcycle features, one does not need to be a motorcycle buff to appreciate it. The lobby staff were very pleasant to deal with, as were the restaurant and bar staff. I LOVED the room - very different, high ceiling and SUPER comfy bed! (see photos) They sure did hire a fantastic designer - the lobby, library, restaurant and bar are done up SO well.

I rated the location as very good as my functions were primarily in the Harley museum. Others may find the location less than ideal.

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper and was fortuante to be on the front hotel entrance side, not the side with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay with us. You are absolutely right in saying that you do not have to be a motorcycle buff to appreciate the hotel. If you should ever have to come back to Milwaukee for another Harley Event or just for a visit, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Wow! We flew in from the Caymans after 9pm and stayed here overnight. What a cool and reasonably priced hotel. The bar scene was hopping and made us forget we left tropical breezes for sub-zero ones. The room we had reminded me of a loft style condo. Fully stocked bar, snacks, and extras!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us when it is a bit warmer out! I promise if you liked our bar, Branded, you will love our outdoor patio, The Yard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the arty decor to the exposed brick and beam of this converted warehouse to the flawless service and the lavish rooms this is every bit as good as reviews suggest. A funky, trendy hotel that makes a business trip memorable but does all the basic hotel stuff very well. Lovely rooms, great service, good food from a nice restaurant and a pretty awesome range of local beers in the excellent bar, this is a place I'd happily return to at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: floor 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you had a good time with us. If we can provide an enviornment where people have fun even when they are staying here for work, then we are doing our job. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

For my husband's birthday, I surprised him with a trip to Milwaukee, staying at the Iron Horse. Although the location is not ideal, the hotel itself is beautiful and interesting. It is by far the most luxurious hotel in Milwaukee--we have stayed at most of the well reviewed hotels in downtown Milwaukee, and I can say without a doubt that this is a step above. The lobby is gorgeous, and worth a trip in itself. The food is great. The room is unique, comfortable, and artistic without being kitschy. And, the main selling point for me: the bathrooms are extravagant, bathrobes included! - Anna (Tim S's wife)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for this great review! I hope that your husband had just a great of a time as you did for his birthday. We would love to have you back and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please feel free to reach out to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.