We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the arty decor to the exposed brick and beam of this converted warehouse to the flawless service and the lavish rooms this is every bit as good as reviews suggest. A funky, trendy hotel that makes a business trip memorable but does all the basic hotel stuff very well. Lovely rooms, great service, good food from a nice restaurant and a pretty awesome range of local beers in the excellent bar, this is a place I'd happily return to at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: floor 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you had a good time with us. If we can provide an enviornment where people have fun even when they are staying here for work, then we are doing our job. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    172
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
115
576
56
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

For my husband's birthday, I surprised him with a trip to Milwaukee, staying at the Iron Horse. Although the location is not ideal, the hotel itself is beautiful and interesting. It is by far the most luxurious hotel in Milwaukee--we have stayed at most of the well reviewed hotels in downtown Milwaukee, and I can say without a doubt that this is a step above. The lobby is gorgeous, and worth a trip in itself. The food is great. The room is unique, comfortable, and artistic without being kitschy. And, the main selling point for me: the bathrooms are extravagant, bathrobes included! - Anna (Tim S's wife)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for this great review! I hope that your husband had just a great of a time as you did for his birthday. We would love to have you back and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please feel free to reach out to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Since my daughter and husband lived in Milwaukee, we have been able to enjoy this hotel when we go to visit. We love the uniqueness of it. The industrial look coupled with the "Harley" theme is so well done. The staff has always been pleasant and helpful. Love the rooms,the decor, the amenities, the earplugs in case you are not a train lover. (My husband and I personally find the train sounds comforting). The food is good, better than most, with some thoughtful prep. The only bad thing is my daughter moved to Denver! Now we will have to find an equally comfortable place in Denver.b

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are very grateful that you have chosen to spend your time with us for all of your trips to Milwaukee. We wish your daughter all of the best in Denver and if you should return to Milwaukee for any reason, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I realize my overall score does not correlate with the rest of my ratings. Here is why...we thought we were in for a "special" experience with our first trip to the Iron Horse hotel...the place is really uniquely and neatly decorated, and it has a great bar/restaurant/lobby scene with a very welcoming staff. The rooms are really nice too, but there is one serious problem that ended up ruining our stay. The rooms (at least on the 6th floor) must have paper thin walls. We heard EVERYTHING from the room next to us. Everything! From every word on their television program, every fart (seriously) and sneeze, to every personal request during their intimate sessions (yes, plural and I am still being serious). I actually don't think they were being unusually loud most of the time, but it sounded like they were in the room with us. We did have to call down and ask the staff to request them to turn their tv down after they passed out, which the staff did without hesitation. I am actually quite surprised that there are not more negative reviews detailing this problem. We are well traveled and have stayed in many nice hotels and many not so nice hotels, but these were the thinnest walls we have ever come across. Too bad that such a cool place overlooked such an important detail.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you encountered issues while you were with us. If you have time I would very much like to speak with you in regards to your stay. My email is jvalona@theironhorsehotel.com. I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Amazing vibe, amazing crowd, great location, best service I've ever received in a hotel. Best to valet park. Everything is nearby, including the casino. This is not a chain hotel, and completely unexpected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It is wonderful hear that you had an amazing time while you were with us! We would all love to have you back the next time you come to Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and i chose the iron horse to celibrate our 20th wedding anniversary. It was everything we had hoped it would be. The staff was very professional polite and cool as could be. Bartender was a packer fan but he was cool enough we didn't hold it againt him. Great food-better than most. Didn't mind the 25 dollars for parking either. The room was super cool too! We will definately be back only next time with the harley!! Thanks to all the staff at the iron horse for making our anniversary something special!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Congratulations on your 20th anniversary and thank you for spending such a momentus occasion with us! It is such an honor that you chose to spend that time with us. Thank you and we can't wait to see your bikes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Iron Horse is my favorite hotel in Milwaukee and among my favorites worldwide. Everything about the hotel is thoughtful...from the front desk staff offering a complimentary cocktail upon check-in, the overall interior design with lots of leather and industrial accents to the perfectly appropriate amenities in the room.

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to see us while you are in Milwaukee. It is so great to hear that our guests come back and have just as great of an experience as they did before. Please let us know if there is anything that we may help you with next time you come to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.