We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique hotel... like Hotel Monaco (I've stayed in 4 different ones)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Neenah
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A boutique hotel... like Hotel Monaco (I've stayed in 4 different ones)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If I could, I would have provided a rating of 3.5. Lets begin with the team. They were all perfect - from the time we called to make a reservation to check out. Well done! During our stay, the hotel was really lively, so if you like that the Iron Horse is for you. I'm not saying that is a bad thing. It reminded me of Hotel Monaco during their wine hour in the afternoon. And like Hotel Monaco, The Iron Horse is pet friendly and they list the names of the pets that are staying. We encountered two issues. One was a wedding part that made a huge amount of noise at 2AM. Not the hotels fault - I'm sure they hate this as well. Customers know there could be issues, so its how an organization deals with it that really matters. The staff took $100 off our room for the inconvenience. They also apologized. Apologies go a long way and I'm always surprised when one isn't offered. The second issue was an unclean toilet upon check in (and I mean unclean without getting into details). Our room was nice, very loftish, but you could hear toilets flushing from other rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was excellent. You can't park your car yourself and parking is $25 so keep that in mind. In summary, I recommend the Iron Horse Hotel for business or pleasure. Staff... keep up the excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am so sorry to hear about the issues that you had with your stay but I am so happy to hear that our wonderful associates did such a great job making it right. I hope that you will stay with us again and see how we are truly a five star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    170
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
115
568
56
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisc0
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Overall, the Iron Horse Hotel is very nice. There are, however, a couple things that I would've appreciated knowing prior to staying there. They may not apply to everyone. The shower is lovely, rainhead overhead fixture and a hand held as well. The issue is that in order to turn either of them on, you need to be in the shower. The doors of the shower are glass on both sides which are lovely, however, you enter through an opening on the opposite side of the faucets. So there's no way to avoid getting soaked with cold water. Additionally, because the floor has a slight slope to it, the water gathers in the back half of the shower and doesn't drain. Again as you exit the shower when finished you're walking through a puddle of cold water.

Room service is very uneven. Service is reasonably prompt, and the menu is great, however, the presentation is lacking. The soft drink I ordered with dinner was served in a can; no ice, no glass. For a $50 burger and salad, I want a glass. For breakfast, same kind of lack of attention to detail. At this type of hotel, I want real cream or milk for the coffee not disposable containers of pseudo creamer, and I want a spoon to stir the coffee, not a plastic straw. I'd like butter to be room termperature and in a container, not foil wrapped packets.

On the plus side, the staff is super helpful, attentive, and friendly. The decor of the hotel is killer, and the rooms are comfortable, spacious, all the technological goodies. I never heard a train or any other noise; I was on the top floor in a king deluxe room.

For a one night stay of $350, I would've expected an experience more along the lines of the high end Park Hyatt or Hyatt Grand, or JW Marriott -- as it was, I'd go back when I return to Milwaukee, though I don't feel as revved up about the hotel as most reviewers. Perhaps I'm just picky!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I have already passed along your comments to our Food and Beverage team so they can look at how to improve the overall In Room Dining experience. Constructive comments such as yours go a long way in helping us improve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

As soon as you walk in, the rich dark interior welcomes you. The lobby is eclectic with gears, pallet tables and velvet chairs. We were offered a Strawberry Margarita upon checking in. The comfort extends to the rooms. Large shower with extra large rain shower and thick terry cloth robes. Because of some train tracks, ear plugs were provided but I only heard one train early Sunday morning and if I wasn't already awake, I never would have heard it. Smart Sexy hotel, we will definitely come back.We enjoyed the Sunday brunch-it was one of the best brunches we have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Our Route 66 Brunch is really one of the most unique brunches I have come across. The tiramisu pancakes are amazing! I am happy to hear you enjoyed it along with the rest of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the Iron horse for a few nights this summer. Really cool place with unusual decor in the rooms. The murals on the walls are really something. the rooms reminds me of a New York city loft. Location is great just over the bridge from the Harley Davidson Museum. Parking is free if you are on your motorcycle. The hotel is very classy catering to the business man and at the same time the biker. I recommend this hotel anytime you stay in Milwaukee

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. The murals in the room are one of a kind and I love how they celebrate the women of Milwaukee. Should you come back to Milwaukee we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

There are too many cool details about this hotel to list them all, from the valet bike parking to the vintage Harley's in the lobby all the way to the sexy room key cards. We had a blast at this place celebrating our anniversary while working on the road. We talk about it all the time and can't wait for another excuse to go stay. Our room was perfect and the next day we spent a great day working downstairs in the library and later over in the bar. I was relieve and very pleased to find that they have excellent options for cyber-commuting. The staff were outstanding. They took great care of us from beginning to end and even offered to bring our lunch to us where we were working. It really was the perfect hotel stay.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Wireless connections have become a necessity and we recognize that. That is why we offer wireless at no charge to all of our guests who stay with us or are just looking to get some work done in a laid back, stylish enviornment. Thank you for the review and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can tell you many wonderful things about the Iron Horse. How the rooms are uber comfy, how the service is phenomenal and the food delicious. But what I really want to tell you about is Dan the Man. The best cocktail slinger West of the Mississippi. I wish I could pack him up in ny luggage and take him home. Thank you, Dan. You truly are The Man.

Room Tip: 4th floor rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for telling the TripAdvisor world about Dan. He has been with us a very long time and is a great guy to work with. I made sure to tell him about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a phenomenal experience at this hotel. The attention to detail - from logo clothes hooks in the room to the decor of the lobby and bar - was impressive. The staff was outstanding - going out of their way to make our stay one of the most enjoyable hotel experiences ever. Congratulations to the Iron Horse!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I love the hooks that we have. They are all custom made and you can find them throughout the hotel and in our rooms. What is really great about them is that they were designed to hold 90 pounds, sturdy enough to support even the heaviest of leathers. Thank you for the review and we will hopefully have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.