We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-mazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Iron Horse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204 (Walker's Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
1 review
“A-mazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel was beautiful and so worth the money! Go online and sign up for the iron horse free desire club and you will get a discount as well. When I checked in they brought a complementary drink up to my room, and were so nice our entire stay! Very sheik, modern and comfortable place, I would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    158
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
107
536
55
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

This place truly is an all around great experience. Friendly and eager staff (not to mention darn good-looking!), a fantastic bar and restaurant, great atmosphere, and perfect music constantly playing in the background. The rooms were clean and well appointed. And the artwork; everywhere you look. It's like a mini museum, without the stuffiness! Eclectic, open-minded, fun. Treat yourself to a stay at The Iron Horse. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. It truly sounds like you enjoyed your experience. Of note, the art currently on display is from one of our own staff members, Chad Edwards. I will pass on your words to Chad and everyone else.

Thank you for staying with us. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you. Have a wonderful week.

Thank you,
Jason Ilstrup
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

stayed here in Sept last year already and was amazed. Great rooms, great restaurant, bar etc. However the service this time was a bit down. Room not as clean and the roomkeeper must have had a bad day, as many things were not as they were supposed to. Overall still a great place that I will always select for my stays in Milwaukee if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us again. I’m sorry to hear that your recent stay was not to the level of your expectations. Our Housekeeping Department takes pride in its high standards. However we did not meet our expectations therefore I will be working with the department to ensure consistency. We very much appreciate both your repeated business and the review. Hopefully we will see you again soon. If I can be of further assistance in any matter please let me know. Have a wonderful spring.

Thank you,
Jason Ilstrup
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

The Iron Horse Hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Milwaukee for a Brewers - Cubs Game. The rooms are amazing and very unique to any average hotel. The Hotel has a great lobby, bar, and restaurant. We visited the Milwaukee Brewing Company before the game and with your tour you receive a token for a free beer a choice of local bars. http://www.milwaukeebrewingco.com We visited Steny's because we were told by the hotel concierge they offered a complimentary shuttle to and from the game. The hotel is located in a great area with a local feel of Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Iron Horse. It sounds like you also took pleasure in everything great about Milwaukee. Please let us know how we can make your next trip to Milwaukee even better. We sincerely appreciate all of your kind and sincere comments.

Thank you,
The Iron Horse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suamico, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Awesome rooms with a mixed vintage and modern decor. High quality tile, bathroom fixtures/showers, and accents throughout. Very friendly staff, especially the historic information from James, Ruth and Kathlyn. Easy access to Harley Davidson Museum. Only thing that we didn't enjoy was the $25.00 parking fee, but staff informed us that they lease their lot from someone else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Outstanding Hotel... Superior Hotel Staff & Service, Fabulous high celing large rooms that are decorated so comfortably , clean and new. Great Beds and Bedding. Loved the hugh shower heads in the Bathrooms. the food in Library(great Omlettes), Branded(Yummy Burgers & you have tro try the Cheese Soup!) & Smyth (fabulous Filet Minon & Sea Bass..great drinks & wine list too!) was exceptional..The room service food was excellent as well (we had breakfast in-room dining..great coffee!) I cant say enough about the staff, from the Doorman to the Manager...Never in all my travels have i come across a more dedicated, freindly & helpful Hotel Staff! Ever single one of them were absolutly outstanding in thier postions at the Iron Horse Hotel.Love the homey, sexy, & chic feel of the place... I cant wait to go back! http://www.theironhorsehotel.com

Room Tip: ask for the Bridge side for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, General Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, restaurant, and bar. I will ensure that your comments are passed to our Executive Chef, Jason Gorman, and the culinary team. We also appreciate your comments about our design and staff. We hope to be able able to serve you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Our stay at the Iron Horse Hotel was just lovely! The staff was wonderful, food was great, and rooms were suave. I am encouraging all my family and friends to stay here.

The decor around the hotel has a refreshing unique style that you don't see everywhere. It's great!

I was also happily surprised to see that you could bring dogs. Next time we come we will be bringing Max and Boney Mahony (they will love the hotel as well).

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, General Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We would love to accommodate Max and Boney . We love dogs of all sizes at The Iron Horse. We appreciate your comments on our staff, food, and guestrooms and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.