We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harley-Davidson Museum

Harley-Davidson Museum
400 W. Canal St., At the corner of 6th and Canal, Milwaukee, WI
+1 877-436-8738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 90 attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Harley-Davidson motorcycles bring heart-thumping adventure, life-changing freedom and a bit of rebellion into the lives of people around the world. But whether you were born to be wild - or mild - makes no difference at the Harley-Davidson Museum in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Much more than a nostalgia trip for motorcycle enthusiasts, the Museum offers a glimpse of American history and culture like you've never seen before - through the successes and trials of an iconic American company. Interactive, eye-catching exhibits present an unparalleled collection of legendary stories of our nation's last century. Located on 20 acres in downtown Milwaukee, the Museum offers free parking, Motor Bary & Restaurant, Cafe Racer, The Shop, park-like outdoor spaces, special event rentals, guided tours for group of 15 or more, and Steel Toe Tours of the Powertrain Operations, home of the big-twin engine.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We took our two Grandson's ages 9 and 7 to this and thought (prior to getting there) that they might be bored. They gave the kids paper and a clue book and sent them on a scavenger hunt which totally kept them interested. The collection of bikes, clothing, toys and the history in this place was unbelievable! The interactive displays were great too.
The building(s) are works of art.
I will go back again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    208
    29
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really cool place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Awesome collection and history of Harley-Davidson! I would recommend getting the audio part of the tour, hubby got it and I did not, I found trying to listen to his and it would have worked better if I got my own. Very cool place would recommend to anyone going to the Milwaukee area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A True Sense of Belonging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Educational, Historical, and Inspiring. I am a 23 yr old female Harley fan and owner, and I loved this. I am not super into the mechanics of bikes. I'm the sterotypical female in general: nails, hair, and shopping who just so happens to ride a motorcylce. But this blew my mind! All the old and restored bikes, the popculture connection, the Serial One bike, etc. There was even a new exhibit of a bike that was washed up on the shores of Western Canada in 2012 from the Tsunami in Japan in 2011... Breath taking.
I brought my boyfriend who is a Mexican native, but has lived here for the better part of his life. He said, "I've never felt more American."
There were people of all ages, sexes, races, and creeds. If you haven't been there, I suggest you go. I'm sad that I've grown up in the area and this was my first trip. I will be stopping by more often to check out the new exhibits.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing collection of motorcycles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A must see for anyone interested in motorcycles, even if you don't own an HD. From 1903 till today almost every bike produced by HD is on display with many anecdotes about the firm, the production and the evolution of motorcycling over the years.
The place is suitable for the whole family. Children will love to seat on real bikes. The visit takes 3-6 hrs and we really enjoyed it.
The gift shop is very disappointing, little choice; most HD dealerships have a larger inventory of apparels and other stuff branded HD.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, il
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome visit, interesting, cool, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Visit gift shop! Motor Bar 1st visit was really good, this time bad service at bar. But museum is very interesting even if you don't have a bike.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harley-Davidson Museum also viewed

 

Been to Harley-Davidson Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harley-Davidson Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harley-Davidson Museum to your Saves list