We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harley-Davidson Museum

Harley-Davidson Museum
400 W. Canal St., At the corner of 6th and Canal, Milwaukee, WI
+1 877-436-8738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 96 Attractions in Milwaukee
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harley-Davidson motorcycles bring heart-thumping adventure, life-changing freedom and a bit of rebellion into the lives of people around the world. But whether you were born to be wild - or mild - makes no difference at the Harley-Davidson Museum in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Much more than a nostalgia trip for motorcycle enthusiasts, the Museum offers a glimpse of American history and culture like you've never seen before - through the successes and trials of an iconic American company. Interactive, eye-catching exhibits present an unparalleled collection of legendary stories of our nation's last century. Located on 20 acres in downtown Milwaukee, the Museum offers free parking, Motor Bary & Restaurant, Cafe Racer, The Shop, park-like outdoor spaces, special event rentals, guided tours for group of 15 or more, and Steel Toe Tours of the Powertrain Operations, home of the big-twin engine.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went there with my family.
Nobody in my family drives a motorcycle.

But after the tour / visit - I could see it happen.
The place is very nicely layer out.
We enjoyed the savager hunt. The kids were all very engaged.

Thanks H-D!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    250
    39
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For motorcycle lovers and novices alike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have visited the museum twice, both times with family visiting Milwaukee. The architecture of the museum buildings and landscaping is very well done. It feels modern, industrial, and in the vibe of the Harley Davidson brand. The exhibits are interactive, and they do a great job of balancing a history lesson with motorcycle eye candy. One of my favorite parts is the exhibit where you can hear sound clips of their signature Harley Davidson engines.
This is a great visit for both kids and adults, motorcycle enthusiasts and curious visitors.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Barrington, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HOG Wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

For biker fans, this is the place to see. Great history info. From the beginning of the company, WWI & WWII, police bikes, speedy delivery machines, bikes from every year, specialty bikes & designs, everything you'd live to see & experience. Plus two restaurants, gift shop, &. Great view. Our 2nd time here & plan on returning in the summer to enjoy the outdoor settings too. Love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

A peace of great american motorcycle history! A MUST visit if you are close! I really enjoyed the 2,5 hour visit i was here! To bad they closed, could have spend a couple of more hours here;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Amazing collection of Harleys, from the very first one, very entertaining. Tuesdays for $10 dollars, a great plan. The audiotour was not really worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harley-Davidson Museum also viewed

 

Been to Harley-Davidson Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harley-Davidson Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.