We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sobelman's Pub & Grill

Sobelman's Pub & Grill
1900 W. Saint Paul Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
414-931-1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,431 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Got a nibble of the slider on the Bloody Mary and could not wait to order a full burger. There were 4 of us and we sat at the bar. The bartenders name was Jeff, he was attentive and entertaining. The burgers arrived and my husband just quit talking and devoured the "Piggy Back". I had he "The Bomb" and was equally pleased. We will be back to try another burger!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    74
    31
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So long Sobelmans!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've been to Sobelmans twice. Neither time impressed us much. We've had various burgers. And while they have multiple options for burgers, the bottom line is the meat is very, very bland. It's almost tasteless unless you add multiple ingredients to flavor it up. As for service - both times we had incorrect orders (how do you get a cheeseburger with fried onions wrong?). Plus both times our bill was wrong! I can not recommend Sobelmans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Bloody good time here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited on Memorial day, the place was packed with a line out the door. We requested to sit at bar, immediate seating, wow. Ordered the obligatory giant bloody mary with a slider, husband had screwdriver, Bloody Mary was a hoot, worth the trip to see, really, a tiny bit on peppery side but great flavor (slurp) screwdriver nice and fresh. Food: Sobelmans burger and double burger, both came with fresh cut fries. This place cranks out the food, and I mean service with a smile. EVERY employee was polite and courteous and FRIENDLY. I don't know how they kept the attitude up with a packed house all day but they did. This bar is a lot of fun to go to and we really had a great time here. It was expensive but it is like a three ring circus in this place, there is a lot going on and great peep watching. Is it the best burger? No, but it is pretty darn good and a great time. Highly recommend stopping in to enjoy this neighborhood bar and grill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

LOVED this place!! We were in town for a couple of days celebrating our 26th anniversary. Reviews were mixed so we were a bit unsure about going there, but glad we did! It's in an easy-to-get to location with a quaint steep hill parking lot. It was so nice we decided to sit outside at a small wrought iron table. (The tables with bar stools were a bit awkward to sit and eat it, as they're at the same height.) We ordered the Bloody Masterpiece Bloody Marys (including one virgin with a rootbeer chaser) and they were all they were touted to be and very good! Had a GREAT waiter named Brian (otherwise known as "Guy") with charisma and a wonderful sense of humor who helped make the visit even more memorable. Food was delicious and priced very reasonably. My husband had the B.O.M.B. and I had a patty melt, both with fries. We will DEFINITELY be back again when we're in the area!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Bloody Mary's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Was at Sobelman's last night and tried the bloody mary. A meal in inself. Loved the fact it included a slider burger along with shrimp, meat stick, asparagus, olive, pickle, celery and more!!! So much on it no one in our group of 6 wanted anything else to eat--we will have to go back and try the burgers!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sobelman's Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sobelman's Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sobelman's Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.