We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service Trumps All!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service Trumps All!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Service was outstanding. Everyone there really wanted to make my stay enjoyable and accommodate as well as they could. Had a King bed suite so I could work in one room. Had breakfast twice downstairs and the food was very good. Enjoyed the cocktails at Blu (although I would stick with the Hummus over the sub-par cheese). Room was excellent, quiet, and easily climate controlled.

Room Tip: Many people like the tower. I was in the main part of the hotel. Old classic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I truly thank you for your comments regarding the positive experience you had at The Pfister Hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests – most especially those who take the time to express kind words about our property and our associates.

We are proud of the Pfister’s magnificent building, but most proud of our associates who make a commitment to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences for all of our guests. We strive to be “People Pleasers” and are very happy you have recognized our efforts. .

We are honored you selected The Pfister Hotel when visiting Milwaukee and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
431
45
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Pfister is truly a luxury hotel. The rooms, even in the older part of the hotel, are well maintained and the beds extremely comfortable! it is expensive, but worth the treat once in awhile. The view from the Blu Room and the pool is amazing!! We love having breakfast in the sunny Café off the lobby. If you visit, plan on spending time checking out the great Victorian artworks throughout the hotel. The location is great. We hopped a shuttle right out front that took us to Miller stadium for a baseball game. We "discovered" Bastille Days, a great festival with amazing food that celebrates all things French. It was only two blocks north of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view. Unfortunately we did not and were stuck with a room overlooking ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Welcome back to Milwaukee! We're glad you were able to experience all the City has to offer, including Bastille Days. Our pool view on the 23rd floor is certainly one of a kind. Thank you for sharing your comments.

We hope to welcome you back to The Pfister very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was there for a conference. The hotel is beautiful, ceiling to floor, especially the older part of the hotel. Staff was very courteous. Perfect location to walk to many local attractions. Very historical hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't want a view, the older part of the hotel have rooms that are more spacious and fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The Pfister's 120+ year history is truly something to experience. I hope you had time during your conference to experience all the amenities and see our beautiful city by the Lake!

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am completing out raged on how i was treated by this hotel. Me and my fiance were coming to stay at this hotel one night and was tested with so much disrespect. We didn't even stay our night and still was charged when we were told we wouldn't be. When talk to the general manger he didn't do anything about this matter. We were not refunded nor compensated all we were offered was a discounted rate to stay and after the way we were treated we do not plan on ever staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pfister Hotel! We took in a concert with friends at the nearby Riverside Theater. Enjoyed shopping and dinner in the nearby Third Ward area.

Our room was beautiful and the concierge lounge was amazing! Beautiful views of the lakefront and tasty snacks and drinks.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about The Pfister Hotel. I'm happy you enjoyed our beautiful views and amenities from the Club Lounge on the 23rd floor.

We hope to welcome you back to the Pfister again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Without question, Milwaukee's finest hotel is The Pfister. Located in the heart of the city ,it provides all the amenities of the newest places but with a classic, old world feel. The staff is top notch and are there to serve. Located about 6 blocks from the Summerfest grounds, it is the perfect place to stay when attending the world's largest 11 day music festival. Most of the main stage acts stay at the hotel, and this year, met the Milwaukee Bucks first round draft choice Jabari Parker there as well. After a full day and night of partying, go swimming the next morning up on the 23rd floor, where you overlook the city and try to remember what you did the night before. My guests and I will be back in 2015

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in one of the rooms in the "older, 8 story tower". Bigger, roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the positive experience you had at The Pfister Hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests – most especially those who take the time to express kind words about our property and our associates.

We are honored you selected The Pfister Hotel during your annual visit to Summerfest. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Got in at 6pm after a long flight and quickly seen to at check-in. I was informed they had given me a complimentary upgrade - great I thought. Then they asked if I would like to sit in the foyer as they were still getting the room ready! I took my original booking.
Rooms are comfortable with all the usual requirements expected for an hotel of this quality.Free wi-fi which worked well was a big plus. Room looked into the centre atrium of the hotel.
Breakfast was at the cafe on the ground floor but my pet hate with American hotels - ONLY order off the menu and no self service. Hate this as I usually want to grab something quick before a meeting but also control my own portion size.
However, I would stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.