We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel with wonderful service! The people are friendly, courteous and caring. Our breakfast was delightful, delicious and relaxing. It is hard to truly appreciate all the fine art that surrounds you. We were visiting with our daughter who is applying for a fellowship so we were happy to relax in such rich surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    764
    189
    48
    22
    11
See reviews for
209
400
42
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were at Hotel Pfister for our anniversary what a great place to stay the history and quality of years gone by well preserved . The entire staff is amazing and the service was great such a comradely of the people of the Pfister almost like a family . The Mason restaurant had a great menu the food was outstanding as well as the service. We will return for another visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be quite comfortable it is less costly during the week as far as rates .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winneconne, Wisconsin
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Attended a play at the Marcus Center and stayed overnight in the original section of the hotel. The room was charming, very clean. Bathroom was updated. We were offered an upgrade to the Tower section, but preferred to experience the old world character of the original hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watseka, Illinois
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We try to stay at the Pfister whenever we are in Milwaukee. We love its old-school charm and decor. It has a classic, elegant feel that's getting tougher and tougher to find. The staff is always friendly and the dining is always fantastic. Luxury like this should cost more (but I'm glad it doesn't!).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had our daughter's wedding at The Pfister Hotel on Feb. 1st 2012. Although it was a small wedding, the entire staff went out their way to make sure everything was perfect. I was very impressed. I travel frequently and I was pleasantly surprised at how well this hotel compared to other higher end and historic hotels in the US and Europe.

The 7th Floor of the hotel is for meetings and the ballrooms. It is very elegant with large restrooms, perfect for bridal touch-ups!

Our suite on the 6th floor was beautiful. We had a separate bedroom area, very large bathroom, and separate living room. The room was very clean, furnishings were great. I thought the price was extremely reasonable too.

The wedding dinner was in The Wine Room which is a separate dining room in the Mason St. Grill. The wedding was a bilingual ceremony (English/Spanish) and our servers were both bilingual also. This helped our guests from South America feel really comfortable. We had 12 oz Filet Mignon, Herb Crumbed Sea Bass, and a chicken dish. Everyone agreed the food, drinks and service were excellent!

After dinner, we spent the evening in Blu on the 23rd Floor. Gorgeous views of Milwaukee and the Harbor. Great music! They had a very diverse selection of wines, beer, and cocktails.
Loved my chocolate martini!

I live in Milwaukee and I would definitely stop in for Happy Hour, or dine in the Mason Street Grill, and stay again at this hotel for a downtown night out. I highly recommend for meetings and weddings too.

Room Tip: If you shop around you can find great rates on this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

LOVED our time at the Pfister Hotel for our first night as husband and wife. We stayed in the Heritage Suite and it was beyond amazing!
The bathroom was gorgeous and the entire room/hotel was very elegant!
We were welcomed with chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne.
We visited the Blu Lounge, it was nice, but overcrowded and the bartenders were too busy to provide great service. No problem though, we went down to the lobby bar and that was wonderful.
We enjoyed breakfast at the Cafe the next morning which was delicious. Their Bloody Mary's were great and my crab cakes eggs benedict was amazing!
We plan to spend many anniversaries at the Pfister because our experience was that awesome!

Room Tip: THe Heritage Suite was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Attended a reception at the Pfister Hotel and decided to spend the night. Stayed in the original section of the Hotel and loved it. The history of the hotel and accommodations are fantastic. Had upgraded the stay to include breakfast Sunday morning. This was a delight. The danish pastries are simply awesome. Parked in the ramp which is adjacent to the hotel. This was a great bargain for $159.00.

By the way, the reception which we had attended had 580 guests. The service and food were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.