We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best location ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love this hotel. Rooms are nice. Everything met my expectations and the staff is very courteous and helpful. I booked on Hotwire and got a great price too :) love the location. Blu bar was not my style. More of an older crowd but the view is cool.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    181
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
197
381
42
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel must have been the nicest in town for years, but it has seen better days. The service is impeccable and the rooms comfortable, but the carpet is worn, wallpaper faded and the furniture could use refinishing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oelwein, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Phister and it was absolutely great. The wedding couple said that the Phister was very easy to work with and made their special day, well, special! Mason Street Grill had a great Jazz Funk Band playing on Friday night, the martinis were excellent, and the appetizers were very good. Upstairs on the 23 floor resides Blu, a lounge that has awesome views of Milwaukee and also has great drinks and appetizers. All in all, the Phister is one of our favorite hotels to stay in combing old world charm and old fashioned great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We are incredibly lucky and privileged to be host to many special occasions. Its special for us all and we feel so a part of the occasion.

We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you go to MIlwaukee you have to experience the Pfister. The staff is amazing and the hotel is gorgeous. Very quaint historical hotel. It is close to the Third Ward which has great shopping and dining. Close to Lake Michigan. We walked everywhere. Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Wow!! What an amazing title and review. Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went here 2 or 3 times for my husband's work xmas party. The hotel has a very historic feel to it, but is very clean. The food is awesome and the rooms are on the larger size. One time we even went when the baltimore ravens and cleveland cavaliers were staying here! Never had a bad experience here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good service and friendly staff. Walking distance to some main attractions and good restaurants. Hotel restaurants and bar are also good choices. 20 minutes away is a quaint town, Cedarsburg, that would be an enjoyable morning or afternoon.

Room Tip: 2109 in the tower had a city and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I'm a regular at the WELL Spa which is located in the historic Pfister Hotel in downtown Milwaukee The other day I went to get my monthly massage which happened to be on my birthday. I was greeted by the wonderful Roxy, as always, then told the manager, Liz, wanted to give me a free upgrade to celebrate my birthday and an extra one for my sister who was with me that night.
Then I go down to the waiting room area and Lisa comes out with cake and champagne.
I have never felt so loved and special. They went out of their way and capped off an already great night.
The WELL Spa is a very relaxing, affordable and zen atmosphere ... if you haven't been you should!
Katie

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.