We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Richmond, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at The Pfister on September 4th and truly enjoyed it. It is a lovely grand old hotel with beautiful historic architecture, while providing modern up to date amenities. All of the staff from the front desk, doormen and wait staff were very professional, courteous and accommodating. We had heard many great comments about the Pfister and were not disappointed. Our tower view king room provided a beautiful view of Lake Michigan and was very nicely appointed. My only minor complaint would be that they charge for Wi-Fi, which given the price for the accommodations should have been included.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    187
    48
    22
    11
See reviews for
209
397
42
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recently planned a getaway for my son's 13th birthday. My idea was a "night out on the town" or as close as I could get at 13! When making the reservation with the Pfister staff I told them the reason for our stay and they immediately jumped into action to help make his birthday memorable. I spoke with the concierge who scoured the city for things to do, places to see, festivals, etc. Over a few weeks, I received several calls about how to make my sons day special! I am amazed at the extra attention we have received and we haven't even stayed yet! If you are planning an event, party, trip, whatever this is the place for you! No wondering about what there is to do or see!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Only stayed here 1 night, but was impressed by

- Staff, professional and courteous throughout
- Lobby, historical and painted ceilings...drinks in the lobby bar were great. Good people watching, saw a few celebrities/ball players
- Location, there's not a lot going on in Milwaukee but when there is this is the place to stay

The rooms were fine

Room Tip: new tower has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel goes above and beyond to help you with your stay. I recommend getting the turn down service at night so you can get their chocolates. We stayed in a King suite and everything was spotless and spacious we couldn't of asked for anything better. The room service was amazing try out the club level for appetizers at night you will not be disappointed.

The only down fall is that on a couple of rooms on the 6th floor you can hear them on the 7th floor kitchen getting ready for banquets. They said they plan on putting in sound proof flooring in the future. This will be a good investment for them because you can hear everything up there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the best hotel in the city. Great location, great rooms. Its a bit pricey but worth every penny because the hotel has so much history and personality. We love it and make a point to stay every year.

The front desk is so helpful and everyone knows so much of the history of the hotel. Our bellboy told us all sorts of fun facts on the way to our room.

Rooms are impressive, they carry the personality of the hotel through to them. It's so nice not have just a generic hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Had to go to Milwaukee for a business trip on my wife's birthday. To make up for it I invited her to join me promising her a great old historic hotel and a great time. I must say the Pfister did not dissapoint on either count. Great room, fantastic service, and more importantly, my wife absolutely loved it!
If you want an old world hotel in the heart of the city that harkens a time long lost by most hotels today I would HIGHLY recommend the Pfister!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois, USA
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

One of America treasures, a real "painted lady" from years gone by, old world charm, service
and apparent passion for excellence. I recommend staying in the older original section with
real hand made wooded doors, antique brass, old world craftmenship not seen anywhere else,
and guess what...???... Your wake up call is not an automated tape recorder, it's a real live
human being welcoming you in the new day. Very comfortable lobby bar with great piano
player, hand painted ceiling in the lobby reminds me of the Sistine Chapel, Michaelangelo with
a hit of de Vinci. This place is a real piece of elegant turn of the century history when life was
Grand !

Room Tip: I prefer the old orginal section for it's warmth and charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.