We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at the Pfister” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience at the Pfister”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed two nights. Lovely hotel, great character - the rooms were excellent, location great for access to lakefront and restaurants. The staff were excellent, welcoming and friendly. We upgraded to a club room and were absolutely delighted with the service, we would definitely recommend the Pfister and will certainly stay again. JC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Your kind words about our staff and hotel are well received. We are so glad that you found comfort in the hotel and hope that your trip to Milwaukee was full of fond memories. If you find yourself in our neck of the woods soon we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    763
    188
    48
    22
    11
See reviews for
209
398
42
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

WE got a great deal and doubled down with an upgrade which included a suite, parking, dinner/happy hour and breakfast. Thanks to Amber Garr at the front desk for inviting us to the upgrade - it was worth every cent! And the very nice young lady helping serve breakfast took great care of us...even got us some cocktail sauce from the dining room for our kielbasa!
Although we didn't have time on this trip for a Bloody Mary in the lobby bar, they're the best!
Only 10 minutes to State Fair - and what a great time we had!
Thanks Pfister!

Room Tip: Travelocity came through
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
No, thank you!! We are so glad that you all had such a wonderful time, and thank you so much for taking the time to share about it!! The state fair a special time of year and we truly hope to see you all again for it next year. Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Pfister is on the register of Historic Hotels and for good reason. I would highly recommend this hotel for a true travel experience. And the city of Milwaukee has so much to offer. THis hotel is located close to many major attractions - Third Ward; Riverside dining; Pabst Theatre; fabulous restaurants, Museum of Art and the fabulous Lake Michigan shoreline.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much!! The title alone is something that we strive for. But again thank you for choosing the Pfister and for taking the time to share about your experience. This is truly a historic gem and offers so much, particularly the service. We hope to see you again.

Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful old hotel with everything you need to be comfortable. The staff was gracious and accommodating. Loved the location and don't miss the art museum as well as enjoying the fabulous art in the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Pfister as well as taking the time to share about your experience. Most people may not know but the Pfister is home to the largest privately owned victorian art collection!! Which is fitting just being blocks from the Milwaukee Art Museum and being such a piece history itself. But as you mentioned it really is the people here that make the difference. Again thank you and we hope to see you again.

Best Wishes and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What can we say? This hotel never disappoints. It's a four start that operates like a 5 star. Place this hotel in NYC - you'd be paying easily, $600/night. But why am I telling you this - we don't want too many people to "discover" it. Its beauty and grandeur is enough to lure us back each year - but the hotel staff, including the fabulous concierge staff, make us feel like we have come home. What's in Milwaukee - try their great art museum, fabulous walking paths along Lake Michigan, fine dining....and a great place to start a week's vacation in Door County - what we do each year.
Hats off to the Pfister. Other hotels could certainly learn from you. We love every aspect of this hotel, which only seems to get better each year.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor with a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I dont know if you remember me; however i have had the pleasure to meet you during your last couple visits. For starters thank you so much for sharing about your experiences with us. Its beyond gratifying. And secondly we truly always look forward to your return. You all have become a member of the Pfister family and its so great to welcome you back each year. Again thank you so much and we will see you next year!!

Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Upon entering the hotel, you are met by very friendly staff in a beautiful, stylish reception. We stayed in a king club room and found the room clean, well equipped and spacious.

Food in the hotel was excellent and I strongly recommend paying the extra for access to the club lounge. This provides complimentary food and drink in the evening and breakfast, all whilst overlooking Lake Michigan from the 23 rd floor. Next door to the club lounge is the Blu Bar. This is a very stylish cocktail bar that offers the best views over the city and Lake Michigan.

Overall, this was an excellent stay. Had the hotel been a little cooler in temperature, I would have awarded 5 stars.

Room Tip: Choose a club room as they are on the 20-22 floor and offer the best views whist being away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experience with us!! Our club level and lounge is still a new endeavor and we are beyond thrilled at how well it has been received. We truly hope to see you again and again thank you so very much.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the doormen to the housekeeping, everything was great. They went the extra mile to dry my daughters clothes after her niece split a Mimosa on them. Snacks and champagne in the bridal salon for my daughter's wedding party. Beautiful hair and make done for the girls and the moms in the salon. A very relaxing massage for my daughter and her sister in the spa, the morning of the wedding. Lots of people going in and out of our suite through out the day, everyone was welcome. The front desk was very accommodating with room keys and bringing people up to our floor. This is a perfect hotel for those special moments in your life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Wow!! Thank you so much!! Such an amazing post and we thank you enough for taking the time to share about your experience. After all these years its still so humbling to be a part of such special moments in people lives. Its so amazing that everything went so beautifully for you and your family!!

We truly hope to see you all again and we thank you so much!!

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;