We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$179 Club Room Free Wifi
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our annual visit to The Pfister was almost a bust. This year our plans were overshadowed by a large annual meeting taking place the same days we planned our trip. Thanks to Omar at The Pfister. He worked his magic just days before our arrival and found us a room at the hotel. I'm so grateful. We have been staying at this top notch hotel for 10 years and have never had a bad visit. The staff is wonderful, The Blu is a great place to start out an evening out on the town. The spa is a great place to start the day in the AM. This year we took in a ballgame and the professional team was staying at our hotel. WOW. See you next year...

Room Tip: Love the double double suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. It was our pleasure to have you back again! We love to see familiar faces returning to the hotel. Glad to hear you took advantage of all the amenities the hotel has to offer. We are already looking forward to your return! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    219
    58
    26
    17
See reviews for
240
462
49
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent customer service- so friendly and eager to help. 24-hour room service with delivery under 30 mins. Beautiful room and AMAZING rooftop lounge- a must see!! Drink prices are also pretty reasonable considering how nice the lounge is. The view is seriously incredible!

You can easily walk down Water Street where all the bars are and down to the lake- great central, downtown location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel. We take pride in living our motto, "people pleasing people" every day and thank you for your compliments! We would love to see you back really soon!

P.S. We agree- the views from Blu really are incredible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose the Pfister because of its location and reputation as a fine old hotel. We agreed to a room rate of $249/night for a single king room. However, added taxes ($37.60) and a $25/night parking fee ran the price to over $300/night. We had an inside room on the 4th floor in the older section with no view. The room was dark and cold. There was a cold snap in Milwaukee that week and the heat was inoperative. As a result, we had to wear the supplied robes in bed to keep warm at night. The room was clean and the desk personnel were courteous. We had to wait until after 3:00 one day before our room was made up. All in all a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pleasur ride from Chicago for the 2 day Art studio open house and German Fiesta. The the Third Market district is excellent short stroll from the hotel and it is packed with all forms of art studios, crafts, glassware. Plenty of restaurants ad beer choices to choose from.

The German Fiesta is Milwaukee's largest outdoor fiesta at the Lakefront. Worth going to "once" because u can only eat so much food and listen to so much "oompah " music.

Room Tip: Save money and park across the open lot rather than the hotel. It is only $10/ nite (3) rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pfister during your recent trip to Milwaukee. As there are many events going on in the city, we are happy our central location made it easy to navigate to German Fest and the art studio open house. We hope you got to enjoy our Artist in Residence gallery and the paintings in the hotel as we do have the largest Victorian art collection of any hotel! We would love to have you back really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 2 fabulous nights at the Pfister and didn't want for anything. The staff are wonderful and charming. The hotel is old world and and gorgeous. The Pfister alone is worth a trip to Milwaukee, but don't miss everything the city has to offer. Unfortunately, when visiting the hotel you may not want to leave . . . . . The hotel has it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you! And thank you for choosing to stay at the Pfister during your trip to Milwaukee! We are so happy you enjoyed the 120 years of history and character adding to the old world ambiance. With all of the amenities, restaurants, and bars for you to enjoy, we wouldn't want you to leave either! We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here for a conference in July 2013. Amazing hotel, with spacious and clean accommodations, friendly staff, and central location. The conference facilities, including business center to print things was perfect for the small (about 200 people) conference. For you runners out there, it is conveniently located to the lake front, which has a gorgeous run/bike path stretching thought park upon park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the conference and accommodations. If personal or business travels ever bring you back to Milwaukee, we would love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful at every turn. The concierge has a delightful personality and a wealth of knowledge about the history of the hotel. He made our stay very pleasant and regaled us with stories of celebrities such as Elvis, Madeline Monroe and all the U.S. Presidents who have stayed there.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the front of the hotel. There was a street festival going on and the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your experience and for choosing the Pfister!! Our concierge is truly one of the many treasures here at the Pfister and I know that I can speak on his behalf when I say we will be awaiting your return. Again thank you best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.