We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel - must stay if in Milwaukee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grand old hotel - must stay if in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A fabulously old hotel with wonderful staff and perfect amenities. We visited on a Sunday and Monday to have a look at Marquette for our high school kids and see what else MKE had to offer. We intentionally went while Summerfest was on its 2 day break. This might account for the deeply discounted room rate we got from an online booking site.

We stayed in the older section of the hotel on the east side of the building. Sounds like the west side might be a little loud due to alley deliveries and traffic. Room was great - two double beds in separate bedroom, with a fold out sofa in the sitting room. We had free wifi, but that might have come along with the Club Pfister passes purchased. Next stay, we'll get a room in the tower.

Make sure to sit in the lobby bar and have a drink or two and just take in the surroundings. Stroll around the 2nd floor and look at the historical displays and pictures there. Definitely ask about the Pfister Club on the 23rd floor - cost was $40 a day ($30 was for in-and-out parking in the garage), includes continental breakfast and happy hour in the evening - hot and cold buffet and free drinks - for us and our 3 kids - it's worth it for the view alone!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 406. If staying in the older section, ask for higher floor and on the east side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
431
45
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We reserved our room as a couple and decided to book the best one in the hotel - the grand heritage. I had a new job, so there was some extra money and we felt like spending some of it - a celebration, as it were. We arrived there at 5:00pm, although we were booked to check in at 3. The staff said our room was not ready, and we had to wait until 5:30 to get our room key. Because of the inconvenience, they gave us a $100 gift card to room service, mason st. grill, blu. The room was incredible. Yes, pricey, but worth the money. They even gave us free champagne and sorbet! Absolutely beautiful - except for the view. For the best room in the hotel, the view was not pleasant. So, we kept the curtains closed, stayed in our own private mansion, and ordered room service with our gift card. Both of us had a wonderful stay. My only wish is that we could have stayed for at least one more day. We will be coming back to the pfister again, no doubt about it!

Room Tip: The historic rooms are beautiful and worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport, ia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed for one night to take in Imagine Dragons at the sumerfest, so we hardly had time to take advantage of all the ammenities the hotel offered. Still we were quite impressed. The lobby was palacial and awe-inspriring. Our room was a two-room suite in the historic section of the hotel and was spacious, well-decorated, comfortable, quiet, well-appointed, functional, and had the old-world charm we'd been hoping for. The staff was very helpful with logistics, recommending routes and methods of travel for our journeys in the down town area. Particularly helpful was Roc. As we were leaving, he offered his services for a personalized tour of the facility, interlacing locations with the history each conveyed. Every president since McKinley has stayed here along with performers from the summerfest, Margaret Thatcher, and many others. That tour alone was worth the price of the room. The entire staff seemed genuinely pleased to be working here. Thanks Roc, and thanks to the staff of the Pfister for a world-class hotel in the Midwest that you can all be proud of.

Room Tip: hard to go wrong with a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My stay at the Pfister was awesome from check in to check out! Stay in a tower room and visit the Blu bar on the 23rd floor. I also experienced excellent customer service from front desk staff,lobby bar, and lobby restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you staying with us during your visit to Milwaukee! While the historic side of the hotel offers character, the tower side offers great views of the city... as well as being close to Blu! Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, we thrive to always maintain excellent customer service. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My Fiance and I had gone for a wedding and both of us were impressed with the staff, friendly and courteous. The location is within walking distance to many places to eat or go out which was nice but it was a treat to watch a storm roll in while having drinks at the roof top lounge Blue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your knd response and taking the time to share about your experience. We're sorry the wather couldnt ahve been a little nicer, but so gld to ehar you enjoyed everything just the same!! We hope to see you again. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We attended a wedding and it was wonderful The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. we would recommend or stay there again. The building is beautiful, full of history. It is in a good location in town, so you can walk to many areas to tour. It would be cool to be there when the time box is opened. Overall it was a great time!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much!! We are so glad you chose to stay with us, and more importantly, had such an enjoyable experience. And we know the feelin about the time capsule!! Itd pretty amazing to be here for the opening of it, but at least we've all gotten to play a smart part in the wonderful history of the hotel. We truly ohpe to see you again soon. Best Wishes and Safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is truly one of the last bastions of classic beauty, maybe overdone but never the less a great image from the past. Tourists in t-shirts and shorts certainly should feel uncomfortable in this environment and give the architecture and design some respect.
However in most cases, and unfortunately, the beauty is skin deep. I was greeted by a doorman chewing gum with a "howdy". Oklahoma? Texas? road side inn? that would have been fine but...
I was greeted by a very nice grandmotherly cocktail waitress that had good service manners but the rest of the staff in the lounge was talking to each other about personal matters adding distraction to an otherwise pretty lobby. The next evening I had a cocktail at the bar and had to ask for the complimentary snack since I did not automatically receive it. The restaurant serving dinner is lovely but the service robotic and impersonal. The food is very good in most cases. Several appetizers we had were very good except the home cured salmon that was "swimming" in oil. Breakfast in this hotel is a non event and it is portrayed in a coffe shop style environment and style. It is over priced and under delivers.
I went in and out of the hotel and seldom anyone wished me well or asked me if they could do anything for me
I approached the desk while two employees were chatting later that evening and waited for them to stop so I could ask few pertinent questions. I felt as I was interrupting their conversation.
I do like going back in time to an era of forgotten finesse and exquisite design but only if the service follows me in this journey. I do not mind paying over 200 per night, but I also want value.

Room Tip: Higher elevation will give you less noise from the street traffic Ask for firmer pillows if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.