We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for business!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
NH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic for business!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying for two nights at the Pfister while speaking at a conference being held there. It was an incredible experience. Every single person was polite, friendly, happy, and helpful! Seriously -every single person! No request was ignored or treated like an inconvenience. The food was great and room service was excellent. The conference rooms were also very nicely set up -great for speaking! My only regret was that I didn't have time more time to enjoy the other amenities this hotel has to offer! I would definitely go back to the Pfister.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
WE so appreciate your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience. Its so thrilling to hear when the amazing staff that we have makes such a phenomenal impact on someones stay. They really are what makes the difference. We look forward to welcoming you back and wish you safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    198
    50
    23
    14
See reviews for
223
419
45
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The Pfister certainly is grand. What a cool old place... The hallways alone could be used as taxiways at an airport.
I checked in on Monday to a beautiful corner room with huge windows and a marble bath. Everything was clean, I found nothing that made me uncomfortable. Staff was always friendly and helpful. While staying I ate at the Mason Street Grill three times (embarrassing I know) but the food was always delicious and so close. I also ate at the Cafe which was wonderful.
Location wise, for my trip, I give it 4 stars only because it was a little long of a walk to/from the Delta Center multiple times a day but at the same time the street behind the Pfister has awesome rating options so that evens it out.
I will certainly return the next time I am in Milwaukee. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your experience with us!! We are beyond thrilled that you not only enjoyed your experience at the Pfister but in Milwaukee as well. The Pfister and the city look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes and safe travels!!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is our second visit to the Pfister. Our second visit just confirmed our original perception that it is a truly great hotel. Service was perfect. The room was large and had really comfortable beds. View from one of the tower rooms really beautiful. Breakfast offered with the club package delicious and hearty. Wonderful teas as well. The lobby is really beautiful in the old style. Music played in the bar. Although the decoration is "old style", lots of wood and chandeliers, etc., the room amenities are all up to date and the rooms, both in the old section and the tower, were spotless. The location, right downtown, is great for getting to all the sights. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Wow!! thank you so much!! the recommendation to another is truly amongst the best complements we could ever receive. A true reflection of the hard work and warm and genuine nature of this beautiful hotel. And we are thrilled you were able to try our new club lounge. its something that we are very excited about and more so that people are enjoying more than could have hoped. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My view is that the hotel borders on gaudy, yet business travelers I was with were relieved not to be staying at another characterless chain hotel.

My room in the round tower was amply sized with a nice view. The place seemed dated though, such as a threadbare chair and other signs of wear. One of the fluorescent bulbs was flickering and making noise. When I left the room, I turned off everything except for that one so that housekeeping would notice. They didn't fix it.

- Breakfast at the cafe was edible but nothing more.
- Interactions with hotel staff were mixed--certainly no worse than average hotel experience.
- The art in the room was the same as in the lobby bathroom.
- The room has mirrored closet doors from the 70s/80s.
- Fitness center was fine, although someone told me it was crowded in early morning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We came to Milwaukee to celebrate my husband's class reunion from Medical College of Wisconsin. I loved this hotel 40 years ago, but love it even more now. Everyone from the time we checked in, until we left was top notched.
The reception for all the classes, and the dinner was superb. the lounge in the lobby was more than gracious when we kept adding tables as classmates wanted a chance to catch up with old friends
Thank you for an awesome weekend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you all for allowing us to host such a special occasion and thank you so much for sharing about your experience here. It was really great having the group here this past weekend and we hope to host many more. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely 111 year-old hotel in the heart of historic Milwaukee. The lobby has grand style and wonderful conversation areas. The rooms are spacious and the maid service is fast and fine. Front desk staff and concierge are first rate and knowledgeable. Great arts district.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experience with us!! As well as your very kind words. The Pfister is a truly charming and unique place, with equally as such team behind it. We truly hope to see you again and wish you safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I just returned from a one-night stay. Enjoyed the beautiful lobby and nice touches in
the room, such as a lighted shaving mirror. But was most impressed by the
excellent service from everyone: front desk, bellman, room service, even the cafe
counter servers. This is so unusual as to be remarkable. Good job, whoever
is in charge of setting standards and training!

Room Tip: Tower rooms have more old fashioned charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We cant thank you enough for such an amazing post. It truly is what we strive for and hope people are able to experience every time they are here. The people here are truly truly what makes the Pfister so special. Again we thank you and hope to see you again. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.