We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Old World Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely 111 year-old hotel in the heart of historic Milwaukee. The lobby has grand style and wonderful conversation areas. The rooms are spacious and the maid service is fast and fine. Front desk staff and concierge are first rate and knowledgeable. Great arts district.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experience with us!! As well as your very kind words. The Pfister is a truly charming and unique place, with equally as such team behind it. We truly hope to see you again and wish you safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    735
    182
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
199
384
42
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I just returned from a one-night stay. Enjoyed the beautiful lobby and nice touches in
the room, such as a lighted shaving mirror. But was most impressed by the
excellent service from everyone: front desk, bellman, room service, even the cafe
counter servers. This is so unusual as to be remarkable. Good job, whoever
is in charge of setting standards and training!

Room Tip: Tower rooms have more old fashioned charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We cant thank you enough for such an amazing post. It truly is what we strive for and hope people are able to experience every time they are here. The people here are truly truly what makes the Pfister so special. Again we thank you and hope to see you again. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new berlin wi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary, and wanted a special night. We had a wonderful experience at the Pfister! The staff was outstanding! I told the guest check-in clerk that it was our 25th, and they gave us a suite upgrade at no extra cost. I also told the man I wanted to order a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room when we got back from dinner, and he said that he already had taken care of it. We stopped in the Blu lounge on the 23rd fl. and it was an awesome view. The waitress asked how long we were staying, and my wife told her it was our 25th, and she brought us a plate of chocolate covered strawberries as big as baseballs, and told us to enjoy "on her". We certainly didn't expect something for nothing, but they really made us feel special. We are simple hard working people that were treated like royalty for a night. What an experience and a great memory. Thanks Pfister!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you Daniel!! And you are so right!! We definitely have the best views in the city. Not only from our rooms but Blu lounge as well. We are very blessed with such a great facility, but even more so with the amazing team. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank Yo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Pfister for a conference and had a room with a lake view. Great location and close to bars and restaurants. The Blu Room on the 23rd floor was a great place to end the evening with amazing views of the city and lake. Plenty of amenities in their spas, restaurants and bars to keep you entertained. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barneveld, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for a work event and it was my first time there, though I've heard how great it is from others. It is absolutely BEAUTIFUL! The architecture is amazing....worth a peek in the lobby even if you aren't staying there. The staff was helpful, quick and courteous. The room was well-appointed and extremely comfortable. I ordered room service and the food was amazing. I spent some time in the lobby bar and had great service and drinks. Had a really great experience!

Room Tip: There are some great rooms with downtown city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words and choosing the Pfister!! WE too are so excited that you were able finally stay with us, and being not far away, we truly hope to see you again soon. Again thank you and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My nephew's wedding was at the Pfister Hotel. It was an amazing experience. Everything from rooms, lobby, spa, fitness center was wonderful. Being that we have a special needs child, we truly appreciated the kind and friendly staff. Everyone was wonderful. We highly recommend it for a family event or just a stay to discover Milwaukee. Our first time there and much to explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your experience!! We are thrilled you chose to stay with us and had such a wonderful time. And ive said it once, and ill say it a million more times, the staff here are truly what makes this such a special please. Again we thank you for choosing the Pfister and for publicly acknowledging the amazing Pfister family.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had an awesome stay. They take care of all your needs. Very clean and the staff is professional and friendly. The hotel is in a great location. I strongly recommend this hotel. This is a beautiful hotel with wonderful restaurant and cafe/bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Pfister and for taking the time to share about your experience. We are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable time and were able to enjoy so many facets of the hotel. We truly hope that you will come vist us again. Best wishes and safe travles.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.