We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in style and class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Staying in style and class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Awesome hotel, you won't be disappointed here!! We stayed here for an on site wedding, everything was spectacular. The food, service, attention to detail. Staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. Make sure and get an upgrade for a Lake Michigan view, make sure and get upstairs to Blu, a bar with a fantastic view of the lake. The in room catering was awesome, pool staff great with grandkids. Security was as good as any big city hotel I've been to. Directions were excellent and location is great for anything downtown!

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and amazing review!! We are so glad you were able to enjoy so many facets of the hotel and particularly experience the amazing gneuine hospiltality the staff here provides. We truly hope you are able to return to Milwaukee and visit us again as well. Thank you again and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    187
    48
    22
    11
See reviews for
209
397
42
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Outstanding customer service. Excellent food. Their Bloody Mary's are dinner in a drink! We have never seen a drink loaded with so many goodies. The room was nice, updated nd comfortable. I have only one complaint and it is the pillows used. Now, in fairness, I am picky about pillows. These were small for a king size bed and went flat quickly. We also were not crazy about the key system in the elevator which seemed a bit haphazard. The important part of our stay was perfect and we would return once again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Wow!! Thank you so much. Its an enormous honor to recieve a word such as perfect. Definitley something we strive for and hope to achieve. We are so glad you had such an enjoyable experience. And we also thank you for your suggestions. throgh our guests voice is the only way we can improve. Again thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We make the Pfister a destination at least 2x a year.
A great, central location, outstanding service and amenities on site.
A Pool with a view, a Club with one too!
Some little things popped up on this last visit, the only reason it does not get 5 stars.
Online bookings leave something to be desired, a few items normally in the room were missing, spa staff seemed too busy to talk about reservations. One other disappointment--they have no idea if this is my 100th stay or my 1st. I asked the front desk why they asked if it was my first visit. They had no online record of my previous stays. When I stay at the Peninsula--anywhere in the world--they know everything, right down to my cocktails of choice! In fact I am welcomed with same, and some chocolate dipped strawberries as a repeat client! Something for Marcus Corp to pay attention to. The downtown luxury hotel market is about to gain an additional 26% more rooms with the opening of an upscale Marriot later this summer and the newly opened and more moderately priced Hilton. Little things will make a difference.
Overall, the above are nit picks --Pfister is a great place deserving of it's reputation

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
David S thank you so mcuh for sharing about your exprience and your kind words. We are always striving to improve and as you indicated its all in the details. And when you return please feel free to contact me directly. I would love to make sure that we are able to personally and best assit you in your process as well as building a guest profile. Again thank you and safe travles.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at The Pfister last weekend for our anniversary and could not have enjoyed ourselves more than we did. From check in to check out the service and genuine care of all the employees for their customers was evident. We were asked at check in what brought us here to Milwaukee and we said we were here for our anniversary the front desk send a hand written note and a bottle of champaign, what a class act! Can't say enough good things about the Well Spa. We booked a couples massage, our first messages, and we could not have been made more comfotable during our time their. Really enjoyed ending our days with a night cap in the looby lounge. Visited Blu one evening and it was OK, but preferred the looby lounge. A phenomenal stay that I'm sure will bring us back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Wow!! Thank you thank you!! We are so excited and humbled we were able to be a host during such a special occasion. We would be thrilled to have you and your bride return and hopefully make this an anual vist. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My third stay at the Pfister for an event is coming up next week. I'm looking forward to the event and getting away to such stay in such wonderful accomodations. I must say though that I'm less than impressed with the staff at the Well spa. I'd requested an appointment via their internet reservation tool and when contacted was told they were not able to accomodate the requested time. When I explained my arrival plans and the reason that time was going to be difficult they did not offer any alternatives or suggestions. I was really looking forward to adding a little pampering to my stay, but will not be reaching out to them again, but will look for an alternative in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your kind remarks and high rating. We are thrilled that you enjoy the hotel so much. I totally understand you frustration and can assure you I will share your experience with our Spa Director and I would love to have her reach out to you if at all possible. Again thank you and we hope to see you again. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janesville, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just spent a few days at the Pfister. My husband got the VIP package where we had evening receptions and breakfast available in the top floor lounge, overlooking the Lake. I highly recommend this upgrade! Both hostesses were so accommodating and waited on us hand and foot. Most wonderful bed, down comforter, and feather pillow ever. We stayed in one of the historic rooms which was complete luxury. Rooms not completely sound proof,..people would be wise to keep this in mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your experience!! And we so glad to hear you tried our new Club Lounge on the 23rd floor. We are very excited and even more so that people like you are enjoying it. Ill be sure to apss your kind words along to the attendants upstairs. Again thank you and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I love these old hotels. Reminds me of the Davenport in Spokane, or the St. Francis in San Francisco. The old craftsmanship you just don't see anymore. Our room was well appointed and pretty quiet for being on the third floor (they have a modern tower for those that prefer that type of thing). We are very noise sensitive so that was good. Got my shoes shinned, overnight service included with the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much!! We are definitley very lucky to get to work in a place thats so special and beautiful. A common expression amongst is, its always 70 and sunny in the Pfister Lobby.

We are so glad you denjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;