We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

LOVED the historic hotel and would give the old hotel a 5 for it's beauty and lovely renovation. There's a definite WOW factor as you enter the lobby. We enjoyed walking around the older part of the hotel and ooo'ing and ahh'ing the architecture and decor. It's one of the prettiest historic hotels we've seen and doesn't have a "renovated look"--meaning that it feels as if you're stepping back in time and seeing the hotel when it was new.

Our room was in the newer tower. The room was large, up-to-date and very comfortable, we also had a lake view. Everything was wonderful until bedtime--we could hear the conversation of a very chatty woman in the room next to ours. (The rooms had an adjoining door.) It was late and we were exhausted. I had earplugs; my husband didn't. He didn't sleep as the gabbing went on most of the night.

When my husband told the front desk about the problem the next morning, we were told that most of the tower rooms had adjoining doors. (We're not sure if having no door would have drowned out the noise, but may have helped.) We'd like to try the hotel again, but would choose the older section.

An interesting point of interest was the Pfister's artist in residence. The young artist was looming audiotape into fabric, which sounds strange but was beautiful. Visitors are invited to speak with the artist while he is at work--a novel and interesting add to the hotel's ambience.

Another related note was the excellent trio playing in the Pfister bar.

Hotel food/service will be rated separately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
433
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Pfister for 2 nights this past weekend for a celebration weekend. Hotel lobby is elegant with plush lobby bar featuring piano music. Hotel--public areas and our room--were impeccably clean. Had a suite in the old section which had great character, high ceilings, and the most comfortable beds ever slept in. Appreciated mini-fridge. Only complaint is that the room could have used more lights or brighter ones. The Chief Concierge, Peter, is an encyclopedia of info on all things Milwaukee and a huge resource; I recommend calling him ahead of a stay to get his advice on an itinerary and restaurants. Cafe casual restaurant served excellent breakfasts, valet service was fast and considerate.

Room Tip: Original building for old-world charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Pfister several times. I travel several days a week for work and I always look forward to going to Milwaukee, just so I can stay at this hotel. Both the old and newer areas of the hotel are gorgeous. The lobby is not to be missed - absolutely opulent. The staff excels. During my last visit I took my teenage daughter who was enthralled with the boy band N'Sync at the time (this was several years ago). We mentioned this to the concierge who informed us that the band was playing in the city the following night. She helped us obtain tickets for their concert and when walking around the city the next afternoon, who did we run into but - Justin Timberlake! My daughter will never be the same!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came for the WellSpa! Stayed this time in the historic section, never heard another sound outside of the room, the bed was absolutely perfect, the tower rooms are unique in their own too. the crowd is mixed with some casual..and then there is the crowd that still wear suits and dresses, this place is absolute class. The staff is exceptional, very classy, they must actually treat them well as many have been there a long time. This time we came for the Well Spa, as our time away was limited, and weather was rainy outside so we never had to leave the hotel. With their Lobby Lounge is some beautiful relaxing piano playing(live), and the Mason Street grill treated us very well, the food was fabulous as were the cocktails, also with live music, and then topped off the evening on the 23rd floor panoramic view of the Blu martini lounge, also with live music, had such a nice relaxing time. Now for the Well Spa, having traveled many places including many spas, this truly tops my list as best atmosphere, and some exceptional massage therapists. We booked a 90 min couples massage, you never have to leave your room, you are not rushed, the in room shower is unbelievable! My therapist Lisa, did things for me my chirpractor didn't do in 13 years, I was really amazed, but I truly enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, you quickly forget the outside world. You will not be disapointed. Be sure to check out their Packages on their site, they really throw in a lot of extras. If you request something special when you book, they will make every effort to honor that, also we were even allowed to check in almost two hours early with no hassle,that was really nice.

Room Tip: Check their website as they have a lot of great packages. The Historic section is very quiet, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for our kids' Spring Break (my son broke his leg, so we had to cancel our CO ski trip)!

Lovely hotel. Superb service. Now a NEW Lounge Access for $30 extra. On the 23rd floor. Hearty snacks & cocktails nightly (see picture). Plus morning hot breakfast. I suggest you take advantage of this wonderful ammenity. Our attendants, Steph & Deanna, were helpful, very nice & welcoming!!

After this GREAT stay, we have decided to only stay at the Pfister when in Milwaukee.

Please try it!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was the most expensive of the four hotels that we stayed in during a brief Chicago and area tour, but it looked it. The lobby is opulent, it has excellent facilities (including a swimming pool) and a range of restaurants. The Concierge was friendly, and helped us to organise a brief walking tour of Milwaukee. 

Our bedroom had two double beds so that we could fit our children in, but even then there was some space left over for comfy chairs and a desk. Wifi was free, and offered a reasonable 1.5 Mb/s. 

We ate at two of the restaurants  - Maison's Grill in the evening, and the cafe for our breakfast. Both were excellent.

We had the swimming pool (at the top of the building) to ourselves. It's probably not suitable for young or unconfident swimmers - it's deep - but is long enough for some exercise...

The valet parking costs $30.

We're probably not going back to Milwaukee, but if we ever did we'd stay here. 

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the minute we entered the 'grandest hotel ever' (quote from A) to the last hike up and down the 8 floor grand staircase we had a magnificent time. Cared for from top to bottom with a delightful meal rolled in by the room service smiling staff. We walked to all the local museums and swam and laughed and slept well. I first came to the Pfister when I was a little girl with my grandparents just for dinner up old route 41 and to revisit with my grandson was a trip down memory lane with great new amenities. It is good to see the old lady looking so good and to know that youth enjoys it now as much as I did then and as much as I do now!

Room Tip: suite on the second level of the main hotel was accessible by feet and elevator and fun to be in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.