We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stayed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lockport, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glad we stayed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family stayed over Easter weekend for a short Spring Break get away. Having never been to the Milwaukee area, we wanted to stay at a hotel that was centrally located to local attractions as we were in town for a sporting event also. Pfister is a quick cab ride away (or walking distance if weather permits) from many attractions. We stayed in the original building and the tables outside of the rooms were a nice touch to be able to sit and play a game or have a cocktail in the evening. Staff was courteous and eager to help with any questions we had. Unfortunately, because our kids were with us, we were not able to experience Blu which is something we would like to do next visit. The only downside is if you are traveling with children (ours are 10 and 16) there is not much for them to do, though the board games at the Café were a hit with our son.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and faced the entrance of the building. There was a lot of noise in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    227
    58
    26
    17
See reviews for
242
471
51
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful. Even my boys loved the hotel (17) and (11). We stayed in a suite which was perfect for us. The LA Lakers were staying at the hotel which was the highlight of the stay for my youngest, although he did not see anyone he recognized! Food is great at the cafe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Pfister is truly "one of a kind". The atmosphere is only topped by the "over the top" treatment by the staff. If you are looking for a truly unique stay this is it! We really enjoyed having a cocktail in Blu as the view was terrific. I would also commend Joe Kurth and Michelle McCarragher as they were exceptional in helping make our stay a very special one. I would add the Cafe has a very warm feeling for breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms in the historic portion of the hotel are especially wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've visited the Pfister in Milwaukee numerous times to experience the historic and beautiful lobby as well as "Blu," the upscale lounge on the 23rd floor with amazing views of Lake Michigan and the city skyline. This past visit was our first overnight stay and it was perfect. The staff from check in to check out were superb and super friendly at all times. We enjoyed the 19th floor in the newer addition (the historic, original building is on our to-do list next) and had a great view of the lake and city. Breakfast in the cafe downstairs was phenomenal-- we had omelets with all organic ingredients! Lastly, don't forget to take a swim in the top floor pool which also provides spectacular lake and city views. Thank you, Pfister Milwaukee!

Room Tip: If you're staying in the newer addition, ask for a high floor room with a lake view. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Close to Milwaukee Art Museum. Gorgeous historical building. Mason Street Grill had wonderful Jazz and delicious offerings. Convenient stop on our way from Minneapolis to Chicago. Not to be missed. Lobby bar is clearly a favorite gathering spot for locals both casual and for business. Service both friendly and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My cousin and I went to the hotel for a much needed girls weekend. We stayed the weekend of March 9th. The massages at the spa were perfection. Magda and unfortunately we cant remember the other girls name she was a tall, thin, beautiful, model like young woman. The room service staff was impeccable, funny, and obviously had a great deal of respect for their job. It was so refreshimg to be surrounded by a staff who truly understand the hospitality industry. The moment we were welcomed in the exquisite foyer, to the specific coffee we were looking for, helpful hints and directions, to our departure. 5 stars all the way around!!!! NO!!! Im not associated with anyone in the hotel. Just honest!!!
Thank you Diane and Tobey

Room Tip: Stay in the original rooms they are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Always look forward to staying at he Pfister. Beautiful facility. Gracious, friendly, competent and wonderful staff. Travel to Milwaukee for board meetings. The Pfister bar lounge is perfect for gathering after meetings for drinks and conversation. Very relaxing surroundings. Elegance without pretension. The place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.