We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Always look forward to staying at he Pfister. Beautiful facility. Gracious, friendly, competent and wonderful staff. Travel to Milwaukee for board meetings. The Pfister bar lounge is perfect for gathering after meetings for drinks and conversation. Very relaxing surroundings. Elegance without pretension. The place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
433
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed in a number of the best hotels in the world and prefer those that have history and character. The Pfister definitely does and I would recommend it to anyone. Wonderful hotel staff and Blu has some of the best views in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

In this day of "big hotel chains" it becomes a rare pleasure that you can find a hotel like the Pfister in all its elegance still out there with an update that doesn't destroy its charm and classic styling. Simply, wonderful. The bar lounge has great food and spirits with piano music and fire place...real fire. Pfister is special.

Rooms are old fashioned, but they don't feel old like some hotels who try for a mix match of modern and old. Pfister gets it right and stays consistent with excellent products in the bathrooms and wonderful robes in the closet...a must for me if I stay in a hotel with a pool.

Breakfast room service is truly the classic tray with sterling and a rose. Thank you Pfister for making the one night stop over a wonderful experience.

But, like my other stays on this trip, please invest in a 24 hour valet and greeter. I really don't like being told to go around the block to park my car in a garage and schlep my bag to the lobby, even if the garage is "safe". I'm a New Yorker and no garage spells safety in my book.

One other recommendation: get the gym, pool and spa on the same floor if you can.

Pfister....stay independent and as charming as you are.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, KY
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great place to stay and attend a Gala. Spent a great evening in the Ballroom and one of the old section sleeping rooms. Great beds, bath, etc. They don't make them like this anymore. Staff is very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I will start by warning you that the Pfister is an old-fashioned hotel and the rooms have a "dated" feel to them.

However, besides that the Pfister is truly a 5-star experience in every way. From the moment the valet met us at the entrance, the staff really helped set the hotel apart from your average hotel or resort. The architecture and artwork is extremely impressive, I actually spent part of Saturday afternoon wandering around and really feeling like I was back in time.

According to my wife the spa was very nice and reasonably priced; I spent some time on the 23rd floor enjoying the pool and then having cocktails at the Blu Lounge...probably as nice of a view as you will find of downtown Milwaukee. We had lunch at the Cafe which again wasn't too overpriced with good food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff is always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are good sized. When receiving the lake view, it is always a plus. We enjoyed the piano man at the lobby bar immensely. The breakfast options were quite pleasing, along with the service and quality of food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Pfister Hotel is Milwaukee's top hotel. Quality and comfort are found everywhere from the lovely Victorian lounge on the first floor to the WEll Spa to BLU looking out at the city. The rooms are cozy and warm, with many fine amenities. Service is available with the touch of a button on the phone and the staff is both courteous and helpful. We have been regulars for over twenty years and have not had a bad experince of any kind...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.