We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was fortunate to stay here on business, and found the experience extremely comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel has a wonderful historic charm, the staff is friendly, accommodating, and professional. As I was there on business, we had a conference in the hotel and their A/V support staff aided us impeccably. When you stay, they offer free shoe shines overnight, which was an unexpected perk. I enjoyed my stay at the Pfister and look forward to visit again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you and truly the pleasure was ours!! We are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable experience and even more so that you will be returning, and continue to experience Milwaukee and the Pfister. Again thank you and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    705
    182
    46
    22
    9
See reviews for
192
372
41
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed from the 17th to the 20th of January. The hotel is beautiful, elegant and has a great location. Everything about the Pfister evokes romance and grandeur. As soon as I entered the luxurious lobby, I was reminded of the images we've seen from the Titanic in all of its majesty. Service was impeccable, professional yet very friendly. The kind that makes you feel right at home. The lobby lounge has the best Bloody Mary I've tried, a great place to have an afternoon snack next to a cozy fireplace and soothing piano. Mason Street Grill was nothing short of amazing. The staff is knowledgeable and ready to answer any questions or requests you may have. The room was very comfortable, got a King with city view. This is where I will definitely stay whenever I'm back in Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 14th floor. Had no problems with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for your post and your kind words. The hotel is truly special and beautiful, but as you touched on it really is the people that make all the difference. With each and every one having the true spirit of hospitality. We are so excited for your return and we'll definitely keep the fireplace warm and bloody mary ready. Again thank you and best wishes.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked the culinary experience package, which included 2nd night for only $99, valet parking both nights, and the Sunday brunch. We upgraded to a king suite in the original section, no ghosts, and very classy. We, too, were surprised by a bottle of champagne and strawberries. We were there on a gallery week-end in Milwaukee, so a lot of art events in hotel, met the artist in residence, Timothy, who created a victorian gown from cassette tapes. The lobby is classic vintage city, very inviting in front of the fireplace. We went to their martini bar, blu, on the 21st floor, beautiful cityscape at night, then the mason grille for an excellent steak dinner. We hit the art neighborhood Saturday morning, just about 4 blocks away, grabbed a wonderful lunch, then hurried back to hotel for our experience: wine tasting and pairings by the pastry chef, Jennifer, very tasty and fun. The concierge, Rocky, told some stories of famous guests, Bill and Hillary Clinton, Jimmy Carter and Margaret Thatcher. January is culinary experience, february artist and March creative writing. Really worthwhile events, and fabulous value. Great hotel, nice friendly city....we are from Chicago, short ride, and we appreciated the luxury and history without the chicago prices.

Room Tip: Stay in the old section, get a drink in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your response and your kind words!! we are so excited to roll out the Pfister 4 Diamond Experience this and even more so that it is being so well received. Again thank you and we hope to see you again for another Pfister exexperience.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Every time I visit the Pfister I'm amazed at the consistency. Professional, friendly service by every staff member. Comfortable and quiet accommodations. Great dining options. To top it off I can awaken with a beautiful view of Lake Michigan from my lake view room in the Tower section of the hotel.

Room Tip: A lake view room in the tower section provides a beautiful view of Lake Michigan especially at sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your experiences here with us!! We love nothing more than to hear of someone not only enjoying their time with us but so much that they come back. The people here are truly special and I am lucky enough to get work along side them every day. They are the ones that truly make the difference. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the Pfister Hotel in MIlwaukee for the weekend - attended their champagne brunch on Sunday. At the Pfister, they have taken the time and effort to mark every item at the buffet with a Gluten Free moniker - a majority of the absolutely delicious food was in fact gluten free.

When in MIlwaukee, the Pfister is the place to stay if you are looking for a hotel that achieves in delivering the details when it comes to service!!

(Even if you don't stay - I recommend the Pfister Sunday brunch - spectacular cuisine!)

Room Tip: Recommend staying in the original hotel - enjoy history with elegance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much!! And we couldnt agree more. Its definitely all about the details. It's those little nuances that take something from ordinary to extraordinary. Again we thank you and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pfister Hotel for our 42rd wedding anniverary and for the theatrical play titled Memphis. I had booked the room through Hotels.com Upon checking in at the Front Desk, the staff asked if were staying for any special reason. We indicated our reasons-the play and anniversary. At short time later a complimentary full size bottle of champaign and 4 chocolate covered strawberries were delivered to our room courtesy of the Front Desk. How nice and thoughtful! I had thought of purchasing the Romanace Package but this was far better-a surprise for both of us. The staff, facilities and dining experiences are exceptional. We will definitely be back. Mike and Peg

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We are so thrilled to have been able to be a part of such a wonderful occasion and even more thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience. Thank you so much for sharing about your stay with us and we hope to be able to host many more anniversaries to come.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at The Pfister Hotel for a quick overnight trip for my 30th birthday. It was beautiful, centrally located and had excellent service. We were traveling with another couple and at check in that easily gave us adjoining rooms which was nice. The rooms and bathrooms are not spacious but nicely appointed with good closet space and updated decor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you!! We are so excited to have been able to be a part of such a special occasion. And even more so that you had such a great experience. Happy be-lated birthday!! And again thank you and we hope to see you again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.