We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pfister Hotel for our 42rd wedding anniverary and for the theatrical play titled Memphis. I had booked the room through Hotels.com Upon checking in at the Front Desk, the staff asked if were staying for any special reason. We indicated our reasons-the play and anniversary. At short time later a complimentary full size bottle of champaign and 4 chocolate covered strawberries were delivered to our room courtesy of the Front Desk. How nice and thoughtful! I had thought of purchasing the Romanace Package but this was far better-a surprise for both of us. The staff, facilities and dining experiences are exceptional. We will definitely be back. Mike and Peg

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We are so thrilled to have been able to be a part of such a wonderful occasion and even more thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience. Thank you so much for sharing about your stay with us and we hope to be able to host many more anniversaries to come.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    199
    50
    23
    14
See reviews for
223
420
45
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at The Pfister Hotel for a quick overnight trip for my 30th birthday. It was beautiful, centrally located and had excellent service. We were traveling with another couple and at check in that easily gave us adjoining rooms which was nice. The rooms and bathrooms are not spacious but nicely appointed with good closet space and updated decor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you!! We are so excited to have been able to be a part of such a special occasion. And even more so that you had such a great experience. Happy be-lated birthday!! And again thank you and we hope to see you again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This Hotel had all the beauty the price you will pay for a room would suggest it would have, and then some. Stately with three bars to choose from, and a world class view from the top floor bar. It is also centrally located in Milwaukee. I found the room to be small, no refrigerator/microwave/fancy adjustable head - but it was beautiful and extremely comfortable. The staff was very friendly and the hotel had entertainment in the lobby bar every evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your sharing about your experience here with us. We are so thrilled that you were able to expereince and enjoy so many facets of the hotel. We truly do hope to see you again soon. And we are also very excited to share with you that we will soon be performing a rooms remodel which will include some the items mentinoed above. We are very excited about the new product and again hope that you will return to experience that as well. Again thank you, best wishes, and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After several recent stays at this fine hotel in beautiful downtown Milwaukee, The Pfister would our choice on the place to stay on all of our visits. The location is superb, the ambiance is comforting and all the staff sincerely expresses their appreciation of you being their important customer.

Room Tip: Can't tell you that, then the room I like will be booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so very much!! As you mentioned the people here are really what makes this such a special place. And we cant thank you enough for continuing to choose the Pfister when visiting Milwaukee. And we do very much hope to see you for many more visits to come. Again thank you and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In the nanosecond world of stainless steel, 4G, glass buildings and sleek decor as the norm, the Pfister is a step back to a 19th Century lifestyle and the ornate elegance only proud tradesmen can provide, with the true vintage-ness of the building and rooms appreciated. The lobby is breathtaking, the ceiling alone worth coming to see. The beautiful marble stairway is a pleasure to walk and the ample standard room is well appointed, with 15 ft or more ceilings, comfy beds and charming/ older but spotless bathrooms. We wanted the Victorian flavor so chose the lower building, not the tower. A walk-back in history.
And for those who must have their fix of 21st century cool-ness, visit Blu on the 23rd floor, with panoramic views of the lovely city of Milwaukee. Finally, sitting by the beautiful fireplace with Christmas decorations and attentive service was a great way to end the evening and parking valet was very prompt as we left the next morning. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our dbl queen on the 3rd flr facing east was quiet and enjoyable. Floors above 3 are all king or sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Wow!! Thank you all so much!! Not only for your kind but eloquent words. We are so thrilled you chose to stay with us and truly hope we will see you all again soon. Again thank you and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Pfister. We went on Sunday, 12/30 so that we could attend the Transiberian Orchestra concert (side note: Fabulous). Our one night stay was great, the hotel is beautiful, everyone very nice. The Blu room was not open on Sunday nite and was really planning on seeing that - but oh well. Had drinks in the lobby and listened to piano - was great. Will plan on going again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much!! We are thrilled you had such a great time. And what a great event to attend as well. And then to be able to continue the musical evening with the piano here in the lobby. It really does sound like a wonderful evening. Again we are glad and privileged that we could be part of such a great time and memory. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the hotel the day after Christmas, first time staying there. Hubby and I wanted a quick getaway after the holiday. Got the bed and breakfast package. It was our first time staying at the hotel and it was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly, employees as well as the guests :) Enjoyed the breakfast too. I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share about your experience. Everyone here truly does exemplify the true spirit of hospitality. I fell very luck to work them every day.
We are so glad you were able to spend part of your holiday season here with us and even more we hope we get to see you all again for many more. Again we thank you and lookd forward to seeing you again, Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.