We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing old world experience with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Refreshing old world experience with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In the nanosecond world of stainless steel, 4G, glass buildings and sleek decor as the norm, the Pfister is a step back to a 19th Century lifestyle and the ornate elegance only proud tradesmen can provide, with the true vintage-ness of the building and rooms appreciated. The lobby is breathtaking, the ceiling alone worth coming to see. The beautiful marble stairway is a pleasure to walk and the ample standard room is well appointed, with 15 ft or more ceilings, comfy beds and charming/ older but spotless bathrooms. We wanted the Victorian flavor so chose the lower building, not the tower. A walk-back in history.
And for those who must have their fix of 21st century cool-ness, visit Blu on the 23rd floor, with panoramic views of the lovely city of Milwaukee. Finally, sitting by the beautiful fireplace with Christmas decorations and attentive service was a great way to end the evening and parking valet was very prompt as we left the next morning. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our dbl queen on the 3rd flr facing east was quiet and enjoyable. Floors above 3 are all king or sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Wow!! Thank you all so much!! Not only for your kind but eloquent words. We are so thrilled you chose to stay with us and truly hope we will see you all again soon. Again thank you and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
431
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Pfister. We went on Sunday, 12/30 so that we could attend the Transiberian Orchestra concert (side note: Fabulous). Our one night stay was great, the hotel is beautiful, everyone very nice. The Blu room was not open on Sunday nite and was really planning on seeing that - but oh well. Had drinks in the lobby and listened to piano - was great. Will plan on going again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much!! We are thrilled you had such a great time. And what a great event to attend as well. And then to be able to continue the musical evening with the piano here in the lobby. It really does sound like a wonderful evening. Again we are glad and privileged that we could be part of such a great time and memory. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the hotel the day after Christmas, first time staying there. Hubby and I wanted a quick getaway after the holiday. Got the bed and breakfast package. It was our first time staying at the hotel and it was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly, employees as well as the guests :) Enjoyed the breakfast too. I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share about your experience. Everyone here truly does exemplify the true spirit of hospitality. I fell very luck to work them every day.
We are so glad you were able to spend part of your holiday season here with us and even more we hope we get to see you all again for many more. Again we thank you and lookd forward to seeing you again, Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've been staying at the Pfister for 8 years now on business travel. I've been growing more disappointed in the property with every trip - the rooms are in need of refurbishing - I've stayed in both the old and the new towers and neither have had any attention in years.But the icing on the cake this time was the appalling service in the cafe for breakfast. My order was not taken after 15 minutes so I walked out. The staff looked like they hated their jobs, they stood talking to one another instead of serving, they disappeared in the kitchen for ages, the attitude was the worst I've seen. I'll be booking into the Hotel Metro next door from now on!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
JessM510:
Thank you for staying with us over the years at the Pfister, and for your comments. I am certainly disappointed to read we have not kept up with your expectations in service and product, and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly at your convenience for some additional specifics.
I am excited to be able to share the Tower guest rooms will be undergoing a full renovation this spring, and this will follow the recent full renovation of our historic section of guest rooms. Our model rooms have been completed with the designer for the Tower rooms, and if your schedule permits I would welcome the opportunity to share these rooms with you. If you will not be returning to Milwaukee for several months, I would be very happy to also have you stay in one of the newly renovated rooms to let us know your opinion on them as well.
Please let me know when it is most convenient for us to connect with a personal call, and I can be reached at 414.390.3800. If you prefer to email a time for us to connect, my email address is joekurth@thepfisterhotel.com.
I wish you a wonderful and successful 2013 ahead, and look forward to speaking with you very soon!
Joe Kurth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here over xmas break in 2012. The hotel is old, but it is quiet charming. It reminds me of some place that would be haunted if it appeared in a movie. Great entry room, staff was polite and warm without seeming fake about it, not an easy thing to pull off in my opinion. Room was ok, nothing too fancy, bathroom was redone very nicely. $40 Sunday brunch was spectacular. Amazing staff and food. Spa was equally impressive. One of the best massage I have had in a while and the massage room interior was by far the nicest and well designed. The shower was unlike any I have been in before. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Pfister and I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a great Christmas experience.

The decor of the Pfister has never been my taste so I typically stay at the Intercontinental or Hyatt when visiting Milwaukee. This year I wanted to make our Christmas a bit more festive so I decided to get a King Suite in the old part of the hotel. The lobby is so wonderfully decorated for the season and the lobby bar was wonderful with the fire burning, the tree nearby and live Christmas music. I very we'll may make a tradition of staying at the Pfister for my Christmas stay in Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Even room numbers in the old part of the hotel seem to face the street. Odd numbers have more of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your holidays with us. As well your kind words and taking the time to share about your experience. We take great joy and pride in the hotel and especially with our holiday traditions we always hope that everyone can come and spend part of their holiday season with us. But again thank you and we truly hope to see you for many more holiday seasons to come. Best wishes and a happy new year.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed just before Christmas. Food, staff, atmosphere could not be better. Suite was very nice. Concierge knows everything and everyone worth knowing. Pianist in the cozy drink area was fun and obviously enjoys what he does. This was just a perfect place for pre-holiday holiday.

Mike

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much!! We are so thrilled that you not only got to experience the Pfister but got to experience the Pfister during the Holidays. It really is a special and wonderful place that brings the Holidays to life. Hopefully this becomes a holiday tradition for you and your friends and family. Thank you again. Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.