We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Stayed for a pre-Christmas evening with friends. Within walking distance to museum, Summerfest Grounds, Third Ward, and some of the BEST restaurants in Milwaukee. Hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share about your experience. We are truly blessed to not only work in such a beautiful and amazing hotel but a wonderful city also. Again we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Safe travels and a happy new year.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    196
    48
    23
    13
See reviews for
220
415
44
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The gracious staff made our visit to the Pfister Hotel perfect from start to finish. The hotel at Christmas is beautifully decorated and has many special activies to enhance your December visit. Everyone from the valet parking staff to the concierge went out of their way to accomodate our wishes and help make our stay at the hotel a success for the varied ages in our group. We can't wait to return for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the historic section of the hotel if you love gracious living!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience. The Pfister does truly have an additinoal magic about her durring the Holidays. But the people are truly what makes the Pfister come to life. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to your return.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife wanted a time warp for her birthday so we drove up to Milwaukee this past weekend for a two night stay in a King Suite on the eighth floor of the "old" building. We lived in Milwaukee for five years, and when relocating there in 1975 we spent many nights at the Pfister. We always preferred the older rooms to the "new" tower (new is at least 35 years in age). The original building has always been reminiscent of the hotels of my parents' and grandparents' generation, and I'm happy to say that the continuous ownership has preserved its character much the same as it was back in the day...the wide halls, the mummy doors, the mail chute. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The king suite has a large walk-in closet. Nice little added touches like two luggage racks instead of one, bath robes, umbrella, a fridge, and a box on the desk which looks like a humidor on the outside and has an electric power strip and USB cable inside. I've stayed at the Pfister from time-to-time over the years, and what impresses me is how consistently well-maintained the property has been, and the manner of competency of its service staff.

Room Tip: Stay in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I have
Just returned from a two night stay at pfister, and cannot say enough good things about it, and I'm a REALLY picky person! It was absolutely beautifully restored, traditional elegance, way exceeded anything I expected to find in Milwaukee, in fact my teens want to go back to Milwaukee (we were there for a music show) just because of the hotel. I called to tell them we were getting in late that night; they held a beautiful 19th floor room w/view for us. Usually we get a separate room for our teen boys, but this time I decided to save a little and bunk together, the room with 2 queen beds also had room for a complimentary rollaway twin bed waiting for us on a top floor w/a view at midnight. We purchased a breakfast package for 2, but they graciously gave us coupons for all 4 of us, and breakfast at the cafe was wonderful w no restrictions. They treated us like we had booked deluxe suites, far better service than I've had at four seasons and ritz Carlton. Truly old time class, would positively return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words!! We are truly beyond thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderfulk time and got to truly take in the Pfister experience. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Perhaps next time you could even sample one of our Pfister rooms in the historic section of the building. newly renovated but kept closely within the old world charm. Again we look forward to your return and happy holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great service all around. Partied like a rock star after a airline cancelled a flight to Vegas for a 3-day get away. Wish I would have had more time and money to blow in and around the Pfister, Will be back! The staff in the restaurant located just around from the front desk: Great, Friendly, Prompt, everything I expect and more! Room service after a night of drinking a bonus (drinking sooooo much the local PD drove me back to the front door)! Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your post as well as chooing the Pfister for your stay in Milwaukee. Its great to hear you not only got to party like one but felt maybe a little like a rockstar also. Keep rockin and we truly hope to see you again soon. Thank you again and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilman, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loud room, could hear the music from either Blu above us or the banquet rooms below us...we were on the 21 floor. Doors slamming over and over again on our floor. Room is starting to show its age, the entire parameter of the room baseboards and carpet were absolutely filthy, horrible dust bunnies under both beds, very few pillows on the bed, two is just not enough, and the others were all decor pillows. It's technically not a pillow top bed, just a pillow mattress pad, not a comfortable bed for such a high end hotel. I do not appreciate paying $100.00 carpet cleaning pet charge when the carpet in 2108 was not clean to begin with, dusty furniture. Over $360.00 total bill for less than 24 hour stay, not worth it in my opinion. Very disappointed for a special trip!

I mentioned the loud music and door slamming when I paid the bill at check-out, got a lukewarm apology and that’s it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mark H:
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pfister. I appreciate your comments, and apologize for the details missed for your room, and that your experience did not meet your expectations. There is no excuse for providing anything less than an exceptional stay within our hotel, and I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly.
I look forward to sharing the details on our renovation this winter for the Tower floors, including the room you experienced, and working with you personally to express the sincerity of my apology.
My direct line is 414.390.3800, and email if more convenient to set a time to talk is joekurth@thepfisterhotel.com.
I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you at your earliest convenience.
Joe Kurth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to visit Milwaukee for a business conference, and the designated hotel for conference attendees was The Pfister. This beautiful and historic downtown hotel has just about everything to make your personal or business trip very special.

The Pfister has a main, historic section which is incredibly beautiful. It is ornate and well decorated, particularly during the holidays. They also have a 23-story tower of guest rooms, conference facilities, ballrooms, and a cocktail lounge. The guest rooms are well-decorated, have luxurious furnishings, and plenty of nice amenities. These rooms are somewhat unusual in that sixteen of them form each floor in a round tower - so they are shaped somewhat like a piece of pie. Unusual - but it works.

If you have a chance to visit the cocktail lounge on the 23rd floor, it's worth buying one of their preciously-priced drinks in order to enjoy the view. The service is great, and the view is memorable. They even have a diagram to identify all the surrounding buildings.

The front desk staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. The housekeeping staff in the guest rooms do a great job. The Pfister has a very well-equipped fitness club, and some nice high-end shops within the facility. The hotel has a lobby bar that is a classic, and a lobby cafe / coffee shop that meets all of your needs for fast coffee and breakfast. They also have one of the best steakhouse restaurants in town. The concierge staff (especially Helga) go above and beyond to please; they help make your visit to Milwaukee a fun and successful experience.

So, with everything that's been said so far (a) why is the rating only a "4" rather than a "5"? It's because the Pfister's performance in the area of banquets / conferences is unacceptable. Our small meeting (30 people) consisted of people from many countries, and those international visitors left with an unfavorable view of U.S. hospitality. For example - every water glass that we were given was dirty. Now, I'm not talking about water spots --- I'm talking about lipstick and chunks of food. When this was pointed out to the staff, the response was surly and unexpectedly uncaring. I finally confronted the banquet manager with the problem, who demonstrated the correct reaction. The banquet food was of acceptable quality, but at an extremely high price. The conference and banquet facilities are beautiful and comfortable --- but the lack of maintenance and the inhospitable staff made for an uncomfortable day.

Room Tip: The Pfister clings to the notion that it is acceptable to charge guests for WiFi internet connectivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.