We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply one of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply one of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great service all around. Partied like a rock star after a airline cancelled a flight to Vegas for a 3-day get away. Wish I would have had more time and money to blow in and around the Pfister, Will be back! The staff in the restaurant located just around from the front desk: Great, Friendly, Prompt, everything I expect and more! Room service after a night of drinking a bonus (drinking sooooo much the local PD drove me back to the front door)! Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your post as well as chooing the Pfister for your stay in Milwaukee. Its great to hear you not only got to party like one but felt maybe a little like a rockstar also. Keep rockin and we truly hope to see you again soon. Thank you again and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
433
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilman, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loud room, could hear the music from either Blu above us or the banquet rooms below us...we were on the 21 floor. Doors slamming over and over again on our floor. Room is starting to show its age, the entire parameter of the room baseboards and carpet were absolutely filthy, horrible dust bunnies under both beds, very few pillows on the bed, two is just not enough, and the others were all decor pillows. It's technically not a pillow top bed, just a pillow mattress pad, not a comfortable bed for such a high end hotel. I do not appreciate paying $100.00 carpet cleaning pet charge when the carpet in 2108 was not clean to begin with, dusty furniture. Over $360.00 total bill for less than 24 hour stay, not worth it in my opinion. Very disappointed for a special trip!

I mentioned the loud music and door slamming when I paid the bill at check-out, got a lukewarm apology and that’s it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mark H:
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pfister. I appreciate your comments, and apologize for the details missed for your room, and that your experience did not meet your expectations. There is no excuse for providing anything less than an exceptional stay within our hotel, and I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly.
I look forward to sharing the details on our renovation this winter for the Tower floors, including the room you experienced, and working with you personally to express the sincerity of my apology.
My direct line is 414.390.3800, and email if more convenient to set a time to talk is joekurth@thepfisterhotel.com.
I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you at your earliest convenience.
Joe Kurth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to visit Milwaukee for a business conference, and the designated hotel for conference attendees was The Pfister. This beautiful and historic downtown hotel has just about everything to make your personal or business trip very special.

The Pfister has a main, historic section which is incredibly beautiful. It is ornate and well decorated, particularly during the holidays. They also have a 23-story tower of guest rooms, conference facilities, ballrooms, and a cocktail lounge. The guest rooms are well-decorated, have luxurious furnishings, and plenty of nice amenities. These rooms are somewhat unusual in that sixteen of them form each floor in a round tower - so they are shaped somewhat like a piece of pie. Unusual - but it works.

If you have a chance to visit the cocktail lounge on the 23rd floor, it's worth buying one of their preciously-priced drinks in order to enjoy the view. The service is great, and the view is memorable. They even have a diagram to identify all the surrounding buildings.

The front desk staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. The housekeeping staff in the guest rooms do a great job. The Pfister has a very well-equipped fitness club, and some nice high-end shops within the facility. The hotel has a lobby bar that is a classic, and a lobby cafe / coffee shop that meets all of your needs for fast coffee and breakfast. They also have one of the best steakhouse restaurants in town. The concierge staff (especially Helga) go above and beyond to please; they help make your visit to Milwaukee a fun and successful experience.

So, with everything that's been said so far (a) why is the rating only a "4" rather than a "5"? It's because the Pfister's performance in the area of banquets / conferences is unacceptable. Our small meeting (30 people) consisted of people from many countries, and those international visitors left with an unfavorable view of U.S. hospitality. For example - every water glass that we were given was dirty. Now, I'm not talking about water spots --- I'm talking about lipstick and chunks of food. When this was pointed out to the staff, the response was surly and unexpectedly uncaring. I finally confronted the banquet manager with the problem, who demonstrated the correct reaction. The banquet food was of acceptable quality, but at an extremely high price. The conference and banquet facilities are beautiful and comfortable --- but the lack of maintenance and the inhospitable staff made for an uncomfortable day.

Room Tip: The Pfister clings to the notion that it is acceptable to charge guests for WiFi internet connectivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here one night on the way to a Packers game. Got a really great rate on priceline. We were put in what I am assuming is a "historic" room, as it was a little dated. However it was very clean. Hotel lobby was beautiful. We did not use the rooftop (indoor) pool but went and looked at it and it was clean (no one was using it). I really enjoyed the location. It was just a quick walk to the public market to browse and eat. Stayed at the Iron Horse last year and aside from the location and price there was no comparison. Such a cool vibe at the Iron Horse and room amenities are above and beyond. But for the $150s I saved I definately can not complain. Save another $15-20 dollars and park in the parking garage 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Pfister during your recent visit to Milwaukee. Hopfully should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee you will continue to choose our hotel as your home away from home. We do truly pride ourselves as the Best hotel in the city. However I am excited to say that the hotel will be conducting a rooms renovation on our tower side this winter and should be completed this spring to ealry summer. They are absolutely beautiful and highly reccomend that you give them a try should you retunr once they are complete. Again thank you for sharing your experience and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The service, rooms and room service are all excellent at the Pfister which makes it my first choice when sleeping in the downtown area. This past weekend was no exception however the perfect stay was damaged by my 10 am luke warm shower. The hot water seemed to be running low at that time of day since the night before it was more than hot. The front desk promptly sent up an engineer to check on the problem but by that time my shower was over and I was out of the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
First thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are overly thrilled that you not only chose the Pfister but continue to do so. I also wanted to extend our up most apologies for the less than ksplendid experience you encountered on the morning of your departure. While there always the unforseen i assure we do take all possible steps to be proactive and perform preeventative maintinance or all aspects of the property. Again i would like to extend our apologies and a thank you. We truly do look forward to your return. And should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee please feel free to come by and say hello. I would love the opportunity to greet you personally and welcome you back. Safe travels and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

When visiting Milwaukee, I choose the pfister. It has always been consistent in price, service, and quality.

My only suggestion is that the rooms need updating- the historic section is showing signs of age.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for always choosing the Pfister and for sharing your kind words. We do also greatly appreciate your honest feedback. We do truly value all of our guests in sight and feedback.
I am very excited to say that we are currently scheduled to begin a renovation on our Tower Section and should be completed by Spring to Early Summer. The rooms are beautiful and would highly reccomend that you try them should your travles bring you back anytime after they are complete.
Again thank you for sharing your kind words and for continuing to choose the Pfister.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is a beauty! The lobby is gorgeous - especially now, all decorated for Christmas. We had a room in the old section and thought that it was charming with extra tall ceilings, and fine furnishings. The hotel was very clean throughout. We had a chance to dine in the restaurant for dinner and the cafe for breakfast. Both were very nice. All of the staff that we dealt with were courteous and professional. I would highly recommend staying at the Pfister.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us all!! We truly are so lucky to work in such a special and beautiful place and beyond thrilled that you were able to enjoy your stay with us as well. Again we thank you and wish you a happy holiday season!!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.