We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS treated like a VIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Milwaukee
Sussex, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“ALWAYS treated like a VIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My daughter and I stay at the Pfister several times a year for a "getaway". We have NEVER been disappointed. Stayed a night this weekend for my husband's birthday. Could not have been treated better!! The rooftop pool is super!! It overlooks the lake and the city. Of course our daughter and grandson came to "visit" and to "check out the pool (our grandson's request). If you LOVE French onion soup you MUST order it from room service. It is the BEST we have ever had. Daughter and I are staying there again for a couple of days in January; can't wait - and bring on the French onion soup!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experiences here with us!! We are so thrilled to have become a regular getaway for you and your family and we look forward to being a part of many more to come. And we will definitely have a warm bowl French Onion Soup always waiting. Again it is truly our honor and pleasure and wish you and your family a wonderful holiday season.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    182
    46
    22
    9
See reviews for
192
371
41
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lake geneva, wi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here with 3 girlfriends to attend a concert in Milwaukee. We were easily accomodated in 2 adjoining rooms with 2 queens each. Because we were just there for the night, we didn't really utilize the hotel ammenities (the pool, restaurants, shops), but we did visit Blu, their lounge on the top floor with amazing views of the city. Blu had comfy couches, a great jazz band, fun drinks and nice vibe. It was cozy, relaxing and fun at the same time. The lounge in the loby was always full of people when we walked past.

And it was the lobby that was impressive! The ceiling mural, the gild work, the wood, the carpet--all so beautiful! I could have spent hours just taking it in. The desk staff were very pleasent at check in and everything went smoothly.

Our rooms were average size and comfortable enough. Not spectacular, but just fine for the night. The carpet could use replacing and the matresses should be updated at sometime. Only draw backs were a few too many cobwebs in the corners, no mini fridge, very small bathrooms, and the whole hotel was quite warm. But, none of these issues were too bothersome and I would most certainly stay here again--in fact, I can't wait!

There are several great eateries within walking distance and so are the museums and lakefront. Tho, if it is cold and the wind is coming off the lake, you might want to cab it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor in the tower section (newer, I guess)--great view of the city. This are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us all and again thank you for choosing the Pfister Hotel for your recent visit. We are so thrilled that you all had such a good time and even more so that we got to be a part of this special trip. We truly look forward to your return visit and we look forward to making it another special one. And if possible during your next trip I would suggest trying our Pfister Rooms. The rooms are beautiful and actually original to the hotel and I think would be another great experience for you. Safe Travels and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were in the new tower. The room was nice and very quiet as well. The location is convinent although the $25 per day for parking is a bit steep. The staff was very nice and the restaurant for breakfas was nice as well. I would say that the other two restaurants located within the hotel are quite expensive and that there are far better values elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Pfister for your recent visit to Milwaukee. And we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit as well as youre stay here with us. Also thank you taking the time to share about your experience with us. We do take all of our guests comments very seriously and will take a look at the items mentioned. Again thank you so very much and truly hope that you will continue to choose the Pfister for your future visits to Milwaukee. Safe Travels and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just a wonderful, wonderful hotel. We stayed in the new tower and loved it. Although we couldn't seem to operate the air condition it was super swell. We are walking distance from the Bradley Center and the local Rock Bottom. Fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your post and sharing your experience here with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with us in Milwaukee and at the Pfister Hotel. Happy Holidays and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Pfister. We came back to champagne in our room and had a complimentary breakfast. The room was clean, food was delicious, and staff were very nice.

I was very disappointed when I went to shower though... The tub didn't drain! I ended up nearly a foot deep in tub water, which was really unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Pfister for this most wonderful and special of occasions. We are thrilled each and every time we get to host a couple on this wonderful moment. We of course would like to extend our up most apologies for what occurred with the drain. This will of course be shared so that we can continue to learn and improve. Again we thank you and your husband for staying with us and we hope to see you both again soon, perhaps even for an anniversary. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a landmark that is a site to see. The staff was great and my parents couldn't stay out of the cafe. BUT, don't go in the summer. My room was hot and I have to have a cool temperature to get a good night's sleep. The tv programming is poor and yes there are those extra luxury fees that most of us don't use but pay for anyway. My suggestion is to stay in a more modern hotel and visit the hotel and eat at their restaurant, Mason Street Grill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have been to the Pfister numerous times for business and have never had a bad experience. The staff is first rate, the rooms are quiet, clean, comfortable, and business friendly. The Bloody Mary is one of a kind and the best I have ever had. It is literally an appetizer. The Blu Lounge is a great place to meet people after a long day of meetings. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere and great views of the city. If I were Standard & Poor's AAA+ rating each and every time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for continuing to choose the Pfister and for taking the time to share about your experiences with us. We are so thrilled to hear about the wonderful experiences you have had, amongst them our award winning Bloody Marys. The staff is truly one of a kind and one that really makes the Pfister come to life and we would like to again thank you hope to see you again soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you’ll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world.Renovated in 2008, The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.