We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the highlight of all the hotels we stayed in during our 2 week road trip. We made the reservation with Priceline and got a great rate of 60.00 a night. Once we go to the hotel the lobby itself was with the 60.00. We got to the check in and were greeted by a most friendly young lady. As she was checking us in she asked if this was our first stay in the Pfister and we told her yes and in fact this is our first time in Milwaukee and Wisconsin for that matter. The she said well then let me see if i can upgrade you and she upgraded us to the Double suite. I have been using Priceline for years and this was a first for me and the room was the bomb we both looked at each other and said i with we had booked 2 nights. We really enjoyed the hotel and the city itself and we will be back and i will make every effort to stay at the Pfister again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind remarks and sharing your experience with us all. We are beyond thrilled that you enjoyed everything so much and we do truly hope to see you again in the near future. And this time we'' have to make it at least 2 nights. Thank you again and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
431
45
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just stayed for a quick overnight and loved this hotel. Everyone was friendly, professional, helpful. Right downtown, walking distance to so many great eateries, bars, venues - plus a fantastic view from the tower in Blu. Fun fact, Louis CK was there and we had our 2 second brush with greatness... Beautiful architecture, nice lounges - just simply a class act all the way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Websters defines class as something of high quality or elegance, which is something the Pfister has always strived for and we are so lucky to have been able to maintain for over 119 years. We cant thank you enough for your kind words and sharing your experience with us . And even more than the beautiful product product we have we are so excited that you got to experience the one of a kind service the staff here puts forth everyday. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I feel I did not deserve such luxury and such astonishingly good service. Your bartenders alone make me want to move to Milwaukee; the concierge is now my role model for a fulfilled maturity; and your other staff, including three fabulous bellhops and car valets, made me re-order my experience of hospitality away from my beloved South to the rockiin' upper Midwest. I would cut off an arm to stay there again; and know that your personnel would gladly plant my drink to the leftover hand. You renewed my faith in urban renewal, an appreciation of the past, and the friendliness of real Midwesterners. Bless the Marcus family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Wow!! we cant thank you enough for sharing your experience and in such a way that we could only hope for. And we so thrilled that you were able to experience what truly makes the Pfister, the true heart and soul, the people. Again we thank you and truly hope that we will see you again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Pfister. It's a beautiful historical hotel. The service was great as well as the amenities. Make sure to ask for package options. We ended up upgrading to a package that included breakfast for a little extra per day. Well worth it. The Cafe had wonderful breakfasts. The hotel had a great central location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and allowed us to play host to you during your time in Milwaukee. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and kind words. We truly hope to see you again wish you safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had a night here with my wife whilst over from England to see The Ryder Cup in Chicago. What a wonderful hotel. Style on a par with the best Europe can offer being reminiscent of say The Ritz in Madrid or Savoy in London. Staff were courteous and efficient from the moment we pulled up till when we left. We enjoyed a lovely standard corner room beautifully appointed. The hotel exudes elegance and charm with "the grand epoque" blending with upscale modern. A roof top indoor pool is an added bonus or if feeling idle a drink in the cocktail lounge on the 23rd floor may be better with great views.
The only downside was a $30 charge for valet parking as there was a large and cheap car park opposite that we only found later.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge but our corner standard double was great. We were offered an upgrade for a few dol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your post and for choosing the Pfister for your special weekend. We are thrilled you were not only able to be here with us but able to take in so many parts of Milwaukee and the hotel. We hope your travels bring you tom Milwaukee again soon and to the Pfister as well.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My review is based on the hotel bar. Came in on Sunday morning to try one of their famous Bloody Mary's and I'm sure glad I did. Bartender Joe was working that morning and he made an excellent Bloody Mary. This Bloody Mary has the most garnishes I've ever seen one have and it was delicious. Joe gave my friend and I helpful tips and hints of things to go in the city and was super friendly. Stop by for a Bloody Mary next time you're in Milwaukee!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much!! We are very proud of our bloody mary's also. It is actually an "award winning" bloody mary and the recipe was conceived by one of our very own bartenders whos been a staple here for a long time and we hope will continue to be for an even longer while. Please come back and visit and hopefully experience one our rooms also. We'd love for you to experience all facets of the Pfister.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

During a recent stay at the Pfister (to attend my first NFL game at Lambeau), not everything went just right. Nothing major but still not just right. After a less than satisfactory exchange with the Front Desk personnel, I was disappointed at how I was treated. I tell my staff that if you can make an unhappy patient become a happy patient, then they will be the best word of mouth advertisement you can have. Well, I want to tell everyone how well I have been treated since my stay at the Pfister. The General Manager has emailed me and called me. My minor matter has been taken care of but, more importantly, I have been treated with the utmost respect. While the photos can show you how beautiful the Pfister, I can tell you that it is the true concern for how their guests are treated is why the Pfister is so successful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We just wanted to say thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to make this post. Ive always loved the expression the strongest compliment anyone can provide is a recommendation to others. We are indeed terribly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced but we are thrilled the Pfisters true warmth and hospitality shined through. We hope to see you again soon and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.