We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service to the next level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pfister Hotel to your Saves list
The Pfister Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club Access at $179/nt
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service to the next level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Two girlfriends and myself stayed here for a girl's weekend to celebrate both of their birthdays. I will say that after we paid, when we arrived, I was a little concerned. The hotel is very old charm (boutique) styling. However, the excellence in service started from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. This hotel takes it's service to the next level. I highly recommend it for any occasion. My only less than positive comment is that the rooms and bathrooms were small.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your compliments! We understand that a hotel is so much more than just good looks, the service has to be impeccable. Our staff really feel at home when they walk in the doors of the Pfister, and convey that to all guest who join us. If you care for a larger room next time you visit, check out one of our upgrades, they start at around $40 and give you a suite, with free parking or breakfast, internet, and bottled water, it's a great deal.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    207
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
228
433
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 via mobile

The hotel felt like I was in a place that had history and belonged to Milwaukee

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your review. You really hit the nail on the head with your sentiments. Guido Pfister built this hotel as a symbol that Milwaukeeans could really be proud to call "theirs" and we think it has stood the test of time. We hope you visit again soon!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel did not disappoint. We stayed in the original part of the hotel. The lobby is beautiful, there's a grand staircase, and the corridors are wide. A lot of effort has gone in to keeping the old world charm whilst providing 21st century amenities like iPads (there are a few of these located around the lobby area). On the 23rd floor of the newer addition there is Blu, a rooftop bar with fabulour views of downtown Milwaukee and beautiful Lake Michigan. The hotel is only about 5 minutes walk from the lake and one of the most wonderful pieces of architecture I have seen, the Milwaukee Art Museum. There's definitely more to Milwaukee that beer, brats and The Fonz!

Room Tip: I recommend the older part of the hotel even though there are no lake views from this part. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you so much for the great review. We pride ourselves on including the modern amenities without taking away from the Victorian beauty and history of the building. Sounds like you got to enjoy it all. We look forward to seeing you again!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Pfister over a weekend and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is really beautiful. Almost like being in a museum. Make sure you visit their bar, Blu on the 23rd floor for a fabulous view of Milwaukee and the lakefront.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
I love this review! Short, simple, and to the point. You really shared some lovely words about the Pfister Hotel. Thank you so much, can't wait for you to stay with us again soon.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I'll make it easy for you. If you're looking at hotels in downtown Milwaukee, stay here. Just finishing two nights at the Pfister for a conference and everything, room, bar Blu, restaurant, room service, staff, was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Concierge was a big help, but all staff very attentive. Can walk to the art museum and historic
3rd ward is very close, too. I'm a light sleeper and don't know if every door in the hotel is large and heavy, but any time someone closed a door it woke me up. Street parking is baffling in this town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for the great review, we do pride ourselves on our location being central downtown and convenient for walking to all the downtown and lakefront attractions. I will share your kind words with our concierge staff. Thank you again.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at the pfister in the historic section on a friday night. After a busy day of sightseeing in Milwaukee and a nice meal at the Mason Street Grill we settled in our room to sleep around 10:30 PM. Unfornatually we were not told when we booked our room there was a wedding that night and the music was so loud that it sounded like it was in the room next door. There was no way you could sleep through the music so we got to listen to the wedding reception until after midnight. That would be fine if your late night people but we are not. For the price we paid I could have gotten just as nice a room somewhere else and gone to sleep when I wanted to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Pfister Hotel. I apologize that you experienced noise disturbance during your stay. We often try to book guests who are not with the wedding party, away from the ballrooms, but unfortunately due to volume it is not always possible. If you would like to talk further on the matter, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again for your honest review.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pfister Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.